Name Teresa Crumpton

Age 38

Where are you from Cincinnati OH & Lewisville TX

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  education

I have 2 undergrads one in government with Emphasis in Legal studies & one in English, I have a paralegal Cert, and a MFA in creative writing. Family – I won’t get into all the craziness what I will say is that I have 5 siblings all but one is older. I grew up with my younger brother and only saw the other during Christmas and summer break. I married my husband who I’d known since high school when I was 26, and we have 13 nieces & nephews. We don’t have kids but we do have 2 dogs & a cat

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m working on my NaNoWriMo and it’s a story that’s been in my head for a few years. I had it in screenplay form for a class in my MFA

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Probably since first grade. I still have the first story I wrote. My step-father kept in a lock box and gave it back to me when I went to college.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Somewhere between 2009 and 2010 when I was finishing up my thesis and starting writing workshops at Savvy Author

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Haha my first book is inspired by my family, specifically my mom’s side of the family.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’m a pantser other than that I don’t have a specific writing style.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For Her Legacy the book was all about learning what the family was and who she was. So the title which was originally Legacy is all about the family, “my family” and that how legacy came into play. Later we added “her” to give more meaning to Alexis.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Listen to family stories and learn the history you never know what you will find.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Parts are family lore and parts are my own creation. There so blended I can’t tell you exactly how much I gave each part.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

The Hallows Series by Kim Harrison, Deborah Harkness the All Souls Trilogy, Katee Robert, Tessa Bailey, Jay Crownover, Carolyn Crane, Laura Kaye and Tawna Fenske all have influenced my writing one way or another.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

New authors that have grasped my interest are Chris Genovese, Elias Raven, Sharon Johnson, Ellie Masters, JD Grayson, Ethan Radcliff. I really don’t have a favorite author, there are authors that I pick up their books no matter the story and others that it depends on what the blurb say. I never know what will strike my interest.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

As strange as this will sound its true, the military. All the friends I’ve met because of my husband. I can’t tell you how often my military friends spouses and active members have been by my side as I’ve been writing and sometimes making myself sick from the stress. Whether they came to take me out of the house, have a bottle of wine, call and let me vent whatever they did, they all supported me and told me I could do anything.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes that is the goal.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Of course, there are always things that could be changed, things that may not have needed to be removed things that should have been added.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It was my outlet for releasing my frustration, how I dealt with events that were happening in my life.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My current MS is about a group of friends that own & run a restaurant. Calla owns it and she have 3 of her close friend run it with her. The story is based in Austin TX.

 

Calla’s Kitchen – NaNoWriMo WIP

 

Excerpt 1

The brisk morning air helped clear Calla’s head; she needed physical exercise after the nightmare. Why after a year she still relived the worst night of her life was beyond her. This morning’s dream had Calla re-played for the hundredth time her former friend, lover and fiancé in bed with another woman. In their bed, of all places and she couldn’t relive that moment again, not today on the anniversary of the humiliating act. Instead she’d got up before the sun shone through her bedroom window and headed to one of a handful of places that would clear out the filth, the trail – Ann and Roy Butler Trail to be exact.

Today’s run would need to be long and hard, unlike her usual short ones. If she could run it twice she would but ten miles would do. She had things to do at the restaurant and the emotional baggage of her past wasn’t going to make this week any better.

By the time she reached her destination the early morning rays of sun shone over the city and sparkled on Lady Bird Lake as it runs south into the Colorado River, where buildings formed at the eastern edge. Off in the distance as Calla starts her warm up the I-35 cream and burnt red bridge comes into view. At six-thirty the traffic is already starting to form and she can make out a few semi-trailers, SUV’s, and trucks sitting in wait.

With her earbuds in and music blaring she zones out and lets her legs take over. The burn starts at mile marker five but she doesn’t stop. She can’t, she has to finish and block the visions that flash when she closes her eyes. The pain is nothing compared to the tension that’s knotted every muscle in her body, these last months. Between the food critics and his wedding announcement her body needed a good hard tension reliever.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sometimes getting scenes to show the way I see them in my mind.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My Publicist Danielle Barclay

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Editing

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That not everyone is going to love what you write, and don’t take all the criticisms to heart.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

For Her Legacy I’m really not sure.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep writing and read a lot. Don’t let bad reviews get you down.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

If there are things you don’t like or understand please drop me a line I love to hear for readers. I think the more feedback an author gets the better they become.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I actually listen more then I read so right now I’m listening to Attraction by Penny Reid.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I do I actually still have in packed in a box. I don’t remember the name off the top of my head.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Lots of things… my husband, how my friends respond to questions, movies, songs, my friends.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would love to met Lord Bryon, he was such a scoundrel but I love his poetry. It would be cool to pick is brain.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

You know I actually don’t want a head stone. I want to be cremated and my ashes scattered.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I scuba dive, paddle board, travel, watch TV, listen & read books,

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Lucifer, Izombie, Big Bang Theory, Anything with superheroes, romantic comedies

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Italian, Mexican, sushi, Indian, Thai / Blue / I listen to everything it really just depends on the story I’m working on and the scene

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’m also a paralegal and if my husband hadn’t been in the service I would have went to law school most likely. I wanted to be a district attorney.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I do. I have both. The blog Wickedcoolflight – www.wickedcoolflight.net post reviews, Intros to new authors and Interviews. I created it back in 2008 and in the last year its grown. I know have two friends writing reviews with me. My website teresacrumpton.com is all about me and the book/projects I’m working on. I’ve been adding extra’s along the way for visitors to check out.


Social Media:

http://teresacrumpton.com/index.html

http://wickedcoolflight.net/

https://www.facebook.com/TeresaCrumptonAuthor

https://www.facebook.com/teresagcrumpton/

https://twitter.com/wickedcoolflght

https://www.tumblr.com/blog/tcrump-author

https://soundcloud.com/teresa-crumpton

https://www.instagram.com/tcrumps

https://www.amazon.com/Teresa-Crumpton/e/B01HS74ZZI/ref=dp_byline_cont_book_1

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6569085.Teresa_Crumpton

 

Most people inherit money; Alexis inherited Hell…

 

 

A house’s thirst for blood, along with the secret of murders that a psychotic doctor performed long ago, will expose a family secret when a young empathetic law student inherits her family’s long forgotten haunted house. Things get interesting when she learns it’s not just a house’s thirst for blood that will be exposed, it’s her Legacy.

 

