Name Awen Finn

Age

Too old to tell 😀

Where are you from

I was born in the United Kingdom and began my career in fashion before moving to Australia. In Sydney, I went on to develop a successful business in the art world, co-founding art galleries and a successful art publishing company.

 

I began my journey in spirituality after attending a meditation class with a friend. I went on to train and qualify as an energy healer and spiritual teacher before I began to understand the incredible connection hidden within music and the spiritual energy of the world. I now interpret how to apply this life-changing knowledge in people’s favorite songs while completely transforming their understanding of music and its energy.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I have 2 new books!

Soul Music has just been released. In this book I pin down the traits most common to people who share the same favorite song. Using psychic intuition, Soul Music is a unique book that reveals your strengths, weaknesses, and major issues while providing practical advice and life guidance.

It is a must have for every library and anyone even remotely interested in the dynamics of personality. While you study your profile you will find it hard to resist examining those of family and friends. Soul Music helps you to better understand yourself and celebrates our differences and similarities as human beings.

You can find it on Amazon at http://amzn.to/2bFLw5Z 

And my latest book, How to Beat Criticism and Feel Good is launching on 8th November. This book offers practical advice and simple techniques for how to beat criticism and make your life happier.

 

I show you how to:

  • Recognize the tell-tale signs of criticism
  • Respond confidently to criticism
  • Free yourself from the negative clutches of criticism
  • Empower you to live a happy life and feel good

How to Beat Criticism and Feel Good has the potential to turn around your relationships and help you feel good with all of the people in your life.

You can find it on Amazon at http://amzn.to/2cDahB7


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing 3 years ago. I was compelled. I didn’t really have a choice. It was something I had to do. I started writing Song Reads, which are personality reports which I intuit from your favorite songs.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I considered myself a writer and author straight away. I didn’t beat around the bush J


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book, Read my Song, Read my Heart, Read my Soul is a compilation of personality reports taken from my clients favorite songs. I think, deep down, everyone likes to read about him or herself. I am inspired to help people know themselves on a deep level. I am inspired to help people if they need direction, confirmation, reassurance, solutions to their pain, soul connection, or are looking for answers to the big questions in life.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I meditate before I write and I allow the writing to come through me. I see myself as a vehicle. I don’t really think that I am the one doing the writing J

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

One of my clients gave it to me. How lucky 😀


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, look inward. The answers are within and there is more to life than meet the eye.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I write using psychic intuition, so my SongRead books don’t factor in the realistic realm at all J With How to Beat Criticism and Feel Good I write about overcoming criticism, which is something I have had to learn to deal with from an early age.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I love good literature. My favorite book is ‘Disgrace” by J.M. Coetzee. I adore his clipped writing style. He had a badass writing style and writes to the point. He doesn’t mince his words and his style is in some ways shocking, just like his subject matter. I love the title too! I love William Faulkner’s “The Sound and the Fury.” I also love the classics, such as “To Kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee. For nonfiction Noam Chomsky is a big influencer of mine and also the writings and teachings from Paramahansa Yogananda.

All the books I read are in some way a mentor.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My close friends support me and also my writing teacher. 3 years ago I took a 1 week writing course as I wanted to learn and see if I was up to the job J

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely yes. I used to call myself an Art Gallery Director, I now say I am an author.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I no longer try to make my work perfect. I let it live. So, no. But I am open to releasing new improved, upgraded versions, with the hashtag, even bigger and better…


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Yes, being an artist, I imagined that I would create a book of illustrations, titled “Beach Babe and Bella” (my 2 muses)…..a bit like Herge’s adventures of Tintin, but with my 2 ladies in the leading roles J

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Showing up every day and doing the work.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

One of the reasons I chose to be a writer is location independence. So I travel whilst I write.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Derek Murphy, Creativindie

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Be compassionate. Be kind. Mediate more. Forgive more. Love more. Read more

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

That’s a difficult question as I would like to play the lead role! My daughter aspires to be an actress, so I would pick my daughter too. J Julianne Moore would do a fantastic job and is always wonderful to watch J)

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

For this, I will defer to 2 beautiful quotes in my book How to Beat Criticism and Feel Good

“Be yourself, everyone else is already taken.”

―Oscar Wilde

 

“Just don’t give up trying to do what you really want to do. Where there’s love and inspiration, I don’t think you can go wrong.”

―Ella Fitzgerald

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

And here’s another quote from the same book:

“Discover yourself, otherwise you have to depend on other people’s opinions who don’t know themselves.”

―Osho

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

How to be a Success” by Paramahansa Yogananda. (I carry this book with me in my handbag)

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book I ever read was probably “Janet and John.” The first book I enjoyed and was inspired by was, “My Family and Other Animals” by Gerald Durrell. I loved the Mother character and she inspired me to be a Mother, to my own children, in a creative and fun way J

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My Family and Other Animals” by Gerald Durrell! And music. I cry, laugh, dance and sing to music 😀

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Sri Yukteswar. He is my guru

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

That’s a secret 😀

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Meditation. Art. Laughing, dancing, good conversation, good food, good times J

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m a sucker for Reality T.V. I find it interesting how people interact and understand themselves.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite food is Indian food. My favorite color is orange and my favorite song is “This is The Sea” by The Waterboys

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would like to have done more humanitarian and charity work.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://readmysongreadmysoul.com

 

My Amazon author page is: http://amzn.to/2eccEdw

 

