Name Annabella Michaels

Age 43

Where are you from a small town near Cincinnati, Ohio

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I’ve been married to my husband for 22 years. We have 2 beautiful children, 2 dogs and 3 cats. Reading has always been a passion of mine and that has flowed over into writing.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My third book in the Souls of Chicago series will be released in January. I can’t wait to share Landon and Micah’s story with everyone.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing in 2016 after much encouragement from my best friend who is also a writer. I’d wanted to try for a while and she gave me the push I needed to finally take that chance.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Oh, I think I’m still getting there. It’s such a thrill to see my words brought to life and to get positive responses from my readers, but most of the time it still feels like a dream.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My nephew inspired me to write my first book. He’s a young, gay man who is always on the lookout for the love of his life.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I came up with the series name first, based off of the area the characters would reside in and then came up with the individual book titles that would connect with the series title but also show the individuality of that particular story. Feeding the Soul is about a restaurant owner and his head chef, Music of the Soul is about the lead singer of a rock band and Protecting the Soul is about an ex-Navy SEAL who runs a security company.

 

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Each of the books in this series have a strong message of family, friendship, love and support.

 

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

There are definitely a lot of parts of myself and my family in the stories. The relationship between the Greene parents and their children is very similar to the relationship we share with our own kids. The characters themselves however, are completely fictional.

 

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

As I said before, I’ve always been an avid reader, so it would be too hard to list all of the books that have influenced me. As for a mentor, that’s easy. My best friend is fellow author, Aimee Nicole Walker and she has pushed me, encouraged me, taught me the ropes and been my greatest supporter through it all.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

There are several new authors that have caught my attention with their amazing writing. Devon McCormack, Luna David, Sean Kerr and Kris Michaels just to name a few.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

All of my friends on Facebook have been a tremendous support to me this first year. We truly are a community.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I still work full time at my other job, but my dream is to be able to write full time.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I don’t think I would. I try to step aside as much as possible and allow my characters to tell their own story. I don’t have any regrets or changes I’d like to make because the story is what it’s supposed to be.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

As a teenager, I always enjoyed writing short stories and poems as a way to express myself. Even as life got busier with work and family, the desire to write never went away.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’m currently writing the 4th book in the series. This will be the first book that doesn’t involve an immediate member of the Greene family, but the characters wouldn’t let up until I agreed to write their story. I’m very excited about this new project.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Many authors have talked about how they just sit down and write, letting the words flow out of them. I analyze and agonize over every single sentence and it really slows down the whole process. I’d like to quit being so controlling and just go with the flow more.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

So far I haven’t travelled at all to promote my books, but I’m really looking forward to attending a few author events in the future.

 

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My covers have all been designed by the wildly talented Jay Aheer of Simply Defined Art. I tear up every time she sends me the covers and I get to see my words come to life, visually.

 

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part of writing books for me is finding a balance between my other job, family time and time needed to write. It’s a constant struggle and I’m still working on a solution.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I do in fact have some creativity inside of me. I come from a very musical, artistic and theatrical family. Other than singing, I thought creativity had completely passed me by. It’s been a lot of fun tapping into this side of myself.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

That’s a really great question. I’ll have to give that one some thought. Off the top of my head though, I think Joe Manganiello would make an amazing Giovanni Romero. YUM!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

My advice would be to take criticism with a grain of salt and be proud of the work you’ve done regardless of what others may say.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you, thank you, thank you. Thank you for your enthusiasm, your acceptance, your kindness and for your friendship. I love you all.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Currently I am reading the Alpha’s Reign series by Zoe Perdita.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book I ever read was Green Eggs and Ham. I’m a huge Dr. Seuss fan. The first book MM book I read was Nicole Edwards’ Alluring Indulgence series. I was hooked from that moment on.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My husband and kids make me laugh daily. They’re hysterical. I cry whenever someone is particularly nice to me or to others. Kindness just hits me hard I guess and the tears start rolling.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would love to spend a day with Emma Stone. I adore her and I feel like she’s someone I would be friends with in real life.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She was the best Mother, Wife, Daughter and Friend. Because nothing else really matters.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading, watching movies, going to sporting events that my kids are involved in.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I don’t watch a lot of TV because my nose is always in a book, but I won’t miss an episode of The Walking Dead or This Is Us. As far as movies go, I love Pitch Perfect, The Color Purple and Where the Heart Is.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Fried chicken and mashed potatoes, blue & pink and any music but Rap.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

My other full time job, but I can’t say what it is. LOL

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://annabellamichaels.blogspot.com/

https://twitter.com/annabellamicha1

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100011438515157

 

https://www.amazon.com/Annabella-Michaels/e/B01GJ185MI/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1483626883&sr=1-2-ent

