Name Rich Orth

Age Not dead yet

Where are you from

Philly

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

12 years of Catholic school. Majored in Police Administration and Business Mgmt in college. Married to Lora since 1988, one daughter, Caitly. They are the soul inspirations for much of my work. Love dogs, our first Taz joined us during our honeymoon. Next up Sobe the Siberian taught us about persistence. Ligeia/Gia walked in my car and into our life in 2012..she left when her job was complete…we now have Dante, 22 pound American Eskimo, who believes he is a Rottweiler.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

On January 20th five of my poems will be recited on stage LIVE in an event titled Raven’s Word. My friend, Robert Frankenberg, engineer and musical director of my audio book, “Whisper on the Wind”, is in charge of this production. The event will be held at Pinot’s Palette in Bayshore, NY.

I am taking a hiatus from posting my work on social media. Delving into when I will release my next book and what will be included within. In the meantime I am working on lyrics for the upcoming Demon Boy CD, Wrong Side of the Grave, which is due for an August release.

Other projects include finalizing some poetry drafts of mine that have been collecting dust, lyrics to a song titled Raven and the Wolf with music by my friend, guitarist Rick Donato, and on April 1st, 3 of my poems and some photos will appear in my new friend and talented writer Deanna M. Lehman’s magazine, Razor’s Wine.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Trying not to answer questions as I did in 2014, but some are not changeable.  In 1980, when John Lennon was murdered, I wrote a poem. Nonsensical as it was, it triggered a passion. I am much better at it now!


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I am insecure… I had given a different answer to you in Jan 2014, but honestly I still doubt that I am a writer.  I put pen to paper and words happen. The first exciting event that may be an answer to the question happened in 2010.  Terry Castle, daughter of the late great Producer/Director William Castle, invited me to be part of a group of writers doing one story titled, “Scare It Forward: Angel Island”.  Each writer did a chapter.  I was nervous as a poet trying to write paragraphs and god forbid full sentences. Terry was the first writer…in her chapter she mentioned Poetry on the walls and I was at ease.  I wrote the prose, but was able to tie in poetry. Within my prose though, one can still read the sing song aspect of poetry. I am unable to help myself. Well, the story and my chapter were well received and I was even lucky enough to co-author another chapter with Terry.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

An abundance of poetry resided in a trunk or two and the prodding of fans, friends and family.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I have developed my own style. All that matters is flow and imagery… I don’t want you to feel at a loss… I implore you to become lost in my words.

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My first 2 paperbacks are plays on words… Rich Orth POEtry Girls and Bloody T’is My Valentine. My audio book, Whisper on the Wind just struck me as perfect.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Cliché answer… NEVER give up on your dreams. Correct answer… Passion can have many measures and Love never truly dies.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The feelings are fact. A majority of the stories are fiction. Pain is quite simple to imagine as is love. We have all loved and lost. I meld the truth and fiction into any possible scenario. In the case of love or lost love, I use Lora and Cait as my emotional inspiration. For many things though… a true writer does not have to be there to have been there.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Anything and everything by Edgar Allan Poe. If imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, Mr. Poe would be blushing at my earlier works. Now I mentor myself. (Wow, sounds conceited, huh? The goal is to improve with each attempt, no more, one step forward two steps back.

Though in my reality, any book or bumper sticker, street sign or words on a box can influence me. My favorite exercise to exorcise words is to write to artwork and photography created by my talented friends!

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I do not read… wow… funny, but true. Yep, since I left my job in a mall that contained a Barnes and Noble 2 years ago…nada. I prefer dead authors, but I rarely read anything other than news and bios. As I stated in previous interviews I possessed my book, Rich Orth POEtry Girls for 2 months before I opened it.

Counterpoint… I do read others poetry upon request always!


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

There are many.. I mentioned Terry Castle, so let me plug TWO others… Demon Boy has supported my work in and out of the band. Thanks to DB I was introduced to Dave Reidy aka Dave Wolff from AEA zine. Dave has been nothing but kind in all aspects of promoting my work in his zine. He was the first to ever publish my poetry and has even had artist Winston Blakeley draw me “Poelike” for a cover!


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Damn…One can dream. I have not quit yet and the books have paid for themselves through sales. Profit would be lovely, but to continually recoup all out of pocket funds is a plus.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would and will not allow outside interference. My books…my vision. I would also probably edit every poem because I am nuts like that!


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

That has not changed…7th grade book report on EAP. Visited his home in Philly and the spark was there only to ignite slightly later in life.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Presidio©Rich Orth… Thanks to Tom Giraldi

…his gift pictured gave a poem life

Myrrh is mine, its bitter perfume
Breathes a life of gathering gloom;
Sorrowing, sighing, bleeding, dying,
Sealed in the stone cold tomb.

Framed for life …beauty perpetual

San Francisco quaked

…flames devoured

Pacific winds swept away

…Values Victorian

Progressively Dorian

Gaslights… once flickering fireflies

Ignite…illuminate

Conspicuous skies

In absinthe

….her absence disguised

Within Presidio… now she resides

Guiding consensual light

Proprietor of souls

Star…. emblazons sky

She, beacon of night

On ‘morrow… come another dawn

We reflect upon lost beauty

Of she… whom upon a city fawned

Myrrh is mine, its bitter perfume
Breathes a life of gathering gloom;
Sorrowing, sighing, bleeding, dying,
Sealed in the stone cold tomb.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I have had many concussions…several quite severe. Spelling, homonyms and concentration can be painful tasks. Many probably think this poetry thing is a breeze for me. On occasion…it can be…on others I wish to bang my head on the wall, but that would probably not be good for me!


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Just between Philly and Long Island. My books have traveled to more parts of the world than I have.  They have seen Ireland, Wales, England, New Zealand, Germany, Australia and Finland…


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Only one person will ever design my covers and long as he will have me.  The incomparable artist and my Brother in art, Alex Kautz!


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Choosing the poetry you want the world to see. I took complete control of what I wanted on my second book and with the help of my wife Lora, my daughter Cait and our work daughter Jen Decky… we did it well.  Also, the 14 artists and photographers, that trusted me to write to their work.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That no matter the difficulties…to hold “your” book in your hand or to hear your audio book completed… truly, that is elation elevated tenfold.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

I have many actor friends in the Indie circuit… Let us see who wants it more!

My first book Rich Orth POEtry girls has 2 prominent cameos in Joe DiPietro’s film, Long Island Serial Killer! It is available on DVD!!


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Always write…never think you will remember, jot shit down…use a damn thesaurus…do not fear making up your own vocab here and there…don’t use…’s it pisses people off…never dumb yourself down, there are dictionaries for others to catch up!


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thanks for supporting me… I am quite needy and so many put up with my annoyances of tagging and messaging.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Ball Four by Jim Bouton is the last book I picked up about 4 months ago.. I read a chapter.

Last book I read in its totality was Frank Secich’s Circumstantial Evidence. Frank has been a musician/songwriter since the 60’s. The book was filled with funny anecdotes and was definitively one I did not put down till I had read it in its entirety. I went to his book signing and Frank was there with my book for me to sign. Nice guy…a treasure trove of fantastic music…Happy to call him friend!

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Another answer I cannot change from last interview… Dick and Jane… See Spot Run.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laugh: Good comedy be it from friends or family or um a comedy or comedian. Cry: Loss of a loved one…Memories of Taz, Sobe and Gia… Brian’s Song and the seen in Field of Dreams with his Dad///I can be sensitive.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

It has to be Poe. Just to know what made him tick…to know if there are any true similarities to what and why we think and write as we have!

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Loving Husband and Father… Remember me for I shall never forget thee…

I believe the answer to the “Why?” is contained in the epitaph!

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Running a page for the movie Slap Shot. I has brought me many friendships in the last 11 years… Watching hockey…Taking photos…

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Sleepy Hollow….Svengoolie…bad movies on Comet Tv…any movie made in the 20’s to the 40’s, many movies made from 60’s to 70’s.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Steak…Tacos…/Yellow and Crimson/Metal and Classical…Bach, Sabbath, Maiden, Beatles…Demon Boy!

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Professional Baseball player… I never got into organized sports, but I loved playing in pickup games…the sound of a bat hitting a ball, the burning smell it could cause, smell of a leather glove, smell of cut grass…taste of dirt…taste of a huge wad of bubble-gum…the feeling of catching a ball in the outfield when diving and crashing to the ground, crushing the hitters dreams and ego…yep I loved that!

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Just find me on Facebook.. I have 2 Rich Orth pages and an Orth Chronicles Poetry Part 1 and also my Rich Orth POEtry page…  seek and yee shall find.. If interested in my works …signed copies of my books are available from me and my audio book is available ONLY through moi!

Thanks you again Fiona…Me!

Amazon Authors Page https://www.amazon.com/Rich-Orth/e/B00D5SKHKM/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1483857312&sr=1-2-ent

 

