Name Darryl John

Age 49

Where are you from Cardiff Wales UK

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc 

I don’t have much family I have a Mum , Brother and Sister. I went to a secondary modern comprehensive where I was good at English, English Literature but put in the remedial maths class as I am somewhat discalculate though I didn’t know at that time. I studied at two different schools in two different parts of the UK. I left school with 7 CSE’s . I did the usual boring 9-5 jobs Until I was in my 30’s When I went to college and university where I passed an HND in Sports Therapy  Fitness and Nutrition, I am a qualified life coach, personal trainer, mentor, ESL teacher, blogger , published author, network marketing distributor and business builder. I have many personal barriers to overcome Coeliac disease, bipolar, autoimmune disorders, and social anxiety and mental health issues.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have just moved in to the arena of network marketing in the Beauty And Skincare niche, a predominantly female business but I love a challenge and learning something new. My book Two Worlds The Real One And Mine has been out for 10 months and is my first book I was very lucky to be published as 1st time author and thank my publisher Austin Macauley for their input and giving me this opportunity.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was in school around the age of 14 or 15 . I used to write in my school books it was a way for me to put down my thoughts you see growing up was not easy as I was constantly bullied in school. My writing has always been like a release valve for all my anger and frustration. I also like to stir up Emotional responses and make people revaluate their lives and morals. My form has always been mostly to write using Poetry and Rhymes.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Honestly I have always been writing I used to show my work to friends who used to say wow you’ve got a talent, but I used to think they were just being kind. I never considered myself as a bona fide author until I had my first book published.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I used Writing to vent my anger at things that are going on around the world and in my life to be a voice for the people and to publicly say what many people think in a very hard hitting sometimes uncomfortable forthright manner. Also it may help others with their own personal battle.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Yes in your face , tell it as it is, using Poetry and Rhymes along with a Buddhist undercurrent and morals. On Amazon one person said it was like a modern version of the Tao – Te-Ching high praise indeed ( if only)

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It is because the book is about two worlds the real one with many social issues and corporate greed. And my world of medication and my ongoing battles with illnesses and mental health. It’s deeply personal in places but I am very open with my life again it comes from my Buddhist philosophy and my eagerness to show others they are not alone.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes I want people to question their life their beliefs, and morals and to offer support to those dealing with their own issues. There’s always two sides to everything so don’t be so eager to judge others when you don’t know their story.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

95% of the book is real based on real issues, situations,people, personal

 

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Art of War  Sun Tzu

Awakening The Buddha Within  Surya Das

The Book of Five Rings – Miyamoto Musashi

Think And Grow Rich – Napoleon Hill

The Tao -Te Ching  – Lao Tzu

Win Friends And Influence People – Dale Carnegie

As for Mentors I would only say my Mum and my martial arts sifus and instructors in Tae Kwon Do, kick boxing, Lau Gar, War Gar, and others I can’t mention. I learned so much about life from them, they shaped my morals and beliefs, taught me humility and to be non judgemental. To always protect those you love.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favourite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

As a writer it may surprise you but I only own the above books and don’t really read any others apart from business books to help me as I am a constant learner. For me a book has to be practical useful I don’t read fiction , if it’s not real I’m not interested.

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 My Friends around the UK and my publisher Austin Macauley

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I see it as an option , I don’t write for financial gain but as a kind of therapy,though a man’s gotta eat.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No it’s about reality you cannot change that.

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

From school I loved writing stories and doing assignments in college and university

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sometimes I have to moderate my language as some things really upset or make me very angry. Not mix my two worlds too much and to paint a very visual picture with words as it’s a short book so I needed to make a big impact.

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 No as most of the locations are in my mind .

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publisher designed these

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book

Not saying everything that I think.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes that I can be very open ,quite dark and disturbing yet motivational and empathic and very angry.

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Kenau Reeves

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just go for it,

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers

Only think , don’t judge

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Network marketing company stuff, and Think and Grow Rich

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry

My friends make me laugh and keep me grounded, but I am very emotional and can cry for no reason ,( depression) or when people harm animals

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

The Dalai Lama he is so humble and insightful

Rafa Nadal, Rodger Federer as they are both, great gentleman and competitors

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Here lies a humble man

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Learning social media, fitness training, watching football, playing pool, learning

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I don’t watch much TV as I am always working if I do then it’s CSI or NciS

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favourite colour is blue and musically I love rock, blues, easy listening, 90’s I only dislike , cheesy pop and 70s Disco  Stone Roses, Oasis, Blur, Blackberry Smoke.Aerosmith, Green Day.

I am a Vegetarian I couldn’t go Vegan as I love Cheese oh an Pizza who doesn’t

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I don’t know as I have done so much, but I know I want to be remembered as a gentle, humble man who was always there for others.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Facebook Darryl John published author  poet and social commentator

Darryl John beBee for my blogg

 

Amazon Authors Page

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/r.html?C=2PESS4VDAYE8U&R=19A1B3RWKJVPG&T=C&U=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.amazon.co.uk%2F-%2Fe%2FB06WVH3F23%3Fref_%3Dpe_1805931_64002121&A=Z44EJOXLNHTWDB5T8O5PQWCQ6MIA&H=CHBHS6JJ4IKTCUR6UNPIFNNM8BOA&ref_=pe_1805931_64002121

