Name Tamara Gill

Age 39

Where are you from

I’m an Aussie from country South Australia. Was born and bred county girl from the Mid North.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I grew up in country south Australia and moved to Adelaide after I finished high school. I worked as a bookkeeper for 11 years before starting a family. We decided after the birth of our second son to move back to the country, where we remain today. I like the freedom the country kids have, it’s a little safer and relaxed.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

This February I’m celebrating the release of book 2 in my TO MARRY A ROGUE series, ONLY A DUKE WILL DO through Entangled Publishing. I’m also finishing up edits on book three ONLY A VISCOUNT WILL DO, and because my editor is fabulous, I know the edits to book one in my Scottish time travel series isn’t far away. That will release in September of this year.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when my second son was only about a year old and I was still home on maternity leave, not looking to go back to work since I had two small children. During that time, I started to read historical romance and just fell in love with the genre. I wasn’t a romance reader prior to this, but as soon as I opened my first Stephanie Laurens book I was a goner. I love time travel above any other genre, and so the very first book I wrote was a mix between the two genres, A STOLEN SEASON, a Regency time travel that’s available now through Entangled Publishing.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve thought about this a lot over the years, and I do remember as a child at school writing plays that the other students would then act out. I suppose that’s my earliest hint of what was to come. I didn’t start writing seriously until I was in my late 20’s, and it’s really only in the last five years that I’ve considered myself a writer.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

After I’d given up work, and my kids were small I started to ead many time travel and Regency romances, and at some point my brain just switched on and started to show me images and scenes of this couple. One from the 21st century and the other the 19th. It because so bad that I decided to have a go at writing down what I was being shown. And yes, it was literally like watching a movie. One night while watching TV with my hubby I told him what I was thinking of doing, and he said, “Well, off you go then.” And that was the end of it. I wrote the first few pages of my first story that night and haven’t stopped since.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I listen to music, soundtracks to historical movies, or shows. All my children are at school now, so I write when they’re not home or I’m not at work. Weekends depending if hubby is home I’ll write at night but that’s about all I do.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The first book in the series was called ONLY AN EARL WILL DO, and I wanted it to be noticeable as a series without necessarily having the readers know the series name to find the books. Naturally the second book is about a Duke, so ONLY A DUKE WILL DO was born, followed by ONLY A VISCOUNT WILL DO. I’m still debating if there will be two more books in this series, we’ll have to see how these one’s go first.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Not really, I never plot or write with messages encrypted in story lines. Maybe some people will get some message or some plot point will resonate with them and give them a light bulb moment, I don’t know. I just write the story the characters are telling me and hope for the best. LOL

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Absolutely none. J

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Any Regency and time travel books influence me, and I love reading these genres over any other type. I have many author mates who’ve helped me along the way. First my retired CP Joanna Lloyd who’s also and author and has two fantastic books available. Go read her today!! We teamed up many years ago and I love her dearly. I was good a plot she was fabulous at grammar. Haha. We worked well. Today I have many author mates, both in Oz and the US who I lean on for support and vise-versa. The author community is a great one to be apart of.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Karen Marie Moning. I LOVE all her books. She’s an auto-buy for me.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

In my early years Romance Writers of Australia. Now it’s Romance Writers of America and The Beau Monde, plus my author friends of course.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do now, yes. I had to pay tax last year, so I definitely see this as a career. LOL

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nope. Nothing. It is what it is, hopefully the majority of people will enjoy it.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

By reading a lot sparked my creativity side of my brain that had laid dormant for many years. I can thank Stephanie Laurens and Constance O’Day Flannery.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s a little excerpt from ONLY A VISCOUNT WILL DO. This book is still in edits, so please no comments on any mistakes. J This is a little snippet between the heroine Alice and her brother, the Duke of Penworth.

“Absolutely not!”

Alice sat forward in her chair and leveled the scariest frown she could form toward her brother. It was probably not the best glower he’d ever seen, but this was one argument she would win against the duke. “What I do with my inheritance is up to me, Josh. I have already spoken to mama and she agrees. In fact, she stated to pay the amount Mr Otis wants and be done with it. He won’t compromise on price and I won’t compromise on my plans.”

“He’s robbing you blind! “Or,” he continued, wagging his finger, “perhaps he’s the Surry Bandit everyone wants to serve justice upon.”

Alice fought the urge to roll her eyes, but lost the battle. “Oh for heaven’s sake, it’s in the town you already own half the buildings in. What does it matter what I purchase the Pitt Street cottages for? Mr Otis doesn’t care about his tenants, never has, and if you took the time to look at the condition of the buildings you would see that. And I refuse to see the unfortunate people cold and suffering through any more winters. With summer upon us, this is the best time for repairs to be carried out, and that’s exactly what I shall do. But I would like your approval none the less. The price is what he wants, and that is what I’ll pay. I have the men hired already for restoration, just sign off on the contract that you agree to release my inheritance to purchase the buildings.” Alice sat back, folding her arms across her chest.

“When mama allowed you to take over her role visiting the poor it was only a matter of time before it gave you even more ideas to…well, have more ideas.”

“You’re so amusing, Josh. Maybe you should join the theater.”

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I get distracted easily so that’s a problem. I also don’t plot, ever, so sometimes I need to tweak quite a bit if something isn’t quite right. I don’t edit as I go, so editing is always a challenge for me. I’d prefer to be writing.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I’ve travelled to England a few times, but this was all before I had kids, so anything I visited then that could help me with a book is based on memory and photos now. As a lover of history I have a few reference books which help with the times that I write in.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Erin Dameron-Hill, who is the Creative Art Director at Entangled Publishing. She’s amazing and also does my historical self-published covers.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Probably getting my butt into the chair to be honest. Once I’ve opened the file and I’m writing I’m fine, but it’s getting to that position that’s the problem. I need more self-control. Did I mention I’m terribly procrastinator.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Not really, again, I just write a story that’s being shown to me and hope for the best. This is why I’ll never try and teach anyone how to write, because I really don’t know how I do it myself, or what the stories mean at the end. I’m a punster through-and-through, so anything that has anything to do with tropes, plots, story ARC’s scare me and I literally go blank. I just write a love story, throw in some problems, and have them resolved by the end. The end. J

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I really couldn’t answer that one because it changes on a regular basis. For A STOLEN SEASON for instance I would’ve loved Henry Cavill to play Eric the Earl, but I’m not so sure now. This would be a tough decision to make.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Take your time and give your work the love and attention it deserves before throwing it out there in the market. Get a critique partner, enter some writing contests and get some feedback. You’ll thank me later when the one star reviews don’t roll in.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Only that I hope you all enjoy Isolde and Merrick’s story in ONLY A DUKE WILL DO.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading Nicola Davidson’s THE DEVIL’S SUBMISSION. So hot and soooo good!! And Stacy Reid’s latest WICKED IN HIS ARMS. These authors rock historical romance. A must read for sure.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Snugglepot and Cuddlepie.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I laugh at anything. Literally anything. I also will cry during sad news stories, movies or TV shows. Anything really.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Vivien Leigh from Gone with the Wind. I loved her in that movie, and she’s always fascinated me.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I’m not having one, so nothing. LOL

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I like to garden and I have three kids, so they keep me pretty busy these days.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Anything historical with romance in it. I also love foreign language films and TV shows. If you haven’t watch THE GRAND HOTEL (Spanish) or KURT SEYIT VE SURA (Turkish) you need to. Right away.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I like Chinese and steak. Blue and music I don’t really have a favourite. The music I listen to isn’t really the latest top 100.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Archaeologist.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My website is http://www.tamaragill.com

Amazon page https://www.amazon.com/Tamara-Gill/e/B004HX7I8S/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

