Name: Bryan A. Tann

Age: 37

Where are you from: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I was born and raised in Pittsburgh, PA. I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Communication with a Minor in Creative Writing. I also hold an Associate’s Degree in Justice Technology. I have two cats (Delphine and The Dude) that love to keep me company when I lock myself away to write. While I write I love to binge watch shows on Netflix or Hulu.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Well I’ve recently signed my first publishing contracts with CHBB Publishing. That is my biggest news to date right now. The first contract I signed was for my spinoff series to Kindra Sowder’s Permutation Archives that’s titled ‘Invincible Heart’. The second contract is for my ‘Path of Redemption’ series with Vamptasy Publishing.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always been a writer. I started out writing poetry while in grade school in high school to deal with my feelings. Dealing with bullies, the insecurities of being a teenage boy, the pen was the best defense I had.

I switched from poetry to song writing and sang in a few bands that featured songs that I’d written. I had tried multiple times to write a book and I just never had the will or drive to finish. That all changed in 2007 when I began writing a bunch of journal entries written by my lead character of the Path of Redemption series Bryce Kreed that turned into my very first novel, The Enforcer.

I ultimately started the project and worked on it tirelessly because I had just moved from Pennsylvania to New Hampshire and I was absolutely miserable. I needed something to deal with the home sickness, and writing was it for me.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think when I finished the first draft of ‘The Enforcer’ was the very first time I told people ‘I’m a writer’. After a while though, I stopped thinking about it. When I finished ‘Invincible Heart’ I started telling people ‘I’m a writer’.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Loneliness as I said previously. Plus, Bryce Kreed started out as a reoccurring nightmare when I was a teenager. I truly felt like, when I was at my weakest, he was pounding around in my head forcing me to tell his story.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t really know how to answer that to be honest. I think I would say that my style is dependent on establishing the characters. I look into character building in everything around me so…is character building a style?


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The full title of my very first novel is Dark Lands: The Path of Redemption; A Story of Bryce Kreed, The Enforcer. This is a bit of an involved explanation;

Dark Lands is the world where the story takes place. I think of it as my ‘Star Wars’. Path of Redemption is this particular series that centers around lead character Bryce Kreed. ‘The Enforcer’ part is his job title.

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

In the Bryce Kreed novels, I want readers to know that there is always a chance at redemption. All you have to do is want it, and take the steps to doing it.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Well in the Bryce Kreed novels, I’m not really sure. I know that Bryce Kreed has been in my life for as long as I can remember. He was a roleplaying character that I used to play so…I think that some of the feats he achieves were inspired by some gaming sessions maybe?


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I think Robert R. McKammon’s Swan Song was a very important book for me. That book really made me realize that you have to make characters that people are going to feel for. Whether its hate, or love, or fear you have to make those characters important.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

As far as new authors, I can’t fully say because I am trying so hard to get my work together. As far as a favorite author? I would have to say that Robert McKammon and S.E. Hinton are two of my favorites. However my CHBB Publishing family are definitely some of my favorite authors. They’re all so talented and we are a family, so I call them my favorites. But there are many others; TJ Weeks, Katie Salidas, Jason LaVelle just to name a few.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

That’s a difficult question to answer because I don’t feel like I can answer just one, because if I did I would insult so many others. They know who they are, and that I am eternally grateful for them.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I truly hope that it is. I would very much so like to make my living writing.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nothing at all. I love what I have written, it is a part of me.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I think most of my interest in writing came from being an avid reader as a kid. I always wanted to tell my own stories.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’m working on a new book titled ‘Concussion’. Sure, I would happily share a little, but it is very rough;

“Security! Security!” the shout of panic snapped him out of his daze. He turned and saw one of the many nameless food vendors rushing up to him. She stood a little shorter than his five feet eight inch frame. “There’s a fight down the hall in the men’s room! Two guys are jumping another guy!” He didn’t waste time, he took off running in the direction the woman had directed him.

“200 hundred to all units! This is Sergeant Brown, I need assistance in the Section Nine men’s room top level! Repeat! I have an assault in progress in the Section Nine men’s room on the top level!” he called into his radio as he ran. The worry of being winded forgotten as his muscular legs pumped and sent his stout body along.

“Out of the way! Out of the way! Security! Get out of my way!” he yelled as he got closer to the restroom, trying to navigate through the growing crowd looking to find out what was going on.

“Security thank God!” a raven haired woman bawled rushing up to him. “They’re beating up my brother in there! Two drunk guys just started beating up on him because he’s wearing a Washington jersey!”

“Stand aside ma’am and let me do my job. When other officer’s show up direct them into the restroom.” He said to her as he pulled open the restroom door and charged in. The bathroom was empty, except for the two men wearing black and gold jerseys standing over a figure curled up in a ball accepting punches and kicks that fell upon him.

“Security! That’s enough!” he roared in a booming, authoritative voice.

“Oh fuck! It’s a damn rent-a-cop!” one of the attackers looked to him laughing drunkenly. He pushed his blonde hair from his eyes slamming another fist to the fallen man’s body. “Walk your fucking beat before you’re bro!”

“I’m going to tell you one last time; the police are on the way, you’d better let him up!”

“Or what?” the second man with dark hair asked.

Before he could answer, the blonde man took two striding steps and threw an arching punch toward him. His left hand shot out instinctively to block the punch and sent a straight kick into the drunk’s chest sending him sprawling backward.

As he turned to face the second man to address him, a punch connected to his jaw and sent him staggering. Getting his bearings, he stood up and blocked another oncoming punch from the dark haired man and sent a punch to his jaw sending the man to the ground in a heap.

“I said…” he began getting his breath. “That is enough.” His authoritative tone never wavering. “Now you’re both going in tonight for assault and…” he looked over his shoulder and saw the blonde haired man swinging a nearby metal garbage can full of discarded paper towels spilling all over the floor.

The garbage can came toward him in slow motion, and connected with his head sending him down to the ground, flat on his back. He couldn’t hear the men taking off out of the bathroom. He couldn’t not hear the sound of the woman screaming that those were the men that had assaulted her brother. He could not hear the commotion of his backup showing up to apprehend the men that had assaulted him. He couldn’t even hear one of his fellow officer’s screaming his name, or a call for ‘Officer Down’ being called. The loud buzzing in his head was in his ears, and the bright light overtook his senses until his eyes began to roll into the back of his head, and his eyelids closed.

 

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I think that it is getting the muse to stick around with so much of life’s little annoyances forcing their way in.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No I don’t. Not at the present. It would be nice if that would change though.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The original cover for The Enforcer was done by Jeff Malson of Malson Studios. The Hunted’s original cover artist is Aaron Brown of Frog King Art.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part of writing The Enforcer was the editing. Those early days my writing was so raw. Editing it was the most difficult time I remember having.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

When I was writing The Enforcer I learned that I could actually write. When I wrote Invincible Heart, I learned that when I’m properly motivated I can finish an entire novel in just about a month and a half.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

If the Bryce Kreed books were ever made into movies, I would LOVE to have Terry Crews play Bryce Kreed. He has the perfect look, and perfect body.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Stay away from Publishers or Agents that charge you a reading fee. Do your research, and make positive contacts in this industry.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you so much for allowing me to entertain you. I truly hope that I do an amazing job.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Right now I’m preparing to read Kindra Sowder’s The Pursuit and TJ Week’s Horror Squad Book 2.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The very first book I remember reading was The Pokey Little Puppy with my mother when I was 3. I love that book.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I’m not much of a crier. But I laugh at just about everything I can to be honest. I try to find the humor in everything.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would have loved to have met John Lennon. The man was a poet. A pure genius.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Here Lies Bryan Tann: Loved by some. Hated by others. Douche sometimes. A writer womb to tomb.

I suppose because its all true.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Collecting movies. Watching movies. Singing Karaoke and hanging out with friends.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

God I could go through this forever! I love Fraiser, Cheers, Superhero TV shows and films, Gilmore Girls, and just about anything and everything.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite colors are black and red. My favorite food is anything that I can get a hold of. And I love music from the 50s to the mid 2000s.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would love to have a talk radio show.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I don’t regularly blog at all. I use my Facebook author page as a website I suppose. www.facebook.com/authorbryantann

http://www.bryantann.com/

 

