Name: Khai L. Bayne

Age: Old enough to buy Alcohol, but not enough to need AARP.

Where are you from:

A land where time forgot… Just kidding, Raleigh, North Carolina.

A little about yourself (i.e. your education Family life, etc.) 

I grew up in a house that went from one end of the spectrum, with my mom being a lover of scary movies and paranormal, to the other end where my Dad was a lover of Action and Sci Fi. They both loved Star Wars, Star Gate, Babylon 5, and Star Trek, so you could imagine what weeknights during Prime Time Television was like. I think I was about 9 when I finally mastered the ‘Live Long and Prosper’ hand gesture Leonard Nimoy would do.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Well, I totally failed at NaNoWriMo this year, but I did manage to get a Novella out of it and the start of another book underway, so it’s a small victory. I also have a new book coming out that is the 3rd in my Paranormal Series, it’s titled Absolution: Sins of a Sacrifice, but it’s still with my editor.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I was always interested in some form of writing, whether it was Poetry or short stories. I wrote some stories when I was younger and played around when I was in my 20’s with stories.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

If I’m honest with myself I’d say I still don’t, I’m still fairly new and I feel like I haven’t technically earn my place yet in this world, but I and working my hind parts off to get there.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I was laid off my job at the end of 2012 and I started back reading heavily in between job interviews and filling out applications. I noticed a lot of the books I was reading, fit in the same mold, I wanted to read something that broke that mold, and couldn’t find a good book, so… I created one.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I think I have a more ‘realistic’ style of fiction writing. When I describe it, I generally tell people I write Fucked up Ever Afters, because in life nothing is ever Rainbows and Unicorn Farts, and you got to go through shit to come out stronger on the other side.

 

 
Fiona: How do you come up with the titles?

Honestly, it can be a plethora of ways. For the titles of the Indebted series, I don’t even know what the book will be called until I get a ‘feel’ for it, then I spend time on Dictionary.com looking for sysnonms for a word, but for Brotherhood of Misfits the Titles are the guys names. The title for the series itself came to me one night when I was almost sleep. Thankfully, I remembered it in the morning.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I mean, I write what I write… because of the fact that I take my inspiration from all sorts of things, the message may vary depending on the person.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Well, as I stated before I take inspiration from all sorts of things… Sometimes it’s from things that happened in my own day, to banter my best friend has with her husband when I’m around. My favorite is when I’m in a conversation with someone and they say/do something I could totally see one of my characters saying/doing.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

All books influence us, whether we remember it or not. I don’t have a specific ‘mentor’, I take advice from everyone, because all of our journeys in this world have been different.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Alice K. Wayne, I don’t know what it is about her Breed Series, but from the first teaser to the end of the second book, I was hooked. If you haven’t checked her out yet, you totally should.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My Friends, Betas, and PAs… They have kicked my ass in gear more than a few times when I felt like giving up…

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Of course I do, I mean I would love to be a full time author, and do what I love everyday, but until then I gotta hustle at my 9-5 until it happens.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t know if I would honestly, I think I would try and get out there more as far as marketing and promotions, but other than that… I’m happy with my books.

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I think it was always there. My mom says that even when I was younger I was always creating stories for projects in school.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I can, it’s unedited,  but I don’t mind sharing.

ABSOLUTION: Sins of a Sacrifice ©Khai L. Bayne 2016

Artisyn steps out the tub, grabbing a towel to dry herself, before stepping into the lavish room. On the bed, she sees new clothes folded neatly. Dropping the towel, she smirks, before grabbing putting them on slowly, enjoying the feel of fabric as it caresses her skin. When she is finished she sits on the bed, rubbing her hand over the decadent material. “Did you enjoy the show?” she speaks to Bashaarat, knowing he has been here the entire time. The air shifts before Ahdam steps out the shadows. Momentarily taken aback Artisyn quickly schooled her features as malevolent smile morphs takes over..

“Oh I did, and I must say you clean up well.”

Artisyn sighs, “I would be lying if I said I’m surprised you are here,” she gets off the bed, “but I figured it was only a matter of time before you showed your face again.”

Ahdam walks through the room, “I see Bashaarat, has been around,” his eyes find Artisyn’s. “He always was a benevolent bastard,” he advances on Artisyn slowly, “always trying to make strays and derelicts feel more comfortable,” He waves his hand and they are transported back to the dark, dank cell Artisyn was previously kept in, “when you really should be reminded of how worthless you really are.”

Artisyn looks around, not in the least surprised he stripped her of the gift Bashaarat gave her. “I guess this is the part where I’m supposed to beg and plead for you to be as kind to me as your brother.” Artisyn closes the gap between her and Ahdam, “Well, I hate to break it to you Sugar Britches, but that’s not going to happen. However, what I can do is bend over so it’ll make it easier for you to kiss the entirety of my ass.” She looks Ahdam up and down, “Although I feel like you would enjoy the task a bit too much.”

Instead of responding Ahdam backhands Artisyn, sending her crashing into the wall, momentarily knocking the wind out of her. “I see I’m going to have to teach you once and for all who is your better.”

Artisyn slowly sits up, trying to catch her breath, thinking how high the probability is the impact of her body against the wall may have broken one of her ribs. She looks up at Ahdam, noting the smug look on his face as he advances on her. Taking a labored breath, she answers him, “We’ll see about that.”

She waits for him to close the final distance, the claws on her hand extend. He raises his hand to strike her again, but before he can she moves, sinking her claws into his inner thigh barely missing his groin.

Ahdam lets out a pained yelp as Artisyn pushes her fingers deeper, giving herself the leverage she needs to stand up and push him backwards. “I told you,” Artisyn seethes, feeling her other self rising to the surface, and seeing her scales flourish as she squeezes the chunk of flesh she has in her hand, asAhdam release another pained scream, “the next time you put your handssss on me,” she feels the heat building in her chest, “it would be you who endssss up bruissssed and broken.” She pulls her claws out his thigh, before he can breathe a sigh of relief her foot connects with his jaw, snapping his head to the side violently with a sickening crunch as the momentum sends him across the room.

Ahdam struggles to get to his feet, once he has his footing he wipes the blood from his mouth, “You will pay for that, you disrespectful bitch.” An energy ball pulses in his hand.

“Bring it you sssson of a bitch. Sssshow me what you’re made of.” The air around Artisyn’s body ripples as her temperature continues to rise, “You want to break me, you better give me your besssst fucking sssshot.”

Artisyn lunges at Ahdam the same time he advances on her, their bodies colliding, the momentum carrying them both across the room. Raising her clawed hand, she aims for Ahdam’s face, but he blocks the blow and she slices deeply through his forearm. Ahdam retaliates with a blast of energy aimed right at Artisyn’s core, the force sends her across the room This time though she is ready for it and braces herself for impact. Momentarily stunned she takes a deep breath before propelling herself back towards Ahdam.

“Issss that little trick all you have?” She asks as his body slams against the wall. Artisyn’s right hand encircles Ahdam’s throat while using the left and her tail to restrain his hands. She leans in and sees her feral reflection in his eyes, watching the flames erupt over her body in his fearful expression. Ahdam struggles to get away from Artisyn, “What’ssss a matter?” she taunts, releasing his throat and trailing a finger down the front of his clothing, burning away the fabric in its wake, “getting a little hot?” her flames slowly creep down her arms, mocking Ahdam with their danger. “Did you know sssskin burnssss at assss little assss one hundred nine degreessss,” once again, she squeezes hard on his throat, putting pressure on his Adam’s apple, “or that a body takessss around an hour and a half to be incinerated using a thousssasnd-degree heat?” She leans in and nips his ear playfully, “I’m pretty fucking ssssure I can do the same thing in a fraction of that time.” Her wings unfurl and the temperature in the room jumps drastically. Sweat breaks over his body as Ahdam continues to thrash about, smelling the continual burn of fabric. Artisyn watches him with predatory captivation. “What’ssss wrong Ahdam? Not assss eassssy assss you expected?”

Ahdam’s body pulses with energy, the force of it causing the flames to dance wildly over Artisyn’s, “You are nothing compared to me or my brothers,” he barks, continuing to struggle. “You think you can destroy me?” he laughs evilly, “Fool, I am immortal nothing can destroy me!”

Artisyn smirks, “Who sssaid anything about dessssstroying you?” she tilts her head to the side studying him, “Maybe, I jusssst want to give you a little something to remember me by long after I’m gone.” Artisyn releases his neck just as the flames completely consume her hand, erupting into a large ball of fire. “A keepsssake,” before he can comment Artisyn places her flame covered hand over three-fourths of Ahdam’s face. “On the plussss sssside, now at least I’ll be able to tell you apart from your brotherssss.” The energy pulsing from Ahdam’s body gets stronger as the skin starts to burn and blister. Artisyn smirks at Ahdam’s agonized screams, “Ahdam, the one with the burned hand print on his face.” Artisyn removes her hand and sees the smoldering mess of flesh and tissue left behind. Artisyn looks thoughtfully at him before smiling darkly, “Maybe I sssshould do the ssssame thing to your cock and ballssss.”

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sometimes I want the story to go one way, but my characters insist on making it go a completely different route.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not really, unless I’m going to a book signing. I want to go to a few in my home state, but there haven’t been any openings in the last couple years.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I design everything, from covers to teasers.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Figuring out subject matter to write on and researching said subject matter.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yeah, Always listen to the voices in your head.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

Oh there are so many choices for all my characters… I honestly, would want an unknown/little known talent to be my leads.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

It’s cliche, but never give up and don’t try to compete with anyone. I would also say follow your ideas and not just what’s popular at the time.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you Misfits!!!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Currently not reading anything, but the last book I read was Siren’s Test by Jessica Cage… I yelled at her once I finished reading it! (It’s o’kay, she is my friend!)

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Green Eggs and Ham

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Depends on how I am feeling, the same thing that made me laugh, may make me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Too many to name. There are so many affluent people throughout history I couldn’t just pick one.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

IDK, but it would probably be something smart and sarcastic.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I paint and make things.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Right now, I’m stuck on Rosewood, Blind Spot, Lucifer, and The New Lethal Weapon….

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music?

Mac and Cheese, Blue/Black/Gray/Red, and All types of music.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Who the hell knows…

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website?

If so what is it? Yes, www.khaibayne.com

  

Indebted: A Sin from Ashes(Book 1, Indebted Series).
Avarice: Sins of Sorrow and Lust(Book 2, Indebted Series).

http://smarturl.it/IndebtedBook1
http://smarturl.it/IndebtedBook2
http://smarturl.it/BN.IndebtedBook1
http://smarturl.it/BN.IndebtedBook2
http://smarturl.it/iT.IndebtedBook1
http://smarturl.it/iT.IndebtedBook2
http://smarturl.it/KB.IndebtedBook1
http://smarturl.it/KB.IndebtedBook2

 

  

Brotherhood of Misfits: Roc (Book 1, BoM Series)
Brotherhood of Misfits: Paul (Book 2, BoM Series)

http://smarturl.it/BoMBook1
http://smarturl.it/BoMBook2
http://smarturl.it/BN.BoM1
http://smarturl.it/BN.BoM2
http://smarturl.it/iT.BoM1
http://smarturl.it/iT.BoM2
http://smarturl.it/KB.BoM1
http://smarturl.it/KB.BoM1

Stalker Links:
GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/KhaiLBayne
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKhaiBayne
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KhaiLBayne

