Name Sarah: Curtis

Age: 47

Where are you from: Southern California

A little about yourself `ie your education Family life etc:

I’ve been married 30 years to my high-school sweetheart, have 2 children, and 2 grandchildren.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have a holiday novella, Enchanting, releasing Dec. 1st.  It’s part of my Alluring series but can be read as a standalone.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing my whole life but never had the courage to  do something about it.  I must have five or six half-finished manuscripts tucked away in my bedroom closet.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

In my dreams, I’ve always been a writer, but I considered myself an author when I published my first book two years ago.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve always loved to read.  I think most writers start out as avid readers.  I dreamed of writing, but it was a life goal I never thought would happen.  Fast forward many, many, many years *wink*, hubby and I sold our business and the kids were grown.  What should I do?  With the industry making room for self published authors, it was the perfect time to try and live my dream. I had no idea if anyone would like what I wrote–I was scared to hit the publish button–but I was at a point in life where I was finally willing to take a chance.  I’m glad I did.  I love writing.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

If I do, I’m not aware of it.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Titles will usually just pop into my head like an “ah ha” moment at some point while I’m writing.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Love is out there, and everyone deserves a HEA (happily ever after).

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

There’s a tiny part of me in all my heroines and a little bit of my hubby in each of my heroes.  Other than that, my stories are daydreams, floating around in my head, waiting–sometimes impatiently–for me to write them.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I don’t think there are any books that have influenced my life in any way.  I read for enjoyment.  To escape reality for a while.  The same way another may get sucked into a movie.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?  

There’s been a lot of new authors that have caught my reading eye the past couple of years, Brynne Asher, Layla Frost, ML Rodriguez, S Van Horne, and Mary B Moore just to name a few.  I could never single out just one favorite author, but a few that I love are Tijan, Georgia Le Carre, Lynda Chance, Lisa Kleypas, Alexa Riley, and older Kristen Ashley.  I can truly connect and get lost in their books.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.  

All the fabulous “book community” (authors and readers) friends that I’ve met.  Everyone really supports one another, whether it’s answering questions or spreading the word for a new release.  They’re wonderful.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, knock on wood, this is what I’ll do the rest of my life.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.  I try not to second guess myself even after reading negative reviews.  I write for me, what I like and hope there are others that like what I write, too.  Don’t get me wrong, there is always room for improvement, but at some point you just have to say, “This is it.”

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It stemmed from my love of reading, wanting to create my own stories, and sharing them with others.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s a short excerpt from my current WIP, All-In.  This is not edited, so please excuse the typos and bad grammar.

River sat, completely still, her face devoid of all expression as she carefully scanned each of the men sitting at the table.  Her back was straight, her spine aligned perfectly with the center of her chair.  Her breathing was even, not too shallow, not too fast as her heart beat a mile a minute in her chest.  She was all-in, and everyone else had folded except the man sitting directly across from her.

Alec Throne.  AKA “The Prince of Poker.”

He was sizing her up, deciding whether or not to make the call.

She eyed his chips stacked before him mentally calculating how much money he had.  He had her beat by a good ten grand.  If he called her and won, she’d be out of the game.

She had pocket aces.  The best hand you can start with.  No, it didn’t always win–someone could river a flush or straight–but in tournaments, if you didn’t take risks when the opportunities arose and hope for some luck on your side, you’d never make it to the end.

He still studied her.  His face was expressionless but no less beautiful.  He was elegantly dressed in a suit.  Not the norm for the usual poker player.  Sitting long hours one tended to dress comfortably which was why so many players dressed casually.  Alec’s only nod to casual was his lack of tie and open suit jacket along with the top two buttons of his shirt being unbuttoned.  And yes, she noticed and took count.

His hair was still perfectly styled even after longs hours at the poker table, attesting to his rigid restraint not to run his fingers through it.  His eyes were hard and calculating but not a crinkle nor twitch gave away what he was thinking.  He was the epitome of poker-face.

The fingers of his right hand softly shuffled two small stacks of chips.  The slight tinkling sound they made, a lullaby to Rivers ears.  The repetitious action not a distraction but a soothing reminder of where she was.

Drawn to his hand, her eyes took in its strength.  The nails short and trimmed smooth but not manicured, and the tanned skin of his long fingers.  The digits dexterous as he flawlessly played with his chips.

Movement caught her eye.  His other hand reaching for and pushing forward a tall stack of chips.

“I call.”

He tossed his cards face up on the center of the table.  A pair of kings.  She needed this win badly.  Her brother was counting on her and, she couldn’t let him down.

“All-in called,” the dealer said, tapping the table before dealing three cards face up on the table.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes!  Showing rather than telling.  I really struggle with that.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet.  I hope to get books in print soon, so that might change.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I designed the covers for my Alluring series, but Ashley Byland from Redbird Designs was my cover artist for Freight Trained and Rob Lang Images was the photographer.  I could drool over that cover, I love it so much.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The first chapter is always the hardest for me.  My characters are so new, I don’t know their personalities yet.  I usually go back and change things midway through the book.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned anything is possible if you have the courage and desire to see it through.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I can picture David Gandy playing Jackson Cole my hero from Alluring even though he’s not an actor.  I actually just like picturing David Gandy *smile*

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write everyday even if it’s only a few sentences.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished Vines by Brynne Asher.  I’m not sure what I’m going to start next, but I have a loaded Kindle to choose from.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Ever?  Um… More than likely something by Judy Bloom.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My son makes me laugh all the time.  Emotional books or movies make me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I would have loved to have met Lucille Ball.  What a strong, wise, funny, and inspirational woman.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I want to be cremated.  The thought of my body rotting and bugs crawling all over me creeps me out.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading, obviously, but I also like to crochet.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m addicted to the Food Network even though I don’t cook.  One of my favorite movies is Hot Fuzz.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Favorite food: ice cream Favorite color: purple Favorite band: Three Days Grace

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Nothing, I’m finally living my dream.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://sarahcurtisauthor.wixsite.com/sarahcurtisauthor

 

Social Media Links…

 

FB

https://www.facebook.com/sarahcurtisauthor
GoodReads
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/12823436.Sarah_Curtis
Twitter
https://twitter.com/sarahcurtisathr
Pinterest
https://www.pinterest.com/sarahcurtisauth/
Website
http://sarahcurtisauthor.wix.com/sarahcurtisauthor

 

Book Links…

Alluring
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00RWKMS1U


Engaging (Alluring Book 2)
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00YES0H20


Pursuing (Alluring Book 3)
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01AQ3NQ9C

Freight Trained

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IEFWRQM

 

