Name: Martha Kennerson

Age: 49

Where are you from?

I’m from Houston, Texas but my father was in the military so I travelled a lot as a kid.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

The first book from my new series The Kingsley’s of Texas, Always My Baby, releases May 1st.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing five years ago as a way to exercise some past demons.

 Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I received two publishing deals for the first book in my Blake Sisters series.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My eldest daughter was going off to college and I wanted her to understand as well as be on the lookout for certain dangers while she’s out on her own. As a result of that conversation, we both decided that my cautionary tale was a story that should be shared with others.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My writing style is narrative which allows me to live the story I’m telling. I also try to write from a place of truth even when I’m writing a fictional piece.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Always My Baby just made since for the story I was trying to tell.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, I want my readers to see that even women of means struggle with trying to have it all.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Yes, I know a number of successful women who struggle with trying to find love and having a family.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?

I have a number of authors that influenced my career but the one that inspired me to create my own stories was Brenda Jackson. This prolific novelist has carved a path and prepared a legacy for many authors to follow and emulate.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I enjoy the work of a number of authors, there are far too many to name.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

In addition to my family, friends and devoted readers, I have the opportunity to be affiliated with a writers support group.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I hope to have the opportunity to write full-time someday soon.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I let my characters tell their own story.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’ve enjoyed a successful career in Marketing so creative writing has always been something I’ve enjoyed.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The sweetest surprise…  

Ambitious environmental attorney China Edwards pursues every goal with drive and dedication. Having a baby is no different. No husband? No problem—she’ll find the perfect donor. Then one spontaneous passionate night with bachelor executive Alexander Kingsley leaves these two longtime friends with an unanticipated benefit, and throws China’s future plans into turmoil. 

China‘s brilliant legal mind and friendship are indispensable to Alexander and his multibillion-dollar oil firm. And the possibility of her moving on makes him realize how deep his feelings actually run. Then their all-business relationship takes a wildly erotic detour…until Alexander is drawn into a company scandal that rocks his life. With trust in tatters, can an unplanned bundle of joy lead them to become the family they never expected?

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Making sure I’m telling a story that not only interest people but move them in some way.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Unfortunately, I haven’t had a chance to promote this new book as much as I’d like but when I’ve have the opportunity to get out and meet readers, it’s an amazing experience.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publisher handles all my cover designs.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?               

My two biggest challenges has been finding the time to write with such an active home life and controlling my story’s characters. Yes, my characters talk to me and they find the oddest time to do it too; like when I’m trying to sleep.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

I always have people in mind for my main characters when I write so they would be the people I’d like to see play the roles. For my male hero Alexander, Daniel Sunjata and my female heroine China, Gugu Mbartha Raw.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

First, write your story. Don’t worry about anything else; not if it will sell, or finding a publisher, nothing. Just write your story. Second, seek advice from other authors writing in your same genre; hopefully they can share some of their writing or publishing experiences. Finally, figure out the best way to get your work and/or your name out to potential readers; participating in book fairs, visiting book clubs, etc.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

When I write I let my characters lead me through the story. I research anything that’s unfamiliar to me; career choices, locations, etc. I let my characters tell their own story. If I’m enjoying the writing process then I know I’ve got something. If I don’t, I stop and regroup. I won’t put out anything that I can’t enjoy when I read it later. I wouldn’t do that to my readers.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Currently I’m working on the second book in this series. I don’t ready other authors when I’m creating my own stories.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Unfortunately I don’t; I was a child.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I really enjoy a good romance novel filled with emotional twists and turns.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would like to meet and why?

I’d enjoy meeting several artists from a multitude of fields to discuss their work and creative process.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Making choices is easy, living with them is hard. Martha lived with every single one of her choices.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I love to dance.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love watching football, drams and of course romantic movies and TV shows.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I enjoy seafood, my favorite colors are black and red and with the exception of classical and country, I pretty much enjoy all styles of music.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’ve spent much of my career as a Marketing Executive and I see no reason I wouldn’t continue in that field.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I can be reached in the following ways:

Facebook: www.Facebook.com/KennersonBooks.com

Twitter: www.Twitter.com/KennersonBooks.com

Amazon Authors Pages

USA https://www.amazon.com/Martha-Kennerson/e/B008H8A016/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1485162879&sr=1-2-ent

UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Martha-Kennerson/e/B008H8A016/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1485162969&sr=1-2-ent

