Name:  Laura Hawks

Where are you from: Chicago.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc   

I have a master’s degree in U.S. History, Native American History and Culture, and in Ancient Civilizations with an emphasis on Ancient Rome, Egypt and Greece. I am an only child, and I was very close to my mother. Some called my mom and me the Original Gilmore Girls with how close we were. Unfortunately, she passed away last year after a 6-year battle with Breast Cancer. I have been devastated. I’ve found it very difficult to want to continue without my best friend, but have managed to focus on writing and meeting readers and other authors and it has helped to get over those bouts of extreme loss I often feel. I miss her encouraging me and having someone to tell every great review to, or show the new cover choices and ask for her opinion on, or so many other myriad things I had taken for granted in a way, yet knew one day I would be without. I just never realized how difficult it would actually be.

I enjoy the company of three cats, or rather, they grace me with taking care of them. I love to travel and cook.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have a new Contemporary Suspense Thriller Novella out by the beginning of December. It is the first non-paranormal/sci-fi I have written and the first novella. I just hope people like it as much as my other works.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

That’s a difficult question to answer, because the answer is kind of convoluted. I never really thought of myself as a writer, even though I wrote for years in a snail mail role play game and later an on line role play game. I also wrote several news articles for a local paper for a couple of years. However, I don’t think I thought of myself as a writer until my third book was released and I had people… fans… tell me they were impressed on how I can weave a story. I still, sometimes, have a hard time admitting it, but I consider myself a writer now and thinking on it, I guess I have always been a writer, I just never realized it.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Friends who were already published and was aware of my writing. They encouraged me to write a short story to submit for a second anthology that they were already in. Although I was not accepted by that anthology, the short story was seen by another small press who loved it so much, they asked if I could turn it into a full length novel. No problem… and Demon’s Kiss was born.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 Although this is terrible to say, I’m not sure.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Titles are one of the hardest things for me. But I try to figure out what fits the synopsis of the book and is still, what I hope, is appealing. I used to then ask my Mom which she liked better. Now I consult my street team.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My message in all my novels are two-fold. 1. That one can overcome anything with perseverance and belief. Another words, we are stronger than we give ourselves credit for… we just have to find that strength and use it. And 2. Everyone can grow and change. It’s the choices we make, the paths we embark on that lead to the greatest discoveries.  Being afraid to try new things will end up in missing a lot of things, maybe even regretting never having done them.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I would say about 20 percent. Since my books and ideas come from a world of my devise, only minimal. However, my characters, especially the female heroine, tends to be based off of some of my desires and wishes. I have also notices that some of my feelings will get in there with regards to some of her points of view.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 I feel like I am being cliché, but my mother was the one who influenced my life the most.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 I have a couple of fans from my first book that I consider good friends now. I am very grateful for their support and their constant questions of what I am working on now to push me.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. I hope so. Selling more books would help make that more of a reality.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

 Not really. I remember I used to ride my bike as a kid and think up stories or song lyrics. I was always interested in the “story” aspects of things. Still am.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us? 

Kendall turned and headed towards one of only a few handful of cars left in the parking lot. She could feel Skye’s eyes on her, but just to be sure, she turned around to glance back at him and sure enough, he was watching her. Giving a soft sigh, she turned away from him. ‘If only.’ She thought. ‘If only I was thinner, prettier, more assured of my sexual aptitude. If only I didn’t mind being a one night stand or having sexual relations just for the fun of it. Cause, damn. I have a feeling he would be really fun. But then what? I would just be lonely again. Clinging onto the memory of a great night and somehow I know that would only make the following days all that much harder.

 

She had almost reached her automobile, when again a squealing car caught her attention. She hadn’t even fully comprehended that this time the vehicle was swerving towards her. Within milliseconds of being crushed by the speeding car, she was thrown to the ground, a heavy weight on top of her. Rubber tires sprayed gravel up as the car pivoted about, to again head towards the stunned couple. Skye rolled off of Kendall, grabbing her upper arm as he jumped up, pulling her along with him. He knew they had to get out of the area quickly, if they were going to survive this maniac.

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Having something that will surprise the reader.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I don’t have to, I like to. I have always loved to travel, so I continue to do as much as I can.  


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I currently use Dominique Goodall of Priceless Proofing.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 Making enough twists and turns and still have the conclusion make sense. Being able to keep some things a surprise.  


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 All my books have some amount of research. I find I learn many things depending on the book I am doing. The latest, I didn’t know that most cities and towns don’t have volunteer firemen anymore. They are paid, but considered on call. Only a small handful of villages and townships still have volunteers. However, this is only ONE thing of many discovered.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

I guess it would depend on the particular book as each has their own look and complex character.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write what you are comfortable with. Forcing a scene or storyline results in a poor section of the book. And if you say you are going to write a book, then actually do it. It’s not easy, but if you have fun with it, it’s well worth while. Finally, this is something I heard at my last conference and I would like to share it. Don’t write for money or fame. Write what is in your heart, what you are not embarrassed to have your name attached to. Write for yourself. If you find a handful of people who love your work, then you are ahead of the game.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

 Never stop. Reading and the worlds created by books are what gives me, as a writer, the hope you will get lost in the worlds I create and escape from the realities of every day. It’s the best escape ever.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Serial Killers Files… research for my next book and very interesting overall.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Pokey Little Puppy and I still have fond memories of that book.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Since my mother has passed, almost everything makes me cry.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

 I would like one more day with my mom…especially, to ask her why she didn’t throw out some things.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I like cooking when I have others to cook for. I love to travel and I am considered a foodie. Photography and animals.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Cooking shows, Paranormal Shows and Sci-fi shows.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Salad, pizza/ Fuschia-Royal Blue-Royal Purple and I particularly like them together/ I’m very eclectic with music. It would depend on my mood. I don’t care for Christian, bluegrass or blues and I don’t like songs that just scream.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done? I would have continued to be a tour director and traveling.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

 I don’t have a blog. My website is http://laurahawks.webs

 

Amazon Authors page

 https://www.amazon.com/Laura-Hawks/e/B00ES5U35A/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

 

