Name  Kindra Sowder

Age 28

Where are you from Originally from Rancho Palos Verdes, CA but now live in Spartanburg, SC

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Recently I released the second book in my series The Permutation Archives “The Pursuit” through CHBB Publishing. Also, my first zombie novel with The Walking Dead actor Santiago Cirilo “Zombified Book 1: The Head Hunter” went live for pre-order and releases Valentine’s Day 2017.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was 15. I got the story for the Executioner Trilogy in my head and decided to write it down. It was my first published work.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After I finished the first novel of The Executioner Trilogy “Follow the Ashes.”

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I don’t really believe I had true inspiration. It just came to me and I had to put it down on paper.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Well, I’d say I do but I think my readers or my husband could answer this question a lot better than I could.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The titles sometimes are inspired by music. Others, I sit there until it comes to me and then I can’t help but use it because it’s just too perfect.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Be your own hero. That’s the message. Every character in my books saves themselves in one form or fashion. The ultimate message is that you have to save yourself because you can’t always depend on others to be there. Be your own hero. That’s even my own slogan in dealing with depression and being an advocate for those who also do.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

None of them…yet.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I don’t so much have books that have influenced me, but authors have definitely. That list is a short one and includes Stephen King, Anne Rice, and James Patterson.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

She’s not exactly new, but Mira Grant has really grabbed me with her Parasitology series. Her work is such a different take on so many different areas of society whether it be medical or just human nature in general.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My good friend and beta reader Thomas Leeland for certain. He has been a constant and, even if I weren’t a writer, we would still be amazing friends. I adore that man. Also, Santiago Cirilo for taking me under his wing to write our series together.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely and it is what I want to do for the rest of my life.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I sure wouldn’t.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I really don’t think I truly had an interest until that first idea hit me like a freight train. I’ve been writing ever since.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure! This is a tiny snippet from “The Scorned: The Permutation Archives Book 3”

“Fuji-O’Hara Industries was in the process of working on perfecting the use of nanobyte technology. Nanobytes are microscopic robots that can be used in anything from military to medicine to weaponry as well as so many other things. At the time, when I worked for them after being removed from The Harvest, I had helped them perfect the process of injection into a human host without the threat of rejection and now it seems they are using them within human subjects, but we are not one hundred percent certain for what exactly. It could be a weaponized human. It could be anything, but something that seems unusual to you is something you need to keep an eye out for while we are out there. Now, knowing there is a possibility of running into something that could very possibly kill you besides the Specials running around out there in King’s regime now, we need volunteers to go on this mission. Any takers?”

I raised my hand as soon as her speech was finished and said, “I’ll go.”

My mother nodded and looked around the room, her fingers still fidgeting with the belt loop as she did so.

“I want to go,” Gaia volunteered.

My head swiveled to look at my little sister with wide eyes.

“Like Hell you are,” my mother and I nearly shouted at her in conjunction. I hadn’t meant to but the fear of my sister being out there in the field was nearly suffocating.

“You will stay here and that’s that,” I reiterated.

“I am fully capable…”

I cut her off with a wave of my hand and a firm stare that would send even the largest grown man running for cover.

“Capable of what, Gaia? I was told that you can’t handle the field. You’re not going anywhere. You’ll stay here and wait for us to get back,” I demanded.

Gaia crossed her arms as my insistence and refused to look at me any further, Cecilia placing a hand on her shoulder as she shot me a stern stare.

“I’ll be here with you, Gaia, and they will come back. All of them,” she reassured her.

“Mila and I go. Gaia and Cecilia stay. Anyone else willing to head out with us now is the time to say something. We need at least another three.”

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sometimes being able to wind down enough to write after a long day at my day job, but that’s about it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I do some conventions, but in 2017 I know the amount of travel will be spiking considerably.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I designed the cover for my book “Vindicta” with P. Mattern as well as “The Head Hunter” I wrote with Santiago. Aurelia Fray has created the covers for the Permutation Archives and Loraine Van Tonder is responsible for the art of my other works.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Trying to remain focused among all of the distractions around me at home.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I have learned so much from writing that I couldn’t possibly list everything, but the main thing I learned was figuring out what information you can glance over or just omit altogether. That was the hardest lesson.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

I’d love to have Jennifer Lawrence for the Permutation Archives. Jessica Chastain for The Miss Hyde Novellas. Amber Heard for the Executioner Trilogy. As far as Zombified, I have no idea.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Read a lot. Also, write every day. It may be amazing, it may be crap, but do it regardless. Anything can be fixed in editing.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I love every single one of you and your support means the world to me. Keep reading because, without you all, I don’t know where I’d be.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I actually just finished “The Chemist” by Stephanie Meyer and adored it. I couldn’t really stand Twilight, but liked “The Host.” “The Chemist” is she needs to be doing.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I don’t but my favorite growing up was “The Giver.”

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I cry a lot watching movies now. More than I ever used to. I blame my husband. My husband really makes me laugh. Like those deep from the inside, makes your stomach aches laughs.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would just love to be able to spend more time with my Grandma Linda. I miss her so much and wish I had more moments with her.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

….Still writing…….because I have a feeling stuff will still be released after I’m dead because I have far too many ideas to explore.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I do graphic art on the side as well as for fun. I listen to music, cuddle with my husband, and watch a lot of movies. I adore film. I am also trying my hand at screenwriting.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

As of right now I am following certain shows and those include Supernatural, Lucifer, and The Walking Dead for starters.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite food is Indian food, lamb tikka masala in particular. My favorite color is red. My favorite music is rock of any kind, but my favorite band is Red.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I wanted to be a profiler with the FBI. I even got my degrees in Criminal Neuropshychology to follow this dream.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Website: www.ksowderauthor.com

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Kindra-Sowder/e/B00S59LDG8

FaceBook: www.facebook.com/kmkinnaman

Twitter: @KindraKinnaman

