Name Billie Sue Mosiman

Age 69

Where are you from Alabama

A little about yourself `ie your education Family life etc  

I grew up in the South surrounded by storytellers. I used to sit under the kitchen table out of sight and listen closely.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’ve sold an anthology story that will come out from Cemetery Dance and Tor. I write a lot of short stories lately.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I was around eighteen when I wrote my first stories. They were awful. I stuck with it until I learned how to make them good.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I said in a diary at age thirteen I wanted to grow up to be a writer. I wasn’t a real writer until it all came together in my early thirties.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

WIREMAN was inspired by true crimes reported in the newspaper and on television news about a serial killer in Houston. (Before they were called serial killers.)

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not for me to say. I probably do.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For Wireman it was from the fact the real killer must have used something like a garrote since he beheaded his victims.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I’ve done sixteen novels so that’s hard to answer. I think I’ve been talking about, all along, how we affect one another’s lives and that evil truly exists.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

We will talk about my latest novel,

THE GREY MATTER. It’s not based on anything real or in my life. Pure fiction.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor

C.Terry Cline, Jr. was a suspense novelist in Alabama and he and I corresponded for years. He inspired me to keep at it.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I like Franklin E. Wales’ novels and stories. He has a penchant for storytelling. I like Trent Zelazny’s work too. Trent has heart.

I have a lot of favorite authors from the past including S. King, Jim Thompson, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Paul Theroux, Colleen McCullough, Patricia Highsmith, John Steinbeck, Phil Dick, and a plethora of others.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My own determination to be able to publish and reach an audience.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I believe it was from reading all the books I could get hold of and the stories from southerners who sat around and discussed the little rural community they lived in. I could see the drama in life and wanted to explore all of it, especially the abnormal psychology of crime.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

It would be from short stories and most of them are in submission so I guess not.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Getting it right. Making the ending satisfying.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Jeffrey Kosh

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Getting it right.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned how I felt about teens who have been abandoned by their families and how they might depend on one another in THE GREY MATTER to survive.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Hard to say. Anyone good would do.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Do it our way. Pay scant attention to trends or what others say. All you have to give the world is your true self. Give it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I love you. I respect you. I’ve done this throughout a lifetime for you.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Bazaar of Bad Dreams, stories by Stephen King.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Comic books and stories in the Book of Knowledge encyclopedias.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My husband. Without him I would have been one morose mama all these years.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Steinbeck, to learn more of how he thinks.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She was a writer of dreams. (Because it is the truth.)

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I garden and play Texas Hold’em poker.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Vikings, Humans, Gold Rush.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

lmost all foods and colors. I like old time Rock N Roll.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Not much else. Maybe painting.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://www.peculiarwriter.blogspot.com

http://www.facebook.com/billie.s.mosiman

 

Twitter: @billiemosiman

 

My Amazon page: https://www.amazon.com/Billie-Sue-Mosiman/e/B000AQ0Z5E/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1483211226&sr=1-2-ent

https://www.amazon.com/Fright-Mare-Women-Horror-Billie-Mosiman-ebook/dp/B01ATO274I/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

https://www.amazon.com/Grey-Matter-Billie-Sue-Mosiman-ebook/dp/B00JKU4LP6/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1483211318&sr=1-1&keywords=grey+mosiman

 

