61k27ngts1l-_ux250_

Name Simone Young

Age 34

Where are you from York UK

A little about yourself `ie your education Family life etc  I am married to my awesome husband and spend time, whenever possible, with my Mum when she visits.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I had three releases last year and I am currently working on Poisoned by Blood Book Three, I’m still batting around title idea’s and my mind is cooking up Book Two of the White Witch Trilogy. My latest release was Hell Hath No Fury in December and I am super proud of it as it also has a very good friend of mine on the cover.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing as soon as I could string a sentence together, I started by re-writing fairy tale, then to Fan Fiction and then my own stories.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 When Shattered Souls was accepted for publication.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I was bored at work and the idea hit me. It was the Xmas period when we were always quiet and I sat and typed it up. That book eventually became Twisted Coven; Book one of the White Witch Trilogy


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 I write whatever comes to mind and I have a sick and twisted style as my husband and Mum say.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 I title it whatever seems to fit with the individual book, it tells me it’s title, not the other way around.  


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

All I want for my readers to take away from my books is to enjoy an escape into another world and that life is best when you have something you enjoy doing. Also that you can do anything you put your mind too.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

With Hell Hath No Fury the female lead Naomi is based on a very good friend of mine, Gemma, and she was happy to be involved. There are a lot of things that Naomi is that Gemma is, there are a few differences but a lot of Gemma went into Naomi.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

The books that have influenced me most are Stephen King’s books, I’ve been reading them since I was in my early teens, more recently I’d say Rue Volley, Nicola Jane Taylor and Carmilla Voiez. Rue also does all of my covers and makes them beautiful pieces of artwork.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I’ve spent most of last year writing but if I had to choose I would say Jen L Joyal, she’s a friend and like me she hasn’t let anything stand in her way. She is honest and her work strikes me with the emotion and heart she put into it.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 Other than my close friend network that includes my beta reader, I would say my Publishing house. We are a close network of friends and colleagues and support each other.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, it’s a tough one but yes, definitely.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 No, Hell Hath No Fury took two years to finish and I couldn’t be happier. It embodies both my love of horror and the feeling that are in everyone.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
I loved reading and that’s what I do and it didn’t take long for my imagination to grow and create it’s own tales.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

As I stood near the tire tracks, shivering from the fear that was attaching itself to my internal darkness, I began to feel dizzy. I closed my eyes for a few seconds, when I opened my eyes for a few seconds, when I opened them I was stood between the two Tahoe’s and saw the eight slender suited men.

I saw every detail of their young faces and watched as they got out of the SUV and the ground crunched under their boots as they made contact with the ground.

Looking at each member I noticed that one was an androgynous looking woman, which at first glance would look like a male.

She was directly behind the ringleader who was a tall slender looking man who was almost gaunt from illness. His face was deathly pale, his eyes were blood shot and slightly yellow. He walked up to the tall muscle bound clan leader and gave him the once over.

The rest of the clan were behind him and I could feel their apprehension grow. I silently walked closer to them, I wanted to make sure I heard everything they said.

The vision froze as I walked, weaving in-between the suited group. I stood directly behind Gary, the blond mountain of a man, and looked at each member of the suited crew, zeroing in on their sickly leader who couldn’t be older than forty. “Can I help you?” The lead orc asked in calm and kind tine.

“Actually, yes.” The sickly man stated, an element of anger in his voice. “I’m Ian Davidson, Assistant Director with the FBI, my colleagues and I have been made aware of your true identity. You and this large group of people you live with. You are not human, you are creatures that are an abomination.” He spa, his colleagues flinching at the harshness of the tone.

“Is that so?” Gar answered with a tone that conveyed none of the annoyance that I could feel coming of him in waves.

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I am Dyslexic and I suffer from EDS type three  both mean that I can only work for a short while before one of the two stops me writing, forcing me into a break.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not as of yet though this year I have some things coming up, I have a release party in London at the workplace of my Cover Model for Hell Hath No Fury and I am hoping to go to a Comicon or two this year and maybe a Goth festival.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Rue Volley has done all my covers except for Shattered Souls which was done by Riley Steel.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 Knowing when it’s done and not over editing it.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
No book is perfect, there is always something that is missed or something that might no make sense to some but will make sense to others.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead;

Jodelle Ferland


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never give up

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?  

I hope you enjoy my work and enjoy my writing style.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Kathy Reichs Speaking in Bones

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 I think it’s was a kids book of fairy tales. I can’t remember which one.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I watch a lot of Youtube Video’s which includes Markiplier and Team edge, they always make me laugh. I tend to cry at people getting over emotional.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Bruce Lee or his son Brandon Lee. He made a huge change in movies and I would love to know what he would think about it and he’s also keen on not letting limitations better you.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

 Over active brain and imagination, sick and twisted but loved everyone she met. They are true, my mind never stops, all my stories are sick in one way or another and I love so many people that I know.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

 Wool and Loom band crochet, cross stitch, nail art and jewellery making.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 I love watching Horror movies and Murdoch Mysteries as well as Supernatural.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music?

Food: Chocolate Colour: black purple and red Music: anything. I’m not overly fussed and listen to most

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 Not sure as I doubt anyone would want me working with them with my limitations as I am trained in admin. Writing is ideal as I can pick it up when my body lets me, also my publisher is really understanding. Thankfully.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

https://simoneyoung.wordpress.com/

 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Simone-Young/e/B00RKN1LVC/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1485616432&sr=1-2-ent

 41hdwd8fzxl-_uy250_51yza-0qul-_uy250_51z2hfrl9l-_uy250_

