Name Rose Silverstone

Age 39

Where are you from Houston, TX

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I am a lover of all things creative. The creative mind intrigues me to the point that I thoroughly enjoy being around like-minded individuals. There are times when I worry that I may be too creative for my own good. It’s in those moments that my organizational skills and OCD benefit me greatly.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am a published author! I published two works within a month of each other. I’m hoping to complete the follow ups soon. I don’t want to keep people waiting for what’s next.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing at a young age. It was an outlet for me. I needed a place to release all of the feelings that I was feeling. Journaling helped me then my poetry. The evolution resulted in my first short story in college. A professor was the first person to tell me that I should expound on my idea to create a novel.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The first time someone told me that my work touched them and I should pursue my passion.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I believe I jumped the gun and answered this question in a previous answer.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No, I don’t believe so. I would say that my works are character driven. I’m grateful for the opportunity to share their stories.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I believe I’m different than most when it comes to title creation. My title may be the first thing that I’ll have when a new idea is “born.” My character’s stories are then developed. They may not even have a name unless it’s in the title. Everything else develops from there.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I want my readers to know that the strongest people in this world are strongest when they accept those who surround them. Family comes in all shapes and sizes and doesn’t always include blood relations.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Hmm, that’s a good question. The plotline for the two books that I have released were based on individuals I’ve had contact with. Beyond that, the story is a complete work of fiction and creativity.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

There are so many. I was influenced by a great number of authors. The love of reading is what started me on the journey to create my own works. The early influences would be Shakespeare, Maya Angelou, Charles Dickens, Jane Austen and Emily Bronte. I love the classics and inspirational works.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I’m currently completely infatuated with three authors: Meghan March, Melanie Harlow & Audrey Carlan. Oh shoot, Carly Phillips. Each of them have the ability to make me giggle incessantly at some of the situations their characters find themselves in. I love the elements of surprise that they have. I tend to steer clear of predictable reads. Not predictable at all. I also enjoy listening to their works in audio form.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I have two or three friends on Facebook that I have connected with and have supported me always. They are the most fantastic people. I completely adore them.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. My goodness. I would love nothing more than to do this full-time and not have to punch a daily clock.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. The work that I have out there is the one that I want the world to see. I’m hoping more people give it a chance.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I believe I answered this one earlier.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure. Unedited:

Definitely a woman’s office.”

“Mighty presumptuous of you, Cliffie. How do you know?”

The tall, dark-haired male removed his black-framed glasses from the bridge of his nose and a monogrammed handkerchief from the left breast pocket of his navy blue suit jacket then began wiping the lenses of his glasses. As he did so, he quirked a dark eyebrow at his blonde-haired companion. The man deigned to don a pair of maroon colored slacks and a pale blue dress shirt for this meeting. He should’ve known when River suggested a meeting with the former Hollywood starlet, Priscilla White-Cormack, that something was amiss. Now, Jackson found himself in the offices of some literary agent instead of in front of his computer attempting to salvage the train wreck that was this movie he’d committed himself to.

No, he was in some woman’s office that his college friend and screenwriter, River Carlson, had stated was perfectly suited to fill his need. River cleared his throat as Jackson’s eyes roamed the main lobby of the offices he’d been brought to.

“The offices reek of a woman’s touch. There’s more to do with comfort at play here. not to mention the fact that it has the coloring of kindergartner’s classroom.”

“It is a modern take on the standard office setting. The colors are meant to promote the feeling of an easy-going workplace because the fearless leader is hands-on and demanding when it comes to her company.”

Jackson’s head whipped in the direction of his friend at his far-too-informed statement.

“Riv, if you’ve brought me to the offices of a woman you bagged and tagged I am going to put my fist through your pretty boy face.”

“Dude! Calm down. It’s not even like that. She’s not that type of person.”

~Upcoming series, excerpt from Book 1

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Fleshing out the story is always a process. The most difficult part for me is the creation of the blurb. Breaking down my story into a few short paragraphs makes me cringe just to think about it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, not as of yet. I would love for that to be an aspect of it though.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The first release was designed by J.C. Clarke of The Graphic Shed. The second was designed by me.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finishing it. HA! I had my heart set on completing the first story by a certain time, but another story’s heroine wouldn’t leave me alone for a while. I had to put Clarissa’s story on hold.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I realized I had to put constraints on my writing time or I would never leave the house.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

I believe Emma Stone would be good for the lead character, Clarissa, but the hair color would have to be changed and she’d have to work overtime to play the twins. Theo James would be great to play Nate.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never let anyone tell you that you should give up on your dream. If this is what you want to do, then go after it with a gusto.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Please feel free to contact me. I love the interaction and feedback whether it is good or bad. If you’ve read the work, please take two minutes to post a quick review.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just started reading Too Late by Colleen Hoover.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Hmm. I believe it was the Sweet Valley High series. It was part of a package I received in the mail.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

It’s sad to say. I laugh and cry at pretty much anything. I’m such an emotional person that it can be frightening. The most recent thing was a scene in a book that I was reading. I couldn’t stop the tears from falling when the male expressed his feelings and they weren’t reciprocated.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would thoroughly enjoy meeting either Oprah Winfrey or Ellen Degeneres. Both are such amazing women and do so much to better those they come into contact with and I would love to pick their brains.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Mind your heart, right from the start. I believe there is such truth in that statement. Love hard and many. It will return to you in spades.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Reading and watching movies are my main pastimes when I’m not writing. Visiting places that I’ve never been is wonderful too.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m obsessed with a few: Once Upon a Time, Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal and The Originals. Beyond that, I tend to pop in on other shows but the ones listed I watch regularly and repeatedly.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: Lasagna & red velvet cake. Color: Purple. Music: Pretty much anything that doesn’t begin with “hard core.” LOL. I have an eclectic palate.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Something else creative: dance or crafts. Those are other things I enjoy.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Blog:  https://rosesilverstoneauthor.wordpress.com/ Website: http://rosesilverstoneaut.wixsite.com/rosesilverstone

 

Link to my Amazon page: https://www.amazon.com/Rose-Silverstone/e/B01N3MTNJV/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1483560056&sr=8-1

https://www.facebook.com/rosesilverstoneauthor

