Name Mandie Mills

Age 34

Where are you from I grew up in Ottawa, Canada but I’ve lived all over the country

I studied English in University and after getting my degree I served in the military for five years. I’m a mom, a wife, and a shoe fanatic who loves sports.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m writing a new book that focuses on the darker side of BDSM and kink, which is something I’ve wanted to write about for a while.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always been a writer. I started writing poetry as a young teen and moved into stories by the time I was seventeen. I finished my first novel length story at twenty and haven’t stopped. Writing is my escape. It’s my passion and sometimes it’s a compulsion. I always have stories in my head and I write down the ones that won’t leave me be.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Always. Anyone who has a passion for writing is a writer. I first considered myself an author when I got my first contract last year.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first published book was a ménage love story featuring three best friends. I was actually inspired by a scene in a movie. I saw a threeway kiss between two men and a woman and within the hour I had the entire book plotted out.  My publisher returned the rights to the book to me and I’m currently looking into publishing it again.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to be very descriptive. I like to think my style is expressive and hopefully paints a picture for the reader.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Titles are not easy for me and it took me months to think of ‘Summer Hideaway’. I just took the season and the setting and made a title. I like to think I’m better at them now, but they definitely don’t come easily to me.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

That people who are into kink or BDSM are normal people. There’s nothing wrong with being different and exploring different sides of sex and sexuality. I also want to show how communication and consent are huge parts of kink and BDSM and that these types of relationships take work, just like more traditional ones.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I studied human sexuality in University and I’ve had friends in the kink/BDSM communities. I’ve always been fascinated with kink and thankfully I’ve known some very open and informative people. I’ve also dabbled in a lot of what I write about, but I like to keep a little mystery so that’s all I’m going to say about that.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

For erotica books it’s ‘The Sleeping Beauty’ trilogy by Anne Rice. Not only are the books amazing, she was the pioneer for women erotica authors and gave us a voice in a genre that we weren’t supposed to be interested in.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I just started reading Pepper Winters and am really enjoying reading her work. My favorite author is Leigh Greenwood. He writes western romances and I love how I get lost in the worlds he creates with his in books.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The internet. There are so many resources and groups out there where authors can support authors, it’s really incredible.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I hope so. It’s my passion and my therapy and I’ll never stop writing. I hope to keep publishing and getting my stories out there.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would have added a controversial scene I took out. I was worried about offending people but thinking about it now I should have just left it in.

In case anyone is interested in checking it out, here’s the Amazon link

https://www.amazon.com/Endgame-Mandie-Mills-ebook/dp/B01MZ3GI18/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1483755567&sr=8-3&keywords=mandie+mills

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I went from reading as many books as I could get my hands on to writing the stories I had in my head. There’s no real moment, it’s always been there.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’m writing a novel about a woman who shares a list of fantasies with her boyfriend and his friends, and they’re more than happy to act them out for her.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Keeping that line between BDSM and abuse. No matter what I write I know I’m going to upset people based on the subject alone, so I find it a challenge to write in a way that makes dark situations erotic without making them offensive or degrading.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet. I’m hoping to, someday.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I actually do my own covers for my Indie erotica books.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Writing from four different perspectives. I’m used to writing two or three, this is the first time I’ve written four.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That it’s possible to write a strong female in a submissive role.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

I would love to see someone like Ian Somerhalder play Sebastian in my two book series ‘Lianna’s Lessons’ and ‘Lianna’s Longing’. Those books have recently been returned to me from a publisher and I’ll be putting them out again this year.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write what you want. Don’t let people’s opinions dictate what you write. You’ll never make everyone happy so you might as well make yourself happy.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

That I hope my work makes you think about the different sides of love and sex, and maybe inspires some self-exploration into your own fantasies.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just started reading ‘Pennies in the Dark’ by Pepper Winters.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I read everything and anything I could get my hands on. The first book I remember making an impact was ‘Toy Soldiers’ by William P Kennedy. I wrote my first short story after reading that book.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love watching animals do silly things and always cry when I see them being mistreated.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Stephen King. I’ve read most of his books and would love to actually meet him and talk to him about his book ‘On Writing’, which is one of my favorite books.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

That’s one I’ve never been asked before. I guess…Here lies (my real name). She made the world a more colorful place. My family constantly tells me my ‘uniqueness’ makes their world so much more colorful.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Reading, I’m a voracious reader, and I love to go for long walks and learn about whatever I’m interested in at the moment.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m a big fan ‘Walking Dead’ and ‘Game of Thrones’, and I’ve read both already. I also like watching thrillers and horror movies.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Favorite food is Thai, and chocolate, always chocolate. My favorite colors are blue and silver and I listen to heavy alternative and heavy metal.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have loved to get into the medical field and help people.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website?

If so what is it? It’s www.mandiemillsauthor.com

Amazon Authors page https://www.amazon.com/Mandie-Mills/e/B01DOOIYP6/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

 

