15086857_714579372044425_141718411_n

Name: Jeremy Cleek

Age: 22

Where are you from: Midlothian, IL

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I’m a high school graduate. I never attended college. I’ve worked in multiple lines of fast food, and marketing and am now an assistant IT for a contractor. I’m working towards making a future and family. I’m a casual writer.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Well currently I’m trying to finish my fourth installment in the “Roads Of Destiny” fan fiction series I created, The Gidget Chronicles.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I first started writing at the age of nine. 13 years ago as of now actually. I started writing because I played a lot of make believe “fantasy games” with my friends outside of school.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I didn’t consider myself a writer till the 8th grade. After years of writing many absurd childish stories with repetitive lines, settings, etc, I started to branch out and strengthen my vocabulary and thoughts regarding scenes and emotions in my stories.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Inspiration? I was a kid when I started, the only inspiration was, “Star Wars! Dragonball Z! Fighting! Hero’s!” Those were the main thoughts I had in my head before I wrote. I wanted to recreate my own scenes with The Force, Super Sayains, etc.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

3rd Person Omniscient, Narratve.

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Which title? Lol sorry. Umm, the first serious title I came up with was Realms Unite. I came up with it after reading a lot of The Forgotten Realms story lines and watching the My Little Pony: Equestria Girls movie.

(Spoilers):

In the movie Twilight Sparkle, one of the “mane” ponies in the series, heads off into an alternate “realm/world” where there exists human counterparts of the people she knows. The human selves and the pony selves both exist at the same time and I thought, *What if the same goes for other fandoms?* Or as I thought  later down the lines by using the term “Realms” from the forgotten realms. I thought of the top fandoms I knew people, along with myself, enjoyed and narrowed it down to five fandoms and included my own original story ideas into the story as well.

Naruto
Star Wars
Dragonball Z/GT/S
Fairy Tail
My Little Pony

I wanted to add something original and never seen before. So I created what is known as “The Sentient Palace” and The Syraic/Zodiac.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Definitely. What I want the readers to grasp when reading my stories is kind of cheesy but the main thought is, “There is always something worth fighting for!”


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The majority of the story is original in terms of plot and the ongoing continuation. I’ve based a lot of my original characters off of people I know. I’ve not revealed my whole list of Characters to world yet but I do have some that are out. I’ll give you an example:

Caster Alin, first appearance in the series: The Gidget Chronicles. I based Caster off of my best friend Tyree Richardson. The caring and jump right into the mess and solve the problem kind of friend, or relative.

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Quite honestly Naruto. It’s not exactly a book, it’s a manga series. From what I understood from the story is that you never give up on your  dreams and keep moving forward.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

As of recently no recent authors have caught my grasp due to the fact of work and hardly having free time to read or write. My favorite author is R.A. Salvatore. What really strikes me about their work is the depth of emotion and detail Salvatore puts into his characters and stories. It’s wonderful.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

It’s a mix. Between music, watching anime, reading manga, etc its hard to pick. All of it helps me through my rough writers blocks, my headaches and even my darkest feelings.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

No. I’m doing this merely for fun. I gave up trying to make this into a career. I can’t get myself out of the fan fiction base and don’t have any plans on doing so. Though if and when I’m permanently free, I will start working on my original stories all together.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I started writing because I played a lot of make believe “story games” with my friends outside of school.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure. Currently I’m trying to resurrect one of my dead characters in Gidget Chronicles. I have 3 possibly 4 stories left to write. I will give titles:

Fragment Set 2: Steps Beyond Courage
Tales Beyond Matter
Realms Unite 3: Echoes of The Past
(Possibly) The Broken Road (Still debating)

Realms Unite 3 should be the final story for the sentients, and Nightshade, if I don’t decide to make The Broken Road. However, there will be future stories to come for other characters like Gidget, Alchelm, Ninyn, Silver, and possibly descendants of a lot of these characters.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Putting in the middle. The ending is the easiest part of the story to tell, it’s a matter of how the story reaches that exact point. I had the ending for Realms Unite 1 planned out word for word before I even started writing the beginning.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No. I wish I could travel though.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I photo shopped a lot of pictures to make Realms Unites cover. The others I just thought were cool and borrowed off google. Sorry I don’t have an artist or money to get that stuff yet 😄


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Getting to a point where I forgot what is was going to do and write something different that still matches the story then finally remember the idea later on and realize the new idea was better.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Grammar, punctuation, correction, and please yourself.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Well if Realms Unite became a film, first I’d like it to be animated. Second, I would honestly prefer to have Steven Brand (Menmon: Scorpion King) to play as Nightshade.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Be yourself, study what you love, and keep moving forward, have fun.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

For those who have been reading, Thank You. For those just starting, You haven’t seen nothing yet!

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Waiting to get the book The Archmage- By: R.A. Salvatore.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I don’t remember.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Stupid humor makes me laugh. Emotional, love stories, good character deaths.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would like to meet and why?

Ewan McGregor. He is Obi-Wan-Kenobi. My favorite character in the entire star wars universe!

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

“The Mighty Ninyn! Always and Forever! Even at the end and beyond!”

Because that’s just who I am.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Listening to music, play video games (not too often), magic the gathering card game.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Naruto
Star Wars The Saga/The Clone Wars/ Rebels
Dragonball Z/GT/S
Fairy Tail
Supernatural
Arrow
Parks and Recreation
The Jurassic Park Saga
Lord Of The Rings/ The Hobbit
Youtube/ Youtubers: Markiplier, Chuggaconroy, Good Mythical Morning.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: Pizza, Biscuits and Gravy, Chicken

Favorite colors: Green, Black, Purple

Music: Anything I can get a beat to.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I honestly have not one clue.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I don’t have a website to call my own but I do have a page for my series and others who write fan fiction on facebook. The pages name is the same as my series, Roads of Destinyhttps://www.facebook.com/ZNRoadsOfDestiny13/?fref=ts

 

