Name:  Kiarra M. Taylor

Age: 26

Where are you from?

Up until recently I was a lifelong Pittsburgher. But as of two weeks before Christmas 2016, I am now an official California girl!

 

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

Education wise, I’ve always had an interest in all things pertaining to the law. I currently hold three college degrees, the latest of which is a Masters in Criminal Justice Administration. I am a mother of a beautiful daughter and a handsome son. Recently, we moved to San Jose, California!

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My latest exciting news, is that I’m working on my first multiple-part book! Originally, I’d intended for it to be a duet (two part book) but I *think* it may go onto a part three, making it a trilogy. This is huge for me because I’d never thought I’d write a series!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing in the fifth grade. I had just discovered the amazing Harry Potter series and read all the books that were out so fast that I didn’t realized I’d have to wait a year or so for the next installment. Never one to be patient for long, I wrote my own version of the next book and I’ve literally been writing ever since then.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Even though I’ve been writing since I was 10, I didn’t consider myself to be a writer until 2014, when I regularly started working on and completing novels.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first, The Quarter Change, is about a woman who’s turning twenty-five in two weeks and suddenly realizes that she’s just been existing and not LIVING. This was inspired by the fact that when I was writing the book, I was a month away from my own twenty-fifth birthday.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to think I do. I tend to write all my novels as if they have the potential to be turned into movies at any given time. Meaning, lots of details, lots of raw, gritty emotion that plays out well on the pages of a book and would also play out well on the big screen, LOL.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The Quarter Change is a play on words, a double entendre if you will. A quarter is a piece of change, but quarter in this instance means twenty-five (a quarter of a century) and change means the change that comes over the character as she approaches her 25th birthday.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

That whoever you are, be it a wild, outgoing person, or a quiet, book-loving person, is more than good enough.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Other than the fact that the book takes place both in San Jose and Pittsburgh and I wrote it while I was in San Jose and Pittsburgh, that’s about it as far as mirroring real life goes. The rest is entirely made up.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

None have really influenced me. But some have stayed with me long after I read the last word. Books like Looking for Alaska by John Green, “The Fault In Our Stars, also by John Green, Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher, The Crossfire Series by Sylvia day.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I LOVE Carissa Ann Lynch a new author has a fan in me for lfie! She writes darker YA novels and although I’m not a young adult, I relate to and lose myself in every single one of her books. She’s definitely an author to watch for!

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Oh, that’s easy, my entire hometown of Braddock, Pennsylvania. The day before my debut novel came out, I held a book signing at my childhood library and the turnout was absolutely incredible. I had a hundred books available and might have left with six once the signing was over.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. It’s in my five year plan to one day soon write full-time and not work a normal nine to five.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

My second book, title, A Series of Agains, is straight from the heart. So, no. I wouldn’t change anything at all!

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

From my inability to be patient and wait for the next Harry Potter book to come out, lol. I decided to write my own and fell in love with writing.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Without giving too much away, the book is a dual POV. We get the story from the female MC, Kamille Trenton and the male MC, O’Ryen Grant. The two are polar opposites and when their worlds collide (pun intended) something extraodinary happens. But even extraodinary can’t withstand the lie it was built on.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Not particularly. I love it, everything about the process!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

When it comes to book signings, yes. I went to New York for a signing this past August and loved it!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Both of my book covers have been designed by Ashley Byland at Redbird Designs. Not only does she do STELLAR work, but she was very patient with me and did multiple drafts of my covers until I was a thousand percent happy with them.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Writing about a lead female character that was the complete opposite of me. Not all authors put themselves into their characters and I like to challenge myself by writing characters that view the world differently than me.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes, I learned what makes a story work. I plan on repeating the process in every book that I ever write!

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

If my debut, The Quarter Change was made into a film, I would like Denise Vasi to play Kimbella and Henry Cavill to play Dr. Roman Tanzman. They’re both gorgeous as well as great actors!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write EVERY single day. I’ve gotten into the habit of writing a minimum of two thousand words a day-every day. It makes me take my craft more seriously by making it a regular part of my day. Just as I shower and brush my teeth every day, I write every day too.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

THANK YOU for taking a chance on me. You’ve made my first year as a published author so memorable!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Crossfire series by the amazing Sylvia Day.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not the title, but it was one of those children’s books that teach you about Jesus.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Anything beautiful. It could be a song, poem, a movie, a picture. I always say that there are so many things beyond our control that will make us cry that when I CAN control it, I’ll let myself have a good, soul-cleansing cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

If I had to choose just one person, it would be the actor Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson. My obsession with him is borderline scary, LOL.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I don’t want to be buried. If people couldn’t walk all over me in life, they damn sure aren’t going to do it in death, LOL.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I’m really into hair and makeup and fashion. I have a lot of sisters so I’m always styling someone for an event.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m a bit weird in regards to “favorites”. Personally, I don’t believe in favorites but rather favorites at the moment, LOL.

At the moment, I’m OBSESSED with The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones, and Shameless. The Lord of the Rings movies are some of my top twenty films.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’ve only ever wanted to be two things, a mother, and an author. Right now, I’m blessed enough to be both.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Absolutely. My website is www.authorkiarramtaylor.com. I do have a blog on there and one of author New Year’s resolutions is to blog more on there!

Here is the link my Amazon author page, as well as to where both of my books can be purchased: www.amazon.com/Kiarra-M.-Taylor/e/B017OUKD2I/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1483911346&sr=8-1

