Name:  Author Marjorie Simmons

Where are you from?

I am from a small town in Oklahoma.

I write a wide variety of genes, from children’s stories, romance, drama, humor, suspense, ect. I have around twenty-three books out right now. I enjoy writing , painting, gardening, and working on projects for my home decor business. Family is very important to me, and I try to live life with the best outlook, and takes nothing for granted. God comes first in my life and family is the glue that holds life together. I cherish every moment in life, you never know when the ones you love will be gone. “Live, Love and Laugh in life, time is short!”

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have recently wrote and published two new book.

“A Tortured Soul Voices in the dark.” A tale of a young man’s journey from a normal life of a young child, to a life of mental illness, drugs, witchcraft, and the struggles with trying to cope with the day to day task of survival. This book is true to the events that happen to the youth of our time. We can not begin to fathom the tortures of the mind, and the deep pain of the unending tortures these individuals live with in their day to day lives. The research I did for this book, was at times overwhelming to even grasp the nature of the mind, in such a tormented state. I feel very heartbroken for these individuals that live with this on a daily bases, and have no one to turn to for help.

 

“Love, Betrayal, And The Loss Of Innocence” It is a story of the injustice that can lie within the court systems, due to money, greed, and deceit. A family, and a young child’s life is destroyed, by the deceitful desires of some people, to win at all cost. Nothing is expendable in this life, when it comes to greed, money and pure evil.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing at a young age, around twelve. It seemed to bring comfort to me to write down my thoughts, feelings, and dreams. As a young teen, the things that come our way, sometime can feel like the end of the world, but as an adult we see that things are so simple and not as bad as we think they are at the time. Writing always seemed to help me put into perspective the problem, and the way to, and not to handle it. I always felt a sense of safety and peace in putting my feelings down on paper.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

In my early twenties. I wrote my first full story, “The End Of The World as we know it.” Before then, I wrote poetry, and short stories.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

“The End Of The World as we know it.” It came to me one day while sitting at home, and thinking about the things I had been thought growing up. God had always been a big part of my life growing up, and I felt a need to put down in a story, the things that I seen, as the future of the world.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No, not really. I write all kinds of stories. I do try to hold true to my morals and beliefs though.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I come up with the titles of my books in different ways. Some come to me in a dream, like some of the children’s books I have written, and some are just an idea that pops into my head along with the story.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I try to always put a message in all my stories. Some are life lessons, some are guides to life’s journeys, and some are to help you understand that there is always hope in this life, no matter how hard it may be.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Most of my stories have some sort of pieces to my life, or someone else life that I have come in contact with, at one time or another.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

The Bible, and Alfred Hitchcock books.

My mother and grandmother was my most influential people in my life. I think of them as my mentors. My mother always taught me to go after my dreams, and my grandmother taught me the importance of always trusting in Jesus Christ.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Author Kathy Goodhew, and Author Elaine Littau. I love the way they are so real and love the chance to make someone smile.

My favorite author would have to be, H. G. Wells in the book The Time Machine. I was so engrossed in the story. I loved the way he put so much detail into his writing that it drew me in, and made me not want to stop reading it.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I had a teacher in sixth grade that encouraged me in life.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I think that most authors think that there is always some way or another that they could improve their work. It is just human nature to want to always be at your best, and do it better the next time.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Yes, as a young child I always loved stories.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

At this time I am not currently working on a book.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes, time. There never seems to be enough time to just go into a quiet room and right without any  interruptions.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not a lot. Mainly to book signings or events. Usually they are not but a couple of hours away.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I designed most of the covers myself. Some were designed by the publisher.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part of writing my books are finding time, and having them edited.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes, people are sometimes very inspired or touched by our stories, and yet there is always going to be that few who are critical at every turn. I have learned to take things in stride, and always remember that you can never please everyone all the time. I fill that opinions can sometimes help in our lives. I also have learned that some people take what we as writers write, as true life and forget that this is only fiction, for the enjoyment of one’s imagination. You have to take life as it comes, and never give up. We all make mistakes in things we do, but if you give up, you will never have the opportunity to strive to be great.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

I have always enjoyed Kevin Costner films, I like the way he stays true to the things he believes.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yes, If you enjoy writing, and want to pursuer a career in writing, don’t ever give up over mistakes, or criticism, keep trying and you will get better. You can only succeed if you never give up trying. Take advice from the ones who you look up to, and over look the ones who are just out to be mean. There is always room to improve in all things, don’t be afraid to try try again. Life is only as much as you put into it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I would like to think that my books would give them some sort of joy, laughter, peace, understanding and maybe even help when there seems to be no hope. Thank you all for your support and advice. I truly hope that you enjoy the gift of reading and hope that you will instill in your own children the joy in reading. Reading can take you to places you other wise would not have the opportunity to go.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am currently not reading anything at this time.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes, Dick and Jane. My dad got it for me at a time when I struggled to learn to read. He spend hours with me, teaching me how to read from that book. I will always remember that first time that I was able to read that book all by myself.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

The joy of family getting together telling old stories, or a good clean joke.

The hurting in the world, and not being able to help. Seeing someone sad and broken.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Jesus Christ, he is my true hero is life. He is the one that I look to in every aspect of my life. Without him I would have no talent. I am truly grateful to him for everything.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I really have not give it much thought.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Yes, I paint, and do rustic decor and some small furniture.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The Curse of Oak Island, Lonesome Dove, Comedies, and UFC.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music?

My favorite foods are, home cooked meals, almonds and ice cream.

My favorite color is bluish s purple and pink.

My favorite Music is Christian and Country. I also love the sound of a beautiful violin.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Maybe a singer or a missionary.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? amazon.com/author/marjoriesimmons

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

