Name Polly White

Age 40

Where are you from The Midlands, UK

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I went to Uni on a day release basis, as I worked the remaining four days. There was nothing like studying over a long period to concentrate my efforts. Before, the short story was my thing. Then, I honed skills of time management and editing to write longer pieces. This was made trickier when I became a mother.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

A baby in the family occupies some of my time who is the best ever babbler. She is seriously widening my vocabulary.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

At first, I wrote children’s short stories for my own children. Working alongside youth I aspired to become their advocate by accurately featuring their issues in my novels.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Once I signed a contract, then I gained Associate membership of the Society of Authors acknowledging the package.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first novel was inspired by a lady where I volunteered. Unfortunately, that story was shelved. Presently, a second novel is being edited. Watch this space! My ‘What If I Go?’ manuscript was third time lucky.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My muse has a contemporary Christian voice presented in easy-read, realistic fiction.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I ditched the working title by getting in the protagonist’s head having held her hand throughout the book. My desire was to prioritize her words, not mine.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There’s a definite warning for students about gangs and grooming. Mine is a cautionary tale for older teens, parents—anyone who’s questioned how innocent students from good families are so easily sucked into the sleazy underworld.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The scenario is topical in the UK. My research was with police information and that of organizations supporting victims of exploitation.


Fiona: What mentor has most influenced your life?

A few years ago, I benefited from the services of an amazing mentor who had a children’s book in print for over forty years. When I produced a complete short story for her to read, she told me it wasn’t finished. She helped me edit to show what the protagonist actually meant to say by adding the missed detail and suggested that simple writing was the best.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My faith kept me going.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, although I teach at the same time.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I was a senior school library monitor where I read historical fiction prolifically.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The novel is contemporary again but this time it is young adult, alternate history.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Bringing the whole manuscript together can feel a mammoth task. Rereading out loud can help identify where I’ve switched POV or written out of character. I find relief on longer projects in practicing another genre, such as poetry for fun and to spark fresh ideas. The task of finishing a shorter piece alongside the main project is rewarding.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I have many ideas while on holiday.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Before, an art student friend illustrated a short story ebook. I chose this simple modern design.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The edits meant loosing chunks of words that I had grown fond of.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Resilience.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up! Self invest by taking creative writing workshops and join a writer’s group to seek honest feedback.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

No situation is too bad to recover from. There is always hope in adversity.

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

It would be great to be a singer song writer.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My blog is at https://pollyjwhite.wordpress.com/

 

 

