Name J’Anne Grenier

Age I stopped at 35!

Where are you fromChicago, IL

A little about yourself, i.e., your education Family life, etc.

I grew up in the Suburbs of Chicago, but have also lived in Arizona, San Diego, Virginia and the last many years in the Tampa Bay, FL area.  I have a B.S. from NSU and an M.S. from FIT.  I make money as a VP for a large corporation, which includes helping teams increase revenue, training/development and writing many training/technical documents.  I have a wonderful family, including two cats and a dog.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Excited for the release of False Awakening, the second novel in the Dream Sequence Trilogy

 

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I guess I have always been a writer, poetry, research papers, and training/technical documents for work.  However, only wrote my first novel in 2013.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer? 

When I wrote an article about Gifted Children, which was published in a local newspaper.  It empowered me because the entire paper was issued without any edits.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book? 

I have a job that requires extensive travel, during which I spend most of my time reading.  A few years into the job, I just got the urge to write my book.  I think enjoying other authors and how a good book can take you to another place was my real inspiration.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? 

I have been told that I write with just enough detail to paint the visual and that the books are hard to put down.  Honestly, I just like to write whatever I am thinking in the moment.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title False Awakening, is relevant to the protagonist in the novel.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes.  There are times we fight things because we are in a dark place.  But, sometimes, if we let them, friends can help us see the light.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your life?

Great question.  I think that everything I write relies on some form of my truth.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor? 

Influenced by so many amazing authors.  When I was young, my father read to us all the time.  I grew up listening to JRR Tolkien, Hans Christian Anderson, Norton Juster, Ray Bradbury and many others.  All of them most certainly developed my creativity and imagination.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? 

Jim Butcher is one of my favorite “newer” authors.  His writing encompasses all the genres of books I enjoy.  Conversely, the Bronte sisters are also favorites.  I mean who can write novels in the 1800’s where the subject matter still applies today?

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. 

Since I am an independent writer, I have to thank Create Space and Amazon for giving me the platform to share my work.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career? 

Someday I would love to be able just to write what I love to write.  It is already a big part of my career.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? 

No.  I think you have to write what you love.  What other people interpret is their perception, and it would be impossible to please everyone!

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My Aunt was a journalist for the Chicago Sun-Times.  She wrote the Who’s Who Column and told many stories about the famous people she interviewed.  It was fascinating even at a very young age and influenced me tremendously.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us? 

I will be working on the 3rd novel of the Dream Sequence Trilogy soon.  In the meantime, I’m writing a murder mystery that takes place in Colorado.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Easy – grammar and editing, I think both kill creativity!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Since I travel for my job, I am inspired by many of the locations I visit.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 I design the covers, with a little help from my friends.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

This might be a common answer, but I would have to say getting started.  It a pretty daunting task to just sit down and write a novel.  Once I wrote the first chapter or two, it became much easier.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I can do anything I put my mind to it!

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

I would like someone with untapped talent who just needs a break.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

I think this is easy to say when you are not a best seller and don’t have all the pressures of contracts.  However, the advice I would give is just be you.  Don’t fake it, write because you love to write and if nothing else at least you’re genuine.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for all of the feedback and wonderful reviews.  Recognition is a great motivator to do better!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now? 

Just finished The Girl on a Train.  Loved it!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read? 

The first book I remember that had an influence was Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury when I was 9 years old.  Probably why I still love Fantasy, Sci-Fi and Mystery today.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Real life

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why? 

Sorry, too many people to count!

 

 

Fiona: What do you want to be written on your headstone and why?

Haven’t really thought about that and probably won’t for a long while; doesn’t seem like good Karma.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies? 

Early in life, I wanted to be a fashion designer and learned how to sew.  Still love doing it today and make many things for my family and home.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching? 

Project Runway, Ink Master, and Antiques Roadshow are my favorite TV shows.  I love movies of all genres, particularly the movies that bring books to life.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Absolute favorite foods are ice cream and caramel apples.  Favorite colors are red, black and gray.  Music includes The Neighborhood, 30 Seconds to Mars, U2, Jason Mraz, Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Beatles, Otis Redding, Van Morrison, The Smiths, Justin Timberlake, and Sarah McLachlan.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done? 

Definitely a fashion designer!

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes, J’Anne Grenier Blog  Although, I’m probably most active on Facebook J’Anne Grenier Facebook

Amazon Authors Page https://www.amazon.com/JAnne-Grenier/e/B00HFA38PC/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_book_1

