Name Veronica Larsen

Age 29

Where are you from
I grew up in Brooklyn, NY, but have moved around the US because of military ties.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?
Latest news? Well, I’m getting to release Reckless Touch. It’s got romance weaved into a fast-paced mystery, with edge of your seat suspense. I’m super excited about it!

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?
I was in elementary school. I can’t remember the exact age, but I remember that somewhere around seven years old, one of my teachers told me I should be a writer. That bolstered my confidence and I started to pen stories. Short stories, flash fiction.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?
Such a good question! I’ve been writing from a young age, but finishing a full-length novel eluded me. I didn’t tell many people that I was writing. In fact, I was never referred to myself as a ‘writer’ even though it’s been at the core of my identity much of my life. I wish I would’ve owned it much sooner. Sometime before I finished my first novel, I finally started calling my a writer. And zeroing in on what I wanted helped me push through the walls of finishing a novel.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?
My first novel was a YA Urban Fantasy. What inspired me to write it was the deeply rooted desire to reconnect with myself after a really rough period of my life. I buckled down, wrote every single day, even when I hated the story. Six months later (after years of being stuck at the half way point), I had a shitty first draft. And even though I haven’t gone back to that story, it was the best thing that could ever happen to me.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?
In romance, I write introspected stories. Character driven, and with a healthy dose of angst. I really appreciate digging into the characters and figuring out what makes them tick.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?
I’m awful at coming up with names or titles. Typically my friends help me, but Reckless Touch fell into my head. I can’t remember how. I think maybe I was brainstorming titles with a friend and it just clicked.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
If my novels have a message, it’s for the characters to grasp. That may sound weird, but I write to take the character through a journey to heal and find themselves. So if the reader connects with the character, then I think the reader will also find that message. But I’m not consciously trying to deliver a message to the reader.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
Reckless Touch is mostly fiction. There is something that was inspired by something unpleasant that happened to me (nothing violent) but it’s a spoiler, so I won’t get into that.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?
This is such a boring answer, but Stephen King’s memoir ‘On Writing’ has been the most influential book I’ve ever read. My sister got it for me when I was in middle school.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
CD Reiss is one of my favorite authors, so she comes to mind at the moment. And the reason is that her writing is smart, rich, and poetic. Her writing style drew me into the romance world and gave me the courage to publish my first romance.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
My friend Courtney Houston. She rallied me to publish my first book and has been in the arena with me every step of the way, always a call or message away.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?
Writing? No. Writing is something I do because I have to, it’s a compulsion and I feel heavy when I go too long without writing. But publishing? Yes, I see publishing as a career. That is to say, I could quit publishing, but I could never quit writing. Still, I’d love to be able to publish for as long as readers wish to buy my books!


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?
I would write cleaner drafts. The rewrite process kills me every time.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
I think I started off writing silly poems. But I started writing stories when I was in an after school program at my elementary school. The teacher would ask us to write about our weekend and I’d somehow make my boring life sound exciting on paper. J

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?
Okay…here’s a snippet from the prologue:
__
No one knows tonight’s the night.

I stroke the blade with my forefinger and pull up an image in my mind’s eye. An image of her. Sitting on the mattress, staring at that television with those pretty eyes of hers, wide as an owl’s. Watching, for the first time, what happens when she’s the headline. When the hunter becomes the prey. When the reporter becomes the story.
__


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
My biggest challenge is that I can’t write a story without knowing the characters and I don’t know the characters until I’ve written the story. So my first drafts are usually wildly different from the final.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?
I’ve only been to two signings so far. I plan on traveling more next year.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?
I do my own design work and I enjoy it tremendously!


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Reckless Touch was hard to write because I was (still am) pretty sleep deprived.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I learned I have an amazing support system. My editor, publicist, beta readers, friends, family. They all rallied behind me to help me bring this novel to fruition.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead
If Entice were made into a movie, I’d like to see Jennifer Lawrence to play Emily. She has the same attitude and general looks I image Emily to have. But definitely the attitude.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?
Keep your head down and focus on your own thing. Don’t compare yourself to anyone but the writer you were before.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
My readers are AMAZING. Thank you for all of your support! And for embracing my stories. I like to write slow burn romances and my readers are so patient. I appreciate that more than I can say.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?
I’m gearing up for release so I’m super busy with not much reading time. However, I just got the audio book for Marriage Games by CD Reiss. Looking forward to that!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?
Not the exact name, but it was a Nancy Drew novel.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?
I laugh easily. I laugh at pretty much everything. It’s almost my defense mechanism. I don’t cry easily, but lately when there’s something sad involving kids. That gets me in the feels.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?
I’d love to meet JK Rowling. She just seems fascinating and I’d love to have tea with her. Also, I’m a huge potterhead.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?
She showed up and gave it all she had.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?
Painting! I love to paint. I’m not very good at it, but it’s very soothing.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?
The Walking Dead (back before it turned into a gore fest). Recently I got into Marcella on Netflix. If you like mystery and an unreliable narrator GO SEE IT. It’s so, so good.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music
Pizza, White, and…country

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?
I’d have loved to be a movie director.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?
Yes! My website is www.veronicalarsenbooks.com

Amazon Authors Page USA    https://www.amazon.com/Veronica-Larsen/e/B00P1SGGS6/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1477444391&sr=1-2-ent

UK   https://www.amazon.co.uk/Veronica-Larsen/e/B00P1SGGS6/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

 

Thanks so much!

 

