Name  Emma Bennet
Age 36
Where are you from? I was born in London and lived there until I moved to Wales
when I was 23.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing children’s books when my eldest son was tiny, so almost 13 years ago! I had the idea for my first romance, ‘The Green Hills of Home’ about 5 years ago. I’ve always had stories going around my head, but it was my husband’s encouragement which actually led to me putting them down on paper.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I signed my contract with my publisher Joffe Books in 2014: a moment every writer dreams of!

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I write sweet, contemporary romances: they’re light escapism, with a guaranteed Happy Ever After!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. It is ‘what I do’ and what I  hope to continue to do for a very long time!

 

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Definitely the editing. Sometimes you have to be really tough and get rid of stuff you love, but just isn’t right for the story. I can be very hard!

 

 
Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the
lead?

I think Emily Blunt would make a fantastic Bronte, the heroine of my novel
‘I Need a Hero’! And how amazing would it be to go to the premiere!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Use any little time you have to write. Sometimes it’s just not possible to carve out hours of time, but I’ve jotted down snatches of scenes in all manner of places which have made it into my books.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I have just started re-reading ‘Jane Eyre’ as a treat to myself; I don’t think I’ve read it since I was about 16.

 

 
Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book I have a vivid memory of reading was ‘Charlie and the Chocolate Factory’ by Roald Dahl. It’s still a favourite!

 

 
Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My children make me laugh a lot, and cry occasionally!

 

 
Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I’m a big movie fan, I love knitting, baking and walking my beautiful chocolate Labrador. Oh, and I’m a member of the Women’s Institute.

 

 
Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Downton Abbey and romantic comedies. I especially love anything starring Cary Grant (who I have a wee bit of a crush on) and Audrey Hepburn.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes, I do. My website is
www.emma-bennet.co.uk .

Here’s my author page:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Emma-Bennet/e/B00DK8SSE4/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

and a link to one of my books:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/NEED-HERO-romance-wont-want-ebook/dp/B0115BGC54/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

