Name: Angie Dokos

Age: Hmm, should I tell my true age, or the age I wish I still was? Nah, I’m thankful for all my years. I am 36 years old.

Where are you from?  I am from a small town in the North Georgia mountains. I now live in the Atlanta area.

A little about yourself, your education, family life, etc  

I am married. We have five children. I work full time in an office of a manufacturing company.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have finished my first draft of my second book. It is with the beta readers now. I’ll make some changes from their reports, then send it off to the editor. After I make the changes from the editor, I’ll publish. My goal is to have it published sometime in the Spring.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing little stories as a child. As a teenager, I would write stories about the boys I had crushes on. When I became an adult, I mainly wrote in my journals. In 2014, my oldest daughter started a school project that I was to help her with. She went a different route, but I was already too involved with the characters. So, that project turned into my first published novel, Mackenzie’s Distraction.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 I first considered myself a writer in 2014 when I decided I wasn’t going to quit my daughter’s school project, I was going to take it to the next level.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 My daughter. I’ve always loved to read. I’ve thought about different books, and even movies, and played out in my head how I would have written them differently. I’ve taken a side plot or the secondary characters and created new stories from them. I’ve watched people and came up with a story in my head about them. I’ve taken news stories and created my own versions. I’ve always had story ideas rushing through my head. My daughter knew all this and that’s why she wanted me to help with her project. But it was complicated so she changed her project to photography, so I took the project and made it into a new adult romance novel.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 Not yet.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I was finished writing the book and still struggling for a title. I kept trying to come up with things that related to the story, that wasn’t already taken, and wasn’t too long. I didn’t want a title that other books already had, so it was tough. I still haven’t come up with a title for my second book. I have a few in mind, but none of them feel perfect to me. Anyway, at one point in the book Mackenzie tells Trevor she doesn’t need anything distracting her because she has too much she needs to focus on. So, when Mackenzie’s Distraction hit my mind as a possible title, it felt right. I thought of a few more possibilities, but none of them fit as perfectly as that one did.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Not really, I just want them to enjoy the story. But the message both of my books give is, good things come from bad situations.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? 

The events are fictional. Some of the characters are loosely based on a few different people that I know. 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

There are many books that I feel have influenced my life. One that I read last year that really touched me, and that I believe every female should read is, It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover. I can’t say that I really have a mentor.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

 Newest author that I love is Corinne Michaels, I fell in love with the Hennington brothers in one of her series. I have many favorites. Two of my favorites are Jennifer Armentrout and Colleen Hoover. Jennifer Armentrout wrote the Lux series, which I was totally addicted to. I still wonder some days how the characters are doing. I feel like they are my friends. She always makes her characters feel so real, like I actually know them. I want to text them and see what they’re up to, even if they are aliens, faes, gargoyles, or demons! Colleen Hoover knows how to break your heart. She leaves you with it healing, but ouch, it hurts. Her stories are always so powerful. So beautiful.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 Other authors. Some authors that I’ve only met through social media have been amazing. Others that I have met at book signings and other events have become great friends.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 Not for me. I treat it as a business, but it doesn’t pay the bills. But that’s okay for me. I enjoy it and that’s what matters.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? I’m in the process of changing a lot of things in my latest. In my first, I would have shortened it. (and fixed that uh-oh on page 89 that my editors and I missed)

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? I think it just came from my love of reading.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 I haven’t written the blurb yet. It’s harder than writing the book! It’s about a young law student named Zayne that finds a young woman that has been beaten and left for dead. During her recovery, Serena becomes friends with Zayne and his friends. But as feelings grow, you have to wonder if Serena will be able to handle more than friendship.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

 Besides grammatical errors, one of my challenges is telling instead of showing. I sometimes feel I have too much dialogue and not enough description. But I don’t want to bore my readers with too much description. It’s tough for me to balance it all out.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 No, but I have thought about ways to write places into my stories just so I have a valid excuse to go there.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I designed the cover for Mackenzie’s Distraction. I haven’t decided on a designer for my second book yet. I have a few in mind that I’m friends with on social media.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 The hardest part of the writing process, was the blurb for the back cover. The hardest part overall, is the promoting.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned a lot. I think the most important thing I learned was to never give up. I hear it all the time, but it is so important…just keep going!

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

 That is a tough one. I’ve thought about it before, but I’m still not really sure. I guess I would choose Lucy Hale for Mackenzie and Liam Hemsworth for Trevor.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up. Keep writing.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you! I really do appreciate your support more than you’ll ever know.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Broken Pieces by Martha Perez, then I’m going to start Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not really. But I remember having my shelves full of The Baby-sitters Club books and R.L. Stine books.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Children, that one answer is to both laugh and cry.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present you would like to meet and why?

 Sandra Bullock, I think she would be so much fun to be around.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I really don’t care since I won’t be around to see it.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

 Hiking and reading. Not usually at the same time.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The Walking Dead

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite food is chocolate. My favorite color is purple. My favorite music depends on my mood. My music taste varies greatly.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 A traveling photographer. I would like to take pictures of national parks, awesome islands, waterfalls, things like that.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? My website is www.angiedokos.com My blog is www.angiedokos.wordpress.com You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, and Pinterest.
www.twitter.com/angiedokos
www.instagram.com/angiedokos
www.facebook.com/angiedokosauthor
www.pinterest.com/angiedokos
www.goodreads.com/user/show/31452642-angie-dokos
amazon.com/author/angiedokos

 

Here are the links to order Mackenzie’s Distraction:
Kindle www.amazon.com/dp/B01BL4H20E
Paperback www.amazon.com/dp/1523378328

