Name: Ami Beth Cross

Age: 42

Where are you from:

Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin USA.  I am a bestselling author of the memoir The Return to Happiness.  My four kids and husband keep me busy and happy.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?  

I am currently blogging weekly about my journey, struggles, joys, and ultimate healing in this life.  Also, I am working on my next release,  Threads of Grace.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing since I could lift a pencil because I had no other choice.  The voices inside my head wouldn’t allow it.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

At six years old when I wrote my first screenplay.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The need from deep within my heart to pursue a greater purpose.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I have an emphasis in poetry and prose and have integrated it into my storytelling style.  I’ve been told I’m unique, which is the story of my life!  Haha.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My story is about overcoming the greatest of odds and pain and finding happiness again.  It felt right to call it: The Return to Happiness!

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

That no matter how many blows life can give you, we as God’s children can overcome and find our inner courage to thrive eventually telling our own unique stories to help others.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?  

My book is my life, my journey through the perils of miscarriage, divorce, abandonment, and eventually healing.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

So, so many.  I adore so many authors, but have been most influenced by Lysa TerKeurst (Unglued), Wally Lamb (She’s Come Undone, and Markus Zusak (The Book Thief).  I also love JB Salsbury (Fighting to Forget) and Jacci Turner (Cracker).

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I love the blogs of Kevin Taylor and Joanna Keene is writing her first Memoir,  I’ve had the privilege to beta read for her.  The masses need to read her story!

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My readers have lifted me up, with all of their personal stories that have propelled me to keep going when it feels way to difficult.  Also, God has always been there shining on me, telling me that He has great plans for my words.  Even when I didn’t want to listen.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?  

Writing is my life, way more than a career.  I have no clue where I’d be without the outlet of expression of words.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.  Because it was my heart and soul in the season I wrote it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?  

It was a coping mechanism as I navigated emotions as a child that were way more intense than any kid should feel.  It was a way to survive and figure out who I was in the midst of chaos.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’m writing a fictional tale of Grace and redemption that two people find in one another despite the most difficult of circumstances.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Time to write and editing.  Ugh I hate edits.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

If I chose to.  Which is a blessing.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Cassy Roop with Pink Ink Design.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Bleeding my emotions all over paper. Also, exposing myself.  I’m a very private person and when it was laid upon my heart to share my deepest secrets I freaked.  It turned out pretty good, but it WAS/IS so hard!

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that vulnerability, although extremely humbling, is the way we truly reach the hearts of people.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead:

Um….Yeah!!!!!  Duh!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write, write, and more writing.  Perfect practice truly makes you an expert of your craft.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I would be nothing as an author without you opening your hearts and my words into your lives.  I love you all so much!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Bible

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Rocky by Sylvester Stallone

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My children.  They delight me with their joy, and gut me with their suffering.  Four of the greatest people alive have my heart forever.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Sylvester Stallone.  So I could tell him how much his (fictional) Rocky, the underdog, with a horribly difficult life, rose to the top simply because he wouldn’t give up.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Carpe Diam, of course.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Figure skating, and listening to the birds chirp in the springtime.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Anything that makes me think.  Currently the OA on Netflix.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I like the things that make me gain weight like cheese, and butter and chocolate.  And my favorite color is, the rainbow.  So many colors bring me hope.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?  

Gone to the Olympics.  Any sport, not too picky, yet figure skating would be my first pick.  Although, I throw a mean shot put.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? https://amibethcross.com/

