Name Alta Hensley

 

Where are you from?

I live in Reno, Nevada. I’ve also have lived in Seattle, San Francisco, and some other various cities in California.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Dark Feather is my latest. It’s a dark post apocalyptic erotic romance, and I simply love it. You don’t have to be a science fiction lover to appreciate it. It by far has my most kick ass heroine in it.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve written my entire life. I used to make books out of construction paper. But I had my first book (not made out of construction paper) published in 2010


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The day I saw my book for sale on Amazon. I cried like a baby. It made it all real for me.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My grandmother had always told me I should be a writer since I can remember. Shortly after she died, I decided that I needed to act on my dream rather than wishing on it.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No, I don’t think so… I guess I should ask one of my readers that question. Ha!


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I have no idea. Titles just pop in my head out of the blue. I never have one when I start.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, I always try to get across in all my books that there is strength in submission. You don’t always have to act strong, to be strong. And of course the big one, that true love does exist.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I always put a bit of me and my real life in every book I write. So yes, a lot is based on experiences. But not the entire book! For example, I have never lived during the apocalypse and killed warriors with arrows. J


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Stephen King, VC Andrews, Anne Rice were my go to authors as I grew up. As for a mentor…I have more than I can list. The entire author community is so welcoming and wonderful. They share, they teach, and they embrace. I couldn’t be where I am without them.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Oh man, that is a tough question. There are a lot of booming authors out there right now. So much so, that it is tough to keep up. My favorite of late is the dark romance genre as a whole. So if it is dark, I will devour it.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Definitely Blushing Books Publications. I have books published with them, and I just adore the people and the authors.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Oh yes. It is what pays my bills. I do this full time.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I think I would say yes on every single book I wrote. I always feel I can make it stronger in some way. But eventually, you have to stop editing, stop tweaking, stop revising, and jump off the cliff.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Focusing on finishing. About half way through any book, my muse decides to come up with other ideas. So it is hard for me to finish.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I do. I go to several romance conferences as well as writer retreats. I love meeting authors and readers.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have had several. Blushing Books has some amazing artists working for them.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Not quitting when I wanted to.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

I always say that there are writers and there are authors. The main difference being is that an author has to focus on the business side. There is much more than just writing a book. Social media, branding, and networking are crucial. Start now if you haven’t already. I wish I had started before my first book even went live.

 

Alta Hensley

Alta Hensley is a USA TODAY bestselling erotic romance author who has had #1 top-selling books in Contemporary, BDSM, erotic science fiction, humor, and historical. She writes the naughty… and then the cure for it.

Being a multi-published author in the power exchange genre, Alta is known for her alpha heroes, sweet love stories, hot eroticism, and engaging tales of the constant struggle between dominance and submission.

Visit her website here:

www.altahensley.com

Amazon Author Page:

www.amazon.com/author/altahensley

Visit her on social media here:

Facebook: Alta Hensley Author Page

Twitter: @altahensley

Instagram: @altahensley

 

Other Titles by Alta Hensley

Dark Feather

Caring For Citrine

Traditional Love

Traditional Terms

Traditional Change

Poppa’s Progeny

In the Palace of Lazar – Harem (Book One)

Conquering Lazar – Harem (Book Two)

The Slave Huntsman

Ruby Rose

Of Yesterday

Captured by Time (with Carolyn Faulkner)

A New Forever (with Carolyn Faulkner)

Enrolling Little Etta (with Allison West)

The Nanny (with Allison West)

Little Secrets (with Allison West)

 

