Name : C. Penticoff

Age: 27

Where are you from:

I’m from a small town in Washington, but nothing about my dreams are small! Growing up I had many hopes and dreams. Daydreams of my future consisted of me acting on Broadway, singing in a sold-out arena, writing best-selling books, and having a family. I have a wonderful family 😀 A husband and two young boys who are the light of my crazy life! I’m a self-published author, but I’m still waiting on that best-selling book 😉

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have opened up an online library of books for $1.99 per month called A Novel Connection. AKA the Netflix of books! My second book will be out this summer and will be available exclusively through A Novel Connection.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing at a young age. For as long as I can remember actually! But, strapped on my writing boots and got serious about it just last year 😀


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Last year when I released my first book, Folklaria and the Wicked Sorcerer. Finishing the book really gave me a boost of confidence and I felt worthy of the title, “writer.”


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My spiritual journey I went on when I was about 20 years old. I grew up a Christian, then I got REALLY CONFUSED once I became an adult. I decided to let go of everything that I ever knew about spirituality and I explored it all myself. I realized that I didn’t have to believe in everyone’s God to be spiritual. The main character in my story goes on the same type of journey, but the book is fantasy, so the mixture of fantasy and spirituality is pretty cool!


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not specifically. It depends on the book that I’m writing to be honest.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Honestly, I SUCK at titles and coming up with character names lol. I chose something that was simple and straight to the point.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The main message of my book was one of spirituality. We live in a world where spirituality gets mistaken for religion. The world is progressing in a direction where people are more turned off by religion and instead seeking to spark their spirituality in whatever way that means for them. Throughout “Folklaria and the Wicked Sorcerer,” I hoped to present a progressive approach to spirituality.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Most of it. A wise person once told me, “Write what you know.” It was some of the best advice that I got because if you try to write about things that you don’t know, then you probably won’t convey it properly or with enough raw passion.

For instance, if I have never lost a loved one, then I would probably never write a book where the main character loses someone close to them, simply because I don’t know how that feels. I can’t tap into that emotion, so there is no way that I could get a reader to feel that.

Or if I have never been a police offer or had someone close to me who was a police officer, then I probably wouldn’t write a novel about a police force. I just simply do not have enough knowledge about it.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

“The Celestine Prophecy.” Hands down.

This book changed my entire outlook on spirituality and life itself. It was as if I changed the filter on my eyes. I saw the world from a completely different perspective.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

James Redfield. I love his outlook on spirituality.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My fellow authors that I have met online. Seeing their success, failures, and getting their advice has helped me to keep on keepin on.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

That’s the goal J I want to supply my own business, A Novel Connection, with books that I write along with my fellow indie author’s books.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I edited my book to death to make sure that I had no regrets lol


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Yes, it was in school at a very young age. We had to write a story in class and my teacher was amazed at my story-telling skills. It pumped me up and I never stopped writing.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here is an unedited piece from my latest novel, “Folklaria and the Stone Griffin,” book 2 of The Chronicles of Folklaria:

June fought the intense shaking of her body to rise to her feet. “No,” she said out loud. “I will not let fear win. Fear is not real.”
June stood with her feet planted firmly on the ground and paced her rapid breathing down to slow and steady breaths. She closed her eyes as she waited for her body to relax.
Finally, after she stopped sweating, she plopped down to her rear end and straightened her posture. June pictured her heart beating slower and slower and her muscles began relaxing.
The cool blades of grass blowing against her legs reminded her of the meditation experience she had at the festival. It made her feel safe. Guarded. Connected. She laid back to feel the protective grass against her back. She enjoyed the feeling so much that she hiked up her shirt to allow more of her skin to feel the dewy grass. Upon opening her eyes, she noticed the entrancing trees in front of the starry backdrop. A stream of translucent blue swam from the tree to her body and all the way up to the starry sky. June could not take her eyes off the stream of color. She gazed upon it so deeply that she did not even feel herself slip into a state of meditation.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Getting the first draft done. It’s so tempting to be picky about my writing during my rough draft when in reality the most important thing about your first draft is just getting it done! You can always edit and perfect it later.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, not at all.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Charlie Lavoy did the illustration and Courtney Cannon of Fiction-Atlas did the typography.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Formatting. I just couldn’t get it right and it took me way longer than it should have.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned the gratifying feeling of working hard at something, but most importantly finishing something that I started. I have always struggled with that.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I always envisioned Emmy Rossum playing the main character in my book, June.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yes. Start with an outline. It saves you tons of editing in the end and makes for a novel that flows really well.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I love you all! Just by reading my book you are making my dream come true!

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Eragon. It’s actually kind of boring me all of a sudden. I’m hoping that I get more into it again.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

My earliest memory of reading a book was some Mary-Kate and Ashley book lol

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Bernie Sanders because he is my hero! He is a HUGE voice for progressives and all Americans and his voice is long overdue.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

“Cassandra Penticoff made everyone smile.” Something along those lines. I love making people laugh, smile, and brightening their days and I would be honored to be remembered for that.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Singing, dancing, and basically just being a boss at life. Haha!

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Well, there are a lot, but lately I have been into Shameless!

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite food is anything Mexican! My favorite color is one of the only gender-stereo-typical things about me: pink! My favorite music is classic rock because music was so much more deep and meaningful back then. People sang to send a message, to inspire, and to release emotion. You don’t see as much of that these days.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Act or sing J

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.anovelconnection.com

 The website to my business, the online library of indie books that will be launching in May. By the way, we’re accepting submissions from writers now!

www.facebook.com/authorcpenticoff

My author Facebook page! I will be getting a website soon.

 

 Amazon Authors page USA https://www.amazon.com/C.-Penticoff/e/B01LXMZAU1/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1487901424&sr=1-2-ent

 UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/C-Penticoff/e/B01LXMZAU1/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1487901572&sr=1-1

 

