Name: Lisa Renee Jones- Harrison

Where are you from: Austin, TX

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Well, I am releasing the third and final book in my Careless Whispers series on Jan. 9th! I’m so excited to finally have SURRENDER in my readers hands, and I hope they’ll love it. After that, I have another release in February, that will be book two in my Dirty Money series, Damage Control. And then I’ve got a special project up my sleeve that I really hope to have news on soon, and more Dirty Money, and Tall, Dark and Deadly as well!


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Quite some time ago. And I started writing, because I needed an outlet for my creativity. I’ve always been an overthinker, but being able to funnel all that energy into something good, like writing an entire book is always so satisfying and amazing to me.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Probably not until my Inside Out series. Of course, I was a published author before that, but that the first series that really took off and I got to start engaging with so many readers about it.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 My imagination. I would have these characters just come to life in my head, and the needed their story told.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I just write what feel right. And that’s something I always tell people who ask me about their writing as well. You have to write for you, not for an audience.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I wish I could remember! I think I was just trying to come up with something exciting, suspenseful and a little sexy and it popped into my head. Titles are so very tricky. Sometimes, like with my Inside Out series, the titles will be wholly based on the book and shouting at me, and others, you’ve got to come up with a title that fits the book, but that may not have a deeper meaning.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

To embrace your dreams and your fears.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Most of my books are fiction, but there are little bits here and there that are influences from my surroundings, people I know, myself etc. Like, if you ever see a character drinking a White Mocha coffee… that’s me all the way.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Linda Howard, Lori Foster, and so many others.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I can’t pick just one, they all bring something unique to the table that I greatly enjoy. And I haven’t found any new authors recently. I’ve been so bogged down in deadlines, but I hope to get back to reading soon!


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The writing community in general and author friends.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. I do this day in, day out. 7 days a week, and too many hours a day to count.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t think I’d change anything. My books/characters are really good about letting me know when something is wrong (i.e. I get writer’s block), so if I was able to finish the book, that typically means it turned out just the way it should 🙂 Now Ask me again in 10 years, and I might have a completely different answer!


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

The need to let my creativity flow.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I can share an little excerpt from book one in my Dirty Money series! My current WIP is book four in the series, so it would give away too much information 🙂

EXCERPT: He steps behind me, his hips framing my backside, his hand at my sides. “And thanks to you,” he murmurs, his lips near my ear, “I’m not thinking about what I left behind. I’m thinking about what I have right here.”

 

The words infer more than a night, or maybe they don’t, but it doesn’t matter right now. He is caressing up and down my sides, his fingers grazing my breasts, and I can no longer think. My nipples are tight, aching nubs, and my sex is clenched tight. I bite my lip and tighten my grip on the railing, sucking in air as his exploration moves to my hips and then my backside. And suddenly, or not so suddenly, I want to touch him and see him. I try to turn, but he is quick to step to my side, holding me steady.

 

“Stay facing forward,” he orders, his fingers splaying on my belly where they’ve settled, that other hand, still branding my backside, gliding upward until his fingers find the zipper to my skirt, deftly dragging it down. “Shane,” I say, not sure why, and when I turn my head to look at him, he kisses me, a sultry, sexy, slide of tongue against tongue that leaves me breathless, and wanting more.

 

“I like it when you say my name like it’s a pleasure.”


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Some days, just finding the time to write, others, the story can escape me. It’s a different struggle each time though.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Sometimes, yes! For Revealing Us, my husband and I went to Paris, and for my Careless Whispers series we went to Italy!


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

It depends on the book. My traditionally published book covers are done by the publisher, and I have several cover artists, including my assistant, who does my indie books.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I’ve had different difficulties with all of my books. Sometimes it’s getting the plot to work out, and other times it’s knowing how to describe places I’ve never been. And then there’s the characters than can be rather obstinate at times.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I’ve learned so much from all of my books. The number one thing I’ve learned over my career though, is that I will NEVER write a main character with amnesia again. I had to do that

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

 I’m not sure. It depends on the book. I have a wide range of characters, but I can say that I always did imagine Alexander Skarsgard to play Mark and Chris Hemsworth to play Chris Merit in my Inside Out series


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

As cliché as it sounds, don’t give up. If this is what you really want, than go for it. Also learn from your audience and market and adjust your marketing efforts appropriately.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

 Thank you!! Without you, I could not do what I love best as my job!

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m not 😦 I’m in major deadline mode. I hope to get back to reading in the next few weeks though.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Hmmm, no, I can’t remember.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laugh: my husband and kitty. Cry: thinking about all the animals that don’t have homes.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I don’t have time for anything but writing right now. But I do like to travel with hubs.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Anything really good. Hubs and I are bit of movie and TV shows snobs. So really well-developed plot lines are a must.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music?

 Mac n Cheese / Pink / Lifehouse and Sam Hunt

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 

Actress, that’s what I wanted to be before I had my kids. 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? Yep! http://lisareneejones.com/

You can check out my new DIRTY MONEY series here: http://lisareneejones.com/dirty-money-series. Book one is available now and book two, DAMAGE CONTROL, will be out on 2/21!

And you can follow my on Amazon here: http://bit.ly/AmazonLRJ

Thank you!!

 

