Name: Caroline Thorpe

 

Age: I’m young.

 

Where are you from: Wonderland

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

 

I write all kinds of fiction with a dash of humor and naughtiness at the side…types fast and drinks my coffees faster. A firm believer in grand romantic gestures, happily ever afters, and a good book in a bad day. When not writing, I bask in the normalcy of the mundane with sweets in hand. I live with a cat named Sylvester 😉

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 

I’m in the process of completing and polishing a manuscript. Also the editing and cover. Hopefully, I’ll complete ALL of my current wips/manuscripts next year… which is unlikely. But a girl can hope.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I can’t really say exactly the ‘when’ and I’ve never really thought I’d be a writer, but I started writing because I have a story to tell and the first medium I’ve planned on telling it on – I’ve realized – didn’t worked well for me. So I stumbled upon writing. And I think it fits me just fine.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Um, just recently? When I’ve first started, I didn’t really call myself a writer. Just a person doing a hobby. But when those first drafts that I’ve written started piling up, I was like, “Oh, I’m probably a writer now.”

 

So there you go.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Reading. After reading books in a while, I had this eureka moment. Like, oh I’m so gonna write a book now. And I did.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I actually tend to write in first person. Dual. Though, I’m polishing my third person writing prowess haha.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I just thought it. My favorite part of writing is thinking of character names and such. Titles included.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

That we always have a choice. That love, like happiness, is a choice. And like in books, the happily ever after probably isn’t that far away.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Probably 20-30%. When writing, I tend to insert realistic events or experiences to make it more authentic. But most of it is entirely fictional.

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Historical fiction. My favorite.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I don’t really have a specific favorite author. I love all authors as long as I’m entertained by their books.

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 

Authors that I love. Not just one. Because they inspire me, and that kept me grounded.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I don’t want to jinx it haha.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I’m still in the middle of polishing it, so I can safely say that I can still change things here and there. Small as it is.

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Not really. But as I’ve said, I have a story to tell and the first medium didn’t worked well for me, and I’ve been reading books for a while… And voila! I started writing. After a while, it also became my way to blow off steam from stress.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 

Here’s the blurb:

 

When bride to be Mariella Hawkins gets kidnapped for some unfathomable reason, she then decides that playing it physical is probably the only way to get to her freedom. Or so she thinks.

 

What happens when everything becomes a touch too real and she gets herself entangled in a game she never knew the rules to begin with?

 

Love gets dirty. People isn’t what they seem to be.

 

A game she never knew the rules.

 

Mari soon realizes that things could be more than she ever bargained for.

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

This is a hard question. I find writing quite challenging, actually. As enjoyable as it is. But I think the most challenging part is not to question EVERYTHING as I’m writing. That just gives me more stress and I can’t write when that happens.

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not really. But I think traveling helps. Be it to do research, or just a plain change of ambiance.

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I do.

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The temptation to procrastinate haha. THAT was the hardest part.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That writing is a continuous process. You learn new things and improve as you write.

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

 

I actually haven’t thought that far. But I guess whoever fits the character’s criteria is okay with me.

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write what you love. As long as you’re happy with what you’re writing, it’s okay. Just write. First drafts doesn’t need to be perfect, they just need to be written.

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

A heartfelt, “Thank you.”

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Ground Beneath Our Feet by Leslie McAdams

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not exactly. But of course, I remember it being a fairytale – and I still think they’re the best.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I can laugh at anything, really. I’m amusing like that. Though, cry… probably ‘touchy’ things?

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Albert Einstein. To see if he really looked like those pictures I saw of him on books and the internet.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

She lived. She wrote. She conquered.

 

Because I love the sound of that. I’d love to think I’d live a fulfilling life. My motto being, ‘Better an oops than a what if’. Lol.

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Yes, I have. I love reading, binge watching, surfing the internet. I learn things from doing those, and I love it.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 

A have a lot. But to name one… probably Supernatural.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

 

Pasta. Pink and red. And black. I listen to all kinds of music, as long as I like it.

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 

Fashion designing.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I have a Facebook page and IG. They can follow me there.

 

https://m.facebook.com/carolinethorpebooks/

 

https://www.instagram.com/thecarolinethorpe/?hl=en

