Name: Sierra Michaels

Age:  46

Where are you from: 

Born in Cincinnati and raised in Northern Kentucky, I moved to Los Angeles as a young adult to follow my passion for culture, travel and education.  I quickly discovered Archaeology and received my Master’s Degree and a successful career in Southern California.

I travel widely, but now call Fort Lauderdale, Florida home.  Most of my writing takes place on a small island in the Bahamas called Bimini.  I reside with my husband, and a diva dog named Yoda.  I find sanity and peace in running, yoga and piloting a small plane.  I’m still passionate about Archaeology as evident in my novels.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I like to write and blog about different places I travel to and my personal experiences.  In a few days, I will be traveling to Cuba for the second time this year.  This is during the mourning period of Castro’s death, so I look forward to the experience and I’ll share this on my blog.  https://sierramichaels.wordpress.com/


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing while my husband was fishing in Bimini.  I had a story in mind and I just went with it, and from there it really came together.  I learned a considerate amount from writing and publishing my first novel, Intimate Encounters.  My experience from that helped when I decided to write my second novel, Breakfast In Bimini.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I considered myself someone who dabbled with writing, even after publishing my first book. I started thinking as myself as a writer when I published Breakfast In Bimini, this past summer.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I read a lot, and thought I could do this.  I like to create.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My voice came naturally, and it’s a part of who I am.  I write fiction except for my blog.  But many things in my novels are based on my own experiences.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title? 

My title, Breakfast In Bimini, is actually explained in the novel.  It’s based on the name of a boat I own.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I want readers to have fun with the book.  Perhaps the message I want them to take away is that some things are stranger than initially believed or imagined.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Loosely based on my experiences when it comes to the places in the Bahamas I describe and the boating lifestyle.  Most of the rest is pure imagination.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Michael Crichton impressed me and Dan Brown with their gripping ability to craft a well written story.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Same as above, but also Gillian Flynn can really keep me turning the page.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

A few local writers I turned to with questions via facebook or email.  Most writing groups and other writers really are encouraging and helpful.  So if you’re a writer, reach out.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career? 

I know I’ll always write, but it’s not my main source of income.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not in my latest book.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

For me it wasn’t until college.  I enjoyed writing essays and research papers.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I blog monthly at:  https://sierramichaels.wordpress.com/  And Breakfast In Bimini is part one in a series.  I haven’t started writing book two as I’m focusing on marketing at the moment.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Editing.  I don’t have a problem coming up with ideas and getting them down on paper.  It’s editing a few times after I complete the first draft of my manuscript.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I travel quite a bit and it shows up in my writing.  I’m very passionate about traveling and experiencing different cultures, people and places.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I had a basic idea of what I wanted and I found a professional through my writing associations.  Her name is Elle J Rossi.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Again, the editing.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes, a great deal about the publishing industry.  It was frustrating for me, but in the end I came to understand the process.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I have a strong female character, so many actresses would fit that role.  I think Angelina Jolie comes to mind, but I think a lesser known actress would be better.  I just don’t know the names of that many.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep writing and reach out to other writers online or in your community.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Give my new novel, Breakfast In Bimini, a try.  I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The woman in Cabin 10 by Imogen Church

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Lord of the Flies

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My dog, she always amazes me.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would have enjoyed hanging out with Hemmingway for a daiquiri or two in Cuba

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She lived life to the fullest.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Running, yoga and flying.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

TV:  Big Bang Theory, Anthony Bourdain’s Parts Unknown, Shark Tank.

Films:  Most well-written comedy and Drama.  An excellent recent new release I just watched is Hell or High Water.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

A good thin crust pizza/ green/ modern country and jazz

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 Journalist, archaeologist.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Website:  www.sierramichaels.com

 

Blog:  https://sierramichaels.wordpress.com/

 

Social Media:

https://www.instagram.com/sierra.michaels/

https://twitter.com/sierra__michael

Buy the Book on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/Breakfast-Bimini-Sierra-Michaels/dp/1533699062/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1480377677&sr=8-1&keywords=breakfast+in+bimini+by+sierra+michaels

 

Amazon Author Page:

https://www.amazon.com/Sierra-Michaels/e/B003H2P4WW/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_5?qid=1480377909&sr=8-5

 

