Name : Alexandra Lee

Age : 22 (March, 31, 1994)

Where are you from : Nashville, TN

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  :

I mainly studied audio and video production during High School. But I also studied journalism, writing, psychology, and sociology during this time too. As of this time I don’t have plans for college. My mother passed away almost three years ago and I currently live with my father and my brother. I own two sweet dogs, Lucky who is a 13yr shih tzu and Schnabel who is a 3yr mix. Since writing is now my career I’ve got back into audio and video production as hobbies.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Evermore will be released November 5th and I’m hoping to have Kismet (book 2) out next year along with a couple other stories. I also plan to have my website and merchandise out next year too.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing books at the age of twelve. According to my father I have been talking about writing since the age of nine. It began in seventh grade when my math teacher showed up only six days out of the year. Smart phones weren’t invented until a year later so I decided to begin writing stories to pass the time. My hobby quickly became an obsession and now my career.

 

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve always considered myself a writer. I just never considered myself an author though as of this year I have written three full books. Finally holding my book in my hands is what will really make this feel real. Feel like I’m living my dream. That’s a feeling I wouldn’t trade for the world.

 

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book was never published and was a story about a girl and her dragons. I was a young child and had a vivid imagination. As for my first published book, Evermore, it’s been a story in the making for ten years. I wanted to write a vampire story that focused on vampires as a race. As a people. Not as creatures or monsters.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’d like to think so. My goal when writing is to make people think or feel differently. To change their perspective on something even if only for a little while. I used to exclusively write in first person but I’ve recently taken a liking to third person.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I reread two of my favorite poems (The Raven by Edgar Allen Poe and Fire and Ice by Robert Frost) before thinking about themes in my story.

The series is called Era of Dawn to represent a time of change and of new ideas. Evermore (the first book in the series) was chosen because it means forever. After reading the story I think people will understand the meaning. The other books in the series are Kismet, Revelation, Asunder, and Deviance.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I want people’s hearts to swell with joy. From the very moment they put Evermore down I want them to see their world a little bit brighter, to see it as something beautiful.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The entire book is fictional. All stories I write are entirely fiction. I prefer to keep real events out of my stories.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have read a lot of Shakespeare. Twelve plays so far. I really enjoyed Simon Holt’s The Devouring series. I love to be scared because I like to study and learn from my fears.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I don’t have a favorite author. Growing up my favorite was Richelle Mead and her Vampire Academy series. I loved her characters and even shed a couple tears after Shadow Kiss.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Of course.  And I feel so fortunate to say that I’m an author or that I’m able to do what I love as a career.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Most definitely but I feel that way about everything I do. If I didn’t want to change anything then I didn’t learn anything.

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

No, I was too young to remember. I’ve always wanted to write for as long as I remember.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’d be happy to however I can’t promise I won’t make changes to it later. I make a lot of changes.

 

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I find the entire process to be challenging but that’s why I love it. I always tell people that you have to be a masochist to be a writer.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not as of yet but I hope to in the future. I want to know my readers.

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

A friend provided the art but I did the lettering. I will eventually update the covers when I can afford to pay an artist.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Chapters 3, 4, and 20. I enjoy doing research but some chapters are just much more difficult than others.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned a lot but the most important lesson was to plan out thoroughly. Editing has not been a breeze.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

This is a difficult question because my lead is twin sisters. So either they’d have to use the same actress for both or find two similar looking actresses. However I adore Margot Robbie (Suicide Squad) and Ashley Greene was the model for one of my characters (Rosemarie in Era of Dawn : Revelation). Honestly, I’d have to meet the actresses myself and talk to them. I care about heart over talent. If someone isn’t passionate about something then they don’t tend to give it 110%.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

It’s a pain in the ass and the most rewarding thing you will ever do.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I love you for listening to me, and giving me your time. Time is precious and fragile. I can’t thank you enough for investing yours in me.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I don’t read very much personally.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No idea but I imagine it was probably Dr. Seuss.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

This is a very difficult question because there is so many things that make me laugh and cry. I think the best answer for this is people. Be it real or a type of media. The best example I could use for this is The Last of Us. There is so much emotion in that game.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Edgar Allen Poe. He’s a man of mystery and a brilliant story teller.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I want my children to cremate me like I did with my mother. However if I had to have a headstone I would want something funny on it. There are more than enough reasons to be sad. I want people to feel joy. Life’s too short to spend it in misery. So I would want my headstone to say something like “Smile for those of us that no longer can.”

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Always. My longest going hobby is video games. That was where I realized I loved stories. But my other hobbies include music production and video production.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I don’t watch television but my favorite TV show is easily Family Guy. That said I love anime because sometimes they have the best stories. When it comes to movies though I’ll watch anything. I have to say that my main source of entertainment comes from YouTube. I love youtube.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Top 3 Favorite Foods (In Order) : Yogurt, Pumpkin Pie, Steak

Colors : Depends on the day but I primarily enjoy Red, Green, and Blue (I don’t consider Black and White to be colors when asked this question because they go well with everything.)

Music : Music is a complicated subject for me. When writing I love to listen to Two Steps From Hell, Peter Gundry, and anything that keep the scene going in my mind . However in my everyday I enjoy Dubstep, Pop, and Rock though I’ve become picky as I’ve grown older.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Music production or Fashion Design. I have plans in the future to do these to some extent.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My website will not be launched until sometime in 2017 and I will make sure to update you as I go.

For now I have these:

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Alexandra-Lee-1189492161093444/

Twitter  : https://twitter.com/AlexandraRLee

(This one is the most important.) Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCATmTj4Y7VgIP9GMFpxYVrw

 

