15781726_10207655167528851_3718514170394878153_n

Name Richard Cotton

 

 
Age 56

 

 
Where are you from
I am from Northampton, Northamptonshire UK. I am a father to Autistic twins that I care for at this moment in time. I have two other children that are adults now. I left school when I was 15 to go to work. I had no exams or degrees. I am a widower.

 

 
Fiona: Tell us your Latest news?
My latest news is that I am still writing stories. Trying to complete some books or even one book at this moment in time.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?
I started to write stories in 1974. I did it because I had poor handwriting due to a fractured wrist in my left hand.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?
Once I had finished writing my first story and it read well.

 

 
Fiona: What inspirited you to write your first book?
I just felt that writing a story was the right way to improve my handwriting that inspired me.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?
I normally write Sci-fi or Fantasy stories. I was told by a friend that they seem to be like Star Trek stories the sci-fi ones. The fantasy I haven’t had anyone say what style they are like.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?
I find that each one I write the title seems to fit the story line. That is how I come up with the titles.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
If there is I would hope they follow it. I think most of what I write is to let the reader form their own message and come away wanting more.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life.
For most of the sci-fi and fantasy stories, none is realistic apart from some names. I think that some of what happens to me is in the stories it is just moved to a time and place where it is no longer real in one way.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?
This is a hard one as I read lots of books and wouldn’t say one of them influenced me in how I write. But most likely Star trek and thunderbirds creep into that area. As for a mentor, I would say I have ever had one.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work.
There are one or two new authors that have grasped my interest John Campbell and his lost fleet, Neil Gainman. The one author that stands out for me is Terry Pratchett and what makes me read them is the fun and detail that he used to put into them.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
Thor the god of thunder.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?
Not at this moment in time.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?
Yes, all of it. Editing is like that you look at it and say let’s change this, then that and it goes on from there.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
All I can say was that I took it up because of my poor handwriting and thought story writing would make it better.

 

 
Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?
Yes.
HOLO WARS
Grey dust settled around the ground as the two figures hopped across the moon’s surface. Due to the light gravity, this helped them move quicker. They were heading back to their craft as the light was fading as it would soon be night time on this side of the small rocky planetoid.
“Well, it’s nice to be on the way back to our craft,”
“Sure is John,”
“Did you see the mess that was left from the last mission, Greg?”
“Yes. I think it’s really bad when others treat this place like a dump,”
Greg looked to John as he felt a slight tremor under his feet.
“Did you feel that?”
“Yes, I did. Let’s move it,”
So they hopped quicker as it was still some distance to their craft. Greg could see the slender dart shaped spacecraft that sat on four thin legs. It was made for speed and not looks. They had all the comforts of home on board which was more than can be said of those earlier spacecraft. John had the slight advantage over Greg as he was a good three inches taller so could get larger hops. Greg glanced back quickly. What he saw there made him feel sick to the core.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?
If I could hire a spacecraft to travel I would. Other than that I don’t travel much due to things beyond my control.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the cover?
For the two books that are published and on sale I can’t remember who did them.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Just getting it finished.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I learned that it is not easy to trust others when it comes to publishing a book.

 

 
Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?
Hard one this one. For my female hero’s one person I would like to be there would by Lucy Lawless as for male if he was younger Clint Eastwood would do for the book I am about to talk about.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?
Yes, keep going no matter what.

 

 
Fiona: DO you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I would like to say thank you. One day I will be published and have some people that will read the stories.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?
At the moment I am reading a book on Railways that have gone out of use. It’s a factual story and I am reading it to take a break from Sci-fi and Fantasy.

 

 
Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?
Yes, it was Star Trek Log book one. By Alan Dean Foster.

 

 
Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?
A good comedy in book, film, television. What makes me cry? Silent Running made me cry, as did the passing of my partner.

 

 
Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?
I would have liked to have met Leonard Nimoy as I find it very interesting when he placed Spock. At this moment in time, I would like to meet anyone from Star trek.

 

 
Fiona: What do you want written on your headstone and why?
If I have one it would be He came to explore as that is what writing stories is like.

 

 
Fiona: Other than writing do you have any other hobbies?
Yes. Reading books, build model kits like Airfix, having a train set, walking, listening to stories, music, star watching, and I used to play cricket.

 

 
Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?
Dr Who, any sci-fi or fantasy film, TV show, some horror films, comedy some documentaries, science, and space ones.

 

 
Fiona: Favourite foods/colours/ music
Food one dish fish and chips. Black. Music I like Kate Bush, Kylie Minogue, Kraftwork, Moody Blues, Busta Rhymes, but it goes from classical to everyday pop.

 

 
Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?
Most likely Archaeology as I was involved in a dig once when I first started to work.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?
https://www.blogger.com/?hl=en-GB&tab=jj

 

