Name Chance Carter

Age 35

Where are you from Dublin, Ireland.

One thing that’s interesting is that I went to an all boys school. That was the norm in ireland. It’s very religious there, very traditional, we all wore uniforms and there were no girls anywhere!!!

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have a new book coming out soon. It is my 7th book and the 6th book in the Naughty Boy series and centers around Grady. I am really excited about it.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing about 10 years ago. I was doing some traveling/finding myself after giving up my career in law. I wrote my first novel at that time. I have always liked reading and I wanted to give it a try.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I guess I first considered myself a writer after I finished that first book. I wanted to write more and more and to get better at it each time.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I guess I was just determined to do something I like for a living. I really didn’t see myself surviving in the  9 to 5 office world. I wanted something where I could be my own boss and make my own schedule. I could also do this from anywhere in the world.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t have a writing style. I feel like if I tried I could write any style.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I usually just brainstorm the titles of my books with family and friends.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Not really. I mostly try to entertain and if my readers take things away from the books that are helpful to them, because they can relate to the characters on a personal level I feel like I am doing a good job.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

some of the scenes are based on my own life or stories that I have heard from friends and family and sometimes characters resemble idealized or exaggerated versions of myself.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have read many books about writing. Steven King’s book On Writing was particularly helpful.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I love the works of Cormac McCarthy. Especially The Road and all the Pretty Horses. He is an incredible writer. He tells such cool stories with themes that speak to me.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The writing community has been incredibly supportive. I speak to other authors often. Independent authors are so generous with their encouragement. There are a few authors who I have become quite close with and they help me not only with my work , but with my life and personal challenges as well.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I tend not to look back. I take what I learn and carry it forward.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Not really. I have been writing and dreaming since I was a child.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

It is steamy hot and most of it takes place in a cabin in the woods. The working title is Cabin Fever. I like the idea of having a woman completely under my control in a cabin, where we can get up to all sorts of mischief!!!

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sometimes I find it hard to stay focussed on just the writing. There is so much more to self publishing that just writing. There is also marketing and social media and cover design as well. The writing is my favorite part.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I don’t really have to, but I travel a lot and the places I go and the experiences I have inspire me.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I designed all my covers.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part of writing the book is getting started. Once I start I am good to go.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned a lot. I read the reviews and listen to feedback and I learn what people like and what they are not keen on.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Brad Pitt. or Bradley Cooper.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write good books. Put out your best product. Earn your readership. And treasure your readers. Take the time to talk to them. They’ll teach you more than other authors or writing books and courses ever could.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I am incredibly blessed to have the support of so many beautiful, friendly caring women who not only help me, but help each other. I want to thank them all for their continued support and encouragement.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am reading a book on cabins. I am dreaming of building one by myself for my family to take time away.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book. Hmm. I don’t remember. But I loved Dr. Seuss books when I was a kid.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

So many things. I laugh a lot and I am not afraid to cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’d love to meet Tom Waits. He is just a character that I’ve always admired. I’d like to thank him.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I don’t really mind what is written. I’ll be dead.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Like canoeing and road trips and I recently took up downhill skiing.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

So many. I watch a lot of TV and movies. I love documentaries and action adventures and crime dramas. Don’t tell my wife but I also enjoy the romcoms she makes me watch.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I like ribs and all other kinds of meat, the color blue and all kinds of music from jazz to rap to classical. I was listening to Radiohead on the way to work.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would like to be an explorer. I met some French explorers on a recent trip and they were so cool. They were filming a documentary for French television about wildlife at the arctic circle. They all had matching coats with a badge and I wished I was one of them.

 

 

 Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I mostly use my Facebook page. https://www.facebook.com/lovechancecarter .

Amazon Authors page USA https://www.amazon.com/Chance-Carter/e/B01671UVI6/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1482959676&sr=1-2-ent

Amazon Authors page UK  https://www.amazon.co.uk/Chance-Carter/e/B01671UVI6/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1482959750&sr=1-2-ent

