Name A.T. Brennan

Age 34

Where are you from I’m originally from Ottawa, Canada, but have lived all over the country.

 

 

I have a degree in English from the University of Ottawa and spent 5 years in the Canadian Armed Forces. I’m a self-proclaimed tomboy who also has a major shoe obsession, and like any good Canadian my family and I love watching hockey and baseball.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just published the first book in a series that highlights the effects of PTSD on combat veterans. It’s a cause that’s very close to my heart and I hope I can shed some light on the subject from the perspective of someone who has been in the military and has seen the effects on friends and colleagues.

In case anyone is interested, the link to see the book is here. And I will be donating a portion of every sale to a charity that helps veterans in crisis.

 

https://www.amazon.com/Wrong-Place-Right-Solitary-Soldiers-ebook/dp/B01M4LAKWC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1483581597&sr=8-1&keywords=a.t.+brennan

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing poetry as a teenager and moved into novels by the time I graduated from high school. I finished writing my first novel when I was twenty and kept on writing and learning how to be a better writer. I never actually set out to write, I just had stories in my head and I felt the need to bring them to life. At times it’s been my therapy and it’s always been my passion.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve always considered myself a writer, but didn’t consider myself an author until I had a story I felt was ready to be published.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wanted to write a story about a flawed and real woman who was comfortable with her sexuality, that’s where April in my Seaons quartet came to life. I decided to break up into four novellas because each season is a new story in April’s life.

If anyone is interested in checking out book one, here’s the Amazon link

https://www.amazon.com/Spring-Passion-Seasons-Book-1-ebook/dp/B01KWMALFO/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1483756518&sr=8-5&keywords=a.t.+brennan

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to make my characters voices unique. I write romance and erotic romance, so I try really hard to balance emotional connections with physical ones. I want the sex scenes to enhance the book, not be the entire plot.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For my latest book it was the setting where Tyler and Kenzie meet. They’re in the wrong place because of what happens, but it’s the right time because they meet each other.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

That it’s okay let people in. If you’re struggling with something then it’s okay to reach out to someone you connect with and it’s possible to let go of your past traumas, even if it’s hard.

 

 


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I was in the military. I never saw combat but I saw the effects going to war had on people after they came home. I am also a survivor of domestic abuse, so some of what Kenzie goes through is what I went through.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

The writer who’s had the most influence on me is a Stephen King. I was thirteen when I read The Body, and I couldn’t put it down. I’ve read almost all of his books and I love his storytelling and his ability to create such vivid scenes and settings. I’ve never really had a mentor, but thankfully I’ve had a very supportive family.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Scott Hildreth is an incredible writer. He’s also a hybrid author and his stories are so well crafted. I love how he gets you right into his characters head and once I start one of his books I have a hard time putting it down. My favorite author is Julia Quinn, I’m a sucker for a good regency romance.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My friends from high school, Jen and Erica. They’ve always read my work and encouraged me to keep writing and to publish.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I hope so. It will always be my passion and I’ll never stop writing, I just hope people will want to keep reading my stories.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. This is the first book that I feel is completely ‘done’. It deals with some tough subjects but I feel that it’s exactly how it should be.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I honestly don’t remember a time I wasn’t writing or making up my own stories.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Of course. It’s book two in the series and it also deals with PTSD, only this one is a second-chance romance.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Talking about difficult subjects. I don’t want to write fluffy books. I want to bring in real issues and traumas that people deal with. Sometimes I worry the tone can get too dark because I don’t shy away from uncomfortable situations.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I would love to travel to signings, but as of right now I don’t.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

An incredibly talented artist and author, R.L. Weeks.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Putting some of my own pain and past into Kenzie and her story.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That sometimes you just have to write the story as it unfolds and not think about what other people are going to say.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

I would love to see Stephen Amell play Tyler in Wrong Place, Right Time.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Learn the craft. Never stop trying to improve your writing and have confidence in yourself because it’s a tough industry full of rejection, and success can take a long time.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. I know it’s a bit cheesy, but thank you for taking the time to read my work. There are millions of books out there and it’s an honor that you’ve chosen to read mine.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just started reading Straight by Seth King and I’m loving it so far.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The Babysitters Club series. I read every single book multiple times.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have a very sarcastic sense of humor, so I love when banter is witty and a bit sarcastic. Crying, anything to do with abuse towards kids or animals, and anything that has to do with soldiers who have been killed in action, whether it’s in a movie or on the news.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would love to meet JK Rowling. I’m a huge fan of Harry Potter and would love to meet the person I credit with bringing books back to a technological generation.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I would actually want my family to write it, so they can tell the world who I was to them.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I love going for walks and watching movies.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m a huge nerd so I love Flash, Arrow, Supernatural, Big Bang Theory, and Scorpion. I like all kinds of movies and my favorites are Stand By Me, all of the Harry Potter films, The Sound of Music, and Beauty and The Beast.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music?

I love anything spicy and chocolate is my weakness. My favorite color is blue and I like vocal classical music and heavy metal (I know, pretty much opposite ends of the music spectrum).

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’ve always regretted not becoming a paramedic. That was my dream job when I was in high school but life always got in the way of going to school for it.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website?

If so what is it? It’s www.mandiemillsauthor.com (my erotica pen name)

Amazon Authors Page https://www.amazon.com/A.T.-Brennan/e/B01KTNDXKQ/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

 

