Name  Athena Morgan

Age  45

Where are you from  Portland, OR

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news? 

I’m currently working on another psychological thriller

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing? 

I began writing in the summer of 2014.  I had this unexplainable urge to go to my computer and begin writing, so I did.  Sounds odd, but it’s true.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When a good friend told me after I published my first book, “You live to write, not write to live.”

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

E.L. James.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t have one.  I know the plot then the rest just falls into place.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title? 

It just popped into my head, because somebody was watching.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? 

Yes, that there is life after a horrible assault that happens to someone.  We don’t “get over” it, we move passed it.  It doesn’t control our lives.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? 

It’s very realistic, sexual assault happens everyday, unfortunately.  I gave Alexis the power to take her life back, and then I let her get her revenge, although it isn’t legal.  But, I let her loose her mind for a moment.  This book has no experiences from anyone I know.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor? 

Nora Roberts’ Angels Fall.  Loved this book and movie so much that I read and watched them several times.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? 

Audrey Carlan and Meredith Wild.  Love them.  I like the way they smoothly write love scenes, they’re so clean and tidy.  Mine are not, they’re raunchy and dirty.

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career? 

Definitely.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? 

No, I love it the way it is.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? 

From a Halloween story my class in the 6th grade had to write.  I scared my classmates with my creepy story.  It was awesome.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us? 

The House In The Woods is about a group of friends who check out an abandoned house in the woods in Long Beach, WA.  And one by one the ladies disappear and then are found weeks, months later, dead.  Paige and her boyfriend of 9 years, Luke who is a world famous rock n roll star are on the brink of breaking up when Paige forgives Luke of his affair.  After a world tour to promote Luke’s group Twisted Chaos’s latest album all hell breaks loose and Paige and Luke’s worlds crumble.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Writer’s block, it’s rough!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)? 

Only to Long Beach, WA to look around the town and relax on the beach.  And Cape Disappointment to look at the cliffs and lighthouse for research purposes.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers? 

Pixabay

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book? 

The rewrite, I rewrote it three times to get it just right.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? 

Patience.  I needed to learn to have patience.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead? 

Hmm, good question.  I don’t know, maybe Jacqueline MacInnes Wood as Alexis and Jason Momoa as Zach.  I’m not sure Jacqueline could pull off playing a 40 year old woman though.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers? 

Have patience and have fun with the research, literally.  The research is fun.  And let your mind go where it wants.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? 

I hope you enjoy my work.  And thank you!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now? 

Colors of Immortality by J.M. Muller

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read? 

Nancy Drew’s The Thirteenth Pearl.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?   

Laugh….silly people and the sound of my kids laughing.  Cry…..a child that is hurt or hungry, it breaks my heart and I cry like a baby!

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why? 

This is going to sound corny but, Jon Bon Jovi because he is an amazing humanitarian and human being.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why? 

I’m Watching You, because I will be from above.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies? 

Going to lavender farms during the summer and cutting as much as my kids’ and my hands can hold.  I make wreaths, sugar scrubs, bath soaks and sachets for my family and friends.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching? 

The Walking Dead, Vikings, Game of Thrones.  And house flipping shows. I’m hooked on Fixer Upper!  Films….anything scary, suspenseful like The Conjuring, love those movies.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music? 

Italian.  Black.  Rock and country.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Lawyer if I would have been better in school.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?  http://athenamorgan713.wixsite.com/athenamorgan

 

Here are links to my 4 ebooks that are available on Amazon

https://www.amazon.com/Somebodys-Watching-Athena-Morgan-ebook/dp/B01HUIMK8O/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

https://www.amazon.com/Madam-Part-One-Power-Pleasure-ebook/dp/B01HVIAVNO/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

https://www.amazon.com/Madam-Part-Two-Love-Secrets-ebook/dp/B01IE0IE78/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

https://www.amazon.com/Dirty-Little-Secrets-Athena-Morgan-ebook/dp/B01JDFO80A/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1477263454&sr=8-4&keywords=athena+morgan+books

 

