Name: Marianne Morea

Age: ssh! I’ll never tell!

Where are you from:

New York

 

Tell us a little about yourself: i.e. your education, family life, etc.  

I was born and raised in New York. I went to school in the city that never sleeps and have a B.A. in Journalism and a Masters in Fine Art. I have been married to my husband for twenty-three years and we have three terrific kids.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My latest news…hmmm. I have been writing in Milly Taiden’s Sassy Ever After Series for a Kindle World exclusive as well as writing in my own series. I have a few new ventures planned, including some co-authoring and possibly a new agent. World of Ink radio has just contacted me about doing a guest spot in March on what readers want. I’m waiting on possible dates and look forward to doing another spot with host, Marsha Casper Cook.

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing in earnest in 2009 and pitched to Harlequin and a few other small presses. I was finally published in 2010 by Mitchell-Morris Publishing, but they went under when the economy blew up, so I decided then to go Indy in 2012. The why of writing is easy…it’s what I do so I can breathe. I hear stories and characters in my head, and it’s how I keep them contained. I give them voice and life and they leave me sane…well, relatively so. LOL!

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I have been making up stories since I learned to speak. My imagination would run away with itself even as a child, but it wasn’t until about 5th or 6th grade that I started writing down what was in my head. I have journals leftover from then. It’s why I went into Journalism. It was the compromise I made with myself (and my parents at the time) to be able to write and have a viable job. Of course, now I only write books. No journalism for me. Too dangerous. LOL!

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wanted to be published and since I had been writing for a while, I thought why not give it a go professionally? I had the proper training and skill, so why not?

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My books tend to be plot driven, details supernatural suspense novels. They are the kind of books you have to really sink into, emotional rollercoasters, the kind that can give you a book hangover. I love reading those kinds of stories, so naturally I love to write that kind of book. BUT, I am now learning to find that sweet spot between intense and fluff. I’m writing shorter, funnier, easier novellas as well. The kind of stories readers seem to want. Quick, easy and dirty. It breaks my heart a little, because I prefer more character depth and deeper plot than this, but it’s not about what I want. It’s about what readers want.

 


Fiona: How do you come up with titles to you books?

I usually pick something one of the characters says in the story. Like for my book Twice Cursed. I picked the name because my character Lily asks why vampires are so different from Weres. It’s explained to her that they were twice cursed because not only were they cursed to live an undead existence, but that being immortal curses them to watch everyone they love from their human life, die. See? Like I said earlier. Emotional rollercoaster.

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novels that you want readers to grasp?

It depends on the book and the series. But yes, there is always some kind of message or truth attached to the journeys my characters take.

 


Fiona: How much of your books are realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I put a tremendous amount of research into my books, so in that sense whenever I mention something or someone historic, it’s real and true. The experiences my characters go through are usually based on my own, but of course they are fictionalized to a certain extent. Plus I get a lot of material from my dreams…especially my nightmares.

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?

Hmmm. This is a hard question for me to answer. My influences have changed over the years. What I enjoyed as a teen or a twenty-something is not what I enjoy now. All in all I would say, Anne Rice. Stephen King. Sherrilyn Kenyon, JK Rowling. Kathleen Woodiss and Nora Roberts…plus the classics…Jane Austin, and Emily and Charlotte Bronte.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Too many to mention. I meet so many great new voices at conventions it’s hard to put them to a list. Great books are out there in the slush pile of amazon freebie crap. You just have to wade through to find the ones who are really worth investing in.

 

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Entity? Like a guardian angel or spirit guide? Wow. I believe I have angels around me, but in terms of support, I’d have to say my author peers. They never let me give up. Authors help other authors. It’s the only way we can survive such a cold industry.

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. Though my success has been up and down. I write because I love it. Would I love to make bank doing so? Of course. Will I? From your mouth to God’s ears, as my gran would say. LOL!

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. The Cursed by Blood series is as I want it to be. BUT I am changing the entire scope of the Red Veil Diaries novellas. I pulled the all the ebooks already and will be rewriting them to be lighter and more humorous and then rerelease them as a bundle. My new start with fast, easy, dirty.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not really. I travel because it’s something I love to do with my husband and my family. Plot bunnies abound no matter where we go, so our travel offers inspiration no matter what.

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Anna Crosswell from Cover Couture has done the entire Cursed by Blood Series and Spook Rock. I have her booked for more covers in 2017 as well. The covers for the Sassy Ever After Kindle World exclusives were done by Milly Taiden’s cover artist, Willsin Rowe. Since he designs her work, and since these novellas are part of her world, my contribution to the series needed to look seamless.

 

 


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing a book?

The hardest part of writing a book, for me anyway, is the middle. Ideas for stories hit me at all times from all directions, and though I can easily envision the start and the finish, it’s the center that slows me down,

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. Without you I wouldn’t be living my dream.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading Rotten at the Heart by Bartholomew Daniels. It’s a Shakespearean Detective mystery.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

LOL! Well, not the very first book, but the first to make an impression on me was “Are you there, God? It’s me Margaret” by Judy Blume

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laughter through tears is my favorite emotion. Yup…I stole that from Steel Magnolias. It’s one of my favorites. I love Romantic Comedies, so there’ that.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

“Well, this sucks.” Why? Because I love life and I love living it to the fullest.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Travel! I love new places full of history and romance.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Art. I have a master’s degree in fine art…either that or law. I love to debate.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I do. Though it’s not so much about writing as it is about life. it’s http://dagggersandink.blogspot.com/

 

Amazon Authors pages USA https://www.amazon.com/Marianne-Morea/e/B0040MEMSK/ref=dp_byline_cont_book_1

UK  https://www.amazon.co.uk/Marianne-Morea/e/B0040MEMSK/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1485366759&sr=1-2-ent

