Name  Emery LeeAnn

Age    44

Where are you from  Columbus, Ohio

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc :

I am a married mother of 4 sons and 9 granchildren! My current day job is being a surgery scheduler, I worked in an operating room for 14 yrs as a surgical technologist and now I schedule the procedures.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just published my first book which is a book of poems. I am in the middle of 4 novels. Lol. I plan to have one out by early February

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing in high school but never did anything with it. I restarted 2 years ago on a novel that is near and dear to my heart. The why? Life!

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I sold my first copy of my book! Lol

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Human suffering. And my own! Lyssa, who is the main character in my upcoming novel, would wake me up at nights. Seriously she drove me bat sh*t crazy until I finished her book. Unfortunately things happened and she was not my first release! I believe that was fate, she is better then ever now!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not at all. That was the concept behind me publishing the book of poems first. So readers could see all of my writing styles. I write and enjoy every genre.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Chaos and Burnt Offerings was a grueling back and forth with my amazing editor, Lorraine, that took us awhile. Since it was a book of prose, there were endless possibilities!

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Just that life is a gift. Enjoy it

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Hmmmm…..i need to plead the 5th on that since some of my poems I tend to eat people and fry them up with cayenne pepper and olive oil!

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I would have to say my biggest influences would have to be Stephen King and all of his books. I adore all of his mind twists

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Yolanda Olson is absolutely amazing! This is kindof an unfair question since there are so many!! Lol. My top 2 would have to be P. Mattern (Patricia Annette) her writing is so unique and fun and she is the kindest soul I have ever met. Laurann Dohner would have to be my next. Besides her writing being absolutely crazy good, she is my inspiration to not give up.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Easy, my friends and followers on Facebook. They were my biggest cheerleaders

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Sure! Why not?

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I am pleased with the collection I released

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

From my love of reading

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Absolutely! The title is Lyssa’s Destruction

What do you do when everything you held hope for gets taken way? Simple, you let it all go, including your mind. Will she be twisted beyond repair or is Gabe her saving grace? Buried secrets come to light that will destroy them all…. Is the wreckage worth saving?

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding time to actually sit down. Lol

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Lee Ching with Under Cover Designs designed the cover for Chaos and Burnt Offerings

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Chaos was hard only in choosing the perfect pieces to publish. I knew this would probably be my only book of poems I put out so I wanted to make sure I picked the perfect ones

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

How much time it takes to upload and create author profiles. Being an indie author is really hard work but I am glad I self published and went through all the steps!

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

My very last poem in Chaos is called Forsaken. It is more of a short story. That would be the perfect movie and I would cast Ashley Judd!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never give up. Have faith in yourself!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I used to think writing was a given, then I had emergency brain surgery followed by a stroke. Now I know it is a gift. Thank you so much for allowing me to share my gift!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Last Dragonet by Shannon West and Susan Scott

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Lol. No

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Life for both answers!

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Emily Bronte because she was absolutely brilliant!

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Ding dong the witch is dead!

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Lol. Well this isn’t a hobby but its my religion. I am Wiccan and a practicing Witch so when I am not working full time and writing, I am practicing my craft (Not by turning anyone into toads! Ha!)

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Criminal Minds, Preacher for TV and my current fav for movies is Suicide Squad (huge Harley Quinn girl crush! )  #noshame

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Tacos/ Black/ and my favorite band is Green Day but I enjoy all music

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Ooooh….worked at a zoo! I love animals!!!

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

No! Not yet!!!

Links: https://goo.gl/U3U61z

https://www.amazon.com/Emery-%20LeeAnn/e/B01N0TBIT7/ref=sr_tc_%202_0?qid=1483384571&sr=1-2-ent

https://www.facebook.com/authoremerylee13/

 

