Name – Glenna Maynard

Age – 35

Where are you from – I am from a beautiful town carved in the mountains of Eastern Kentucky.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

  I grew up as an only child, but surrounded by lots of family in a restaurant owned and operated my parents and grandmother. I watched soap operas with my mamamw every day after school which fuelled my love of love triangles and angst.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 I have two upcoming releases that I am extremely excited about. The first one is The Boom, a sports romance that I co-wrote with one my best friends, the fabulously talented, Dawn Martens.  The second is a love triangle full of angst, titled Stealing Conleigh. (it’s a forbidden love story)


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

  I started writing as a child, I would secretly write songs and poems on order pads from the family restaurant, and then I’d throw them away. I’m not sure why I did that, but I suppose I didn’t want to share them with anyone. I didn’t start seriously writing books until 2012 though.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 This is a hard one. I have always been a storyteller, but I guess I became a serious writer when I started sharing my words with others.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 A discussion with one of my best friends who is more like a sister to me, Morgan Jane Mitchell. We were talking about the True Blood books and wanting something new to read, and then she shared her secret with me, that she had written fanfic. I fell in love with her words and desperately wanted her to write more. I had also recently discovered the awesome Michelle Valentine and her Black Falcon series. I noted that she was self-published and did my research; then my love affair with sharing my words truly began.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I do. I tend to write first person present, narrative style.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It depends on the book. Sometimes I hear a phrase, or it may be something a character has said, or simply a picture that will inspire me.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 I want to make people feel. Whether it be happy, sad, amused…I want them to go on a journey and get lost for a while with me.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?  

I think there is a good mixture between the two. My life experiences have shaped me, and sometimes they bleed into my books, but woven in delicately.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 I would have to say that Morgan has influenced me a lot and has been with me every step of the way. If it wasn’t for her, I’d not be sharing my words. I can’t say any one story more than an another. Every book I have read has touched me on some level.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

 I have mad respect for so many authors, but Diana Gabaldon and George RR Martin are two of my idols. What I love about their work is the attention to detail. They both are amazingly talented.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 My online book community. I have been fortunate enough to meet some genuine people who uplift and support one another. I love being a part of the indie scene and surrounded by so much talent.  These people—my friends inspire me daily with their kindness and courage.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 I do. I write full-time. I am so blessed.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 No. I have learned a lot over the years and have finally realized I have to keep moving forward, my past stories help me grow and learn. They show me how far I have traveled.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

 One thing I remember was in second grade, I discovered the Sweet Valley High novels and I had kept one of them out from the library past due and hid it in my Minnie Mouse backpack, because I wanted to keep it. After paying those late fees, my dad would take me to the Barnes & Noble at the mall often.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us? –

This is an excerpt from my upcoming release, Stealing Conleigh.  It is unedited and subject to change.

Holden James is a thorn in my side. He’s rude, conceited, and he’s also my boyfriend’s best friend. When Ezra suggested we move into together, I didn’t know he meant the three of us. Two’s company and three is a crowd, at least that is what I thought…until one night changes everything.

Conleigh Meyers is the last person I should want. She’s my best friend’s girl, therefore untouchable. At least she was…until one night ignited a fire in me that burns only for her. I try to stay away from her but it’s impossible with her room across the hall from mine. There’s only one thing I can do…let her go. That’s the idea anyway. However, fate has other plans.

Stealing Conleigh © 2017 Glenna Maynard All Rights Reserved.

Conleigh

Holden James is a jerk with a capital J. I wouldn’t be surprised if the dude counts the notches on his bedpost by actually carving them in the wood with a knife. I’m not sure what he does when he isn’t driving me mad other than play cards, and shooting pool in the back of some dank bar, Big Mike’s Grill or something another.

I’ve only been there a few times, and the times I was there, I wasn’t impressed. I could’ve sworn a guy was pissing in the corner; it was so gross. A couple was dry humping on a couch, and a huge fight broke out. One night a guy was stabbed in the parking lot. After that incident, I swore I’d never go back, and Ezra, my boyfriend, promised me I wouldn’t need to. The only appeal of the place is the Saturday night open mic. It always draws large crowds, or so I have heard. My dormmate and best friend, Bailey likes going to the open mic nights.

Anyway, it’s my second night staying in the apartment, and I don’t have a key of my own yet. I am technically moving the rest of my stuff in tomorrow. Holden was supposed to get a key made for me today and bring it to me at lunch. Of course, he was a no show. I should’ve known better than to depend on him. Holden isn’t known for being dependable.  I’ve never known him to keep a promise, and I gave up setting him up with my friends forever ago. I set him up with my cousin, Whitney when she came for a visit and he took her to a strip club. Who does that? Holden James, that’s who. Bailey went on one double date with us and Holden, and she swore she’s never do it again. She said she wasn’t looking to join the long line of one-night stands that plague that man.

Pre-order- Amazon https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06VY31MT3

Pre-order – Barnes & Noble, iTunes, and Kobo https://www.books2read.com/u/3GMqKr

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

  Small details and information dumping. I have a problem with telling too much too soon. The small details, I tend to forget that the readers don’t know everything I do about my book.  


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 Only in my mind. I wish I could travel more, I want to someday have and RV and go from state to state and visit overseas as well.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 I do all my covers. It’s an obsession. I love designing them. They are so personal and dear to my heart.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 Staying focused. I easily get distracted.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 I’m smarter and stronger than I give myself credit.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

 I would love to see my Black Rebel Riders MC Series get its own TV series. As for the lead, I would love to see Jeffery Dean Morgan play the part of Grim.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

 Write what you want to read and write for yourself before anyone else.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

 Thank you for your support through my journey. I adore you all.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 I am currently between books, I am in write mode. I did recently finish the This Man Trilogy and it was fabulous.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 The first, no. I was a young reader. But I will never forget my, MY Good Night Book. It was a golden book that my dad read to me every night.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry? –

Life. I have a sick sense of humor and am the kinda girl who laughs at a funeral.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

There are so many. It’s hard to choose.  I will go with Kurt Cobain. He was such a tortured yet beautiful person. I would have loved to have a sit down with him and talk about anything and everything.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She touched us with her words. Because, I hope that I have and that I do.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love video games and scrapbooking.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 I love Game of Thrones, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, and Emerald City to name a few.  I have watched the Twilight movies more than I care to admit.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love Indie alternative rock. I live on Diet Coke, potato chips, and reader tears. My favorite color changes with my mood, but yellow, black, and pink are my top three.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 Being a mom is the number one priority. I would love to be a travel writer but I wouldn’t want to be away from my family and my dog. So that would be out of the question. In high school I wanted to be a fashion designer for a bit.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? –

Glenna Maynard

website https://authorglennamaynard.wordpress.com/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/AuthorGlennaMaynard/

Twitter https://twitter.com/gchellewrites

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/gchellewrites/

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Glenna-Maynard/e/B00CBDJ1RM/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6903411.Glenna_Maynard

Bio Glenna Maynard is a Kentucky native with a passion for romance best known for her bestselling romantic suspense novel I’m with You and The Black Rebel Riders’ MC series. When she isn’t arguing with the voices in her head or drinking reader tears, she enjoys watching classic TV shows with her two children and longtime leading man.

 

 

