Name K.M.Neuhold

Age 27

Where are you from Illinois (in the U.S.)

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I am currently a fulltime college student, studying Animal Science. I have a fantastic husband (who is the inspiration for many of the book boyfriends I write 😉 ). I also have an adorable dog!

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My latest news is the release of a new book in my series! My new book is called Hard to Resist (Sexy Nerd Boys, 3). Each book in this series can be read as a stand-alone.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing my whole life. When I was in middle school I was obsessed with writing high fantasy, but as I got older I got more into romance. I also dabble in some surreal fiction and horror that I’m not sure I’ll end up publishing or not.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve considered myself a writer since middle school when I spent all of my free time writing.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book- Worth the Wait (Sexy Nerd Boys, 1)- was inspired after I read a slew of romance novels with heroines so whiney and dependent on men that I couldn’t stand it another second. I wanted to write a kick ass woman who didn’t need a man in her life, but would certainly let one in- provided he could prove worthy.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’d say my writing style includes a lot of humor, heroines who are tough and even harsh at times, and happily ever after’s. My writing tends to be heavily character focused.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I wish I knew, lol. Usually the titles just sort of come to me sometime during the course of the story. In one case, I won a free cover from a designer and she asked for the title and I literally just came up with something on the fly.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I’d say that the overall message of my books is that nerds are awesome, and that love isn’t instantaneous, it takes work!

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I write with a mixture of exaggerated real life experience and complete fiction. I’d say it’s about 40% things I’ve experienced firsthand or heard about from others, and 60% totally made up.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have to say the Harry Potter series influenced my life the most. It got me into reading at a young age.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I love so many authors it’s hard to say! I think of the newer indie authors I know Riann C Miller is probably my favorite. I love the way she writes her characters. And Jemma Bell as well is an amazing indie author with hilarious characters that are super unique.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I’ve had huge support from two facebook groups: Struggling Authors Street Team and Services (S.A.S.S.)- these ladies are absolutely amazing. They take the time to help new indie authors build a following, organize events, pretty much anything you could possibly need help with. And, the other group has been Indie Author Support- they’re always there for support, encouragement, and to answer questions about the indie world.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, although it’s unfortunately not my only career as it fails to pay any bills at this point, lol. But hopefully one day it’ll be something I can focus 100% on.

 

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

In my latest book? No. In my first book, I was still learning the ropes and plan to go back and have it re-edited at some point in the near future.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’ve always been a day dreamer and I think, for me, that naturally lent itself to wanting to write. I have all these stories and characters in my head all the time just dying to get out.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s a little excerpt from my current WIP (note , this is a first draft and is not yet edited in any way!)

 

Chase

I elbow my way through the rowdy crowd at the mid-sized bar, trying to get as close to the stage as possible. I’m buzzing with excitement. My favorite band, Schrodinger’s Cat, only plays smaller venues around the city. And, they’re notoriously difficult to get tickets to. I bring the bottle of beer to my lips as I crane to try to get a better look at the stage. I can’t figure out why this band doesn’t have a deal with a major record label. And, they don’t tour anywhere outside of the state of Colorado.

The band emerges onto the stage and the entire crowd, including myself, goes wild.

As soon as my eyes land on the lead singer, Lila Jones, my heart stops. She’s the most breathtaking woman I’ve ever seen and she only seems to get better every time I see her. She’s petite with curves in all the right places, always making my mind wander to the things our bodies could do to each other. She’s definitely got the rocker chick look down with pink and blue streaks coloring her otherwise black hair. Tonight she’s wearing a pair of tight jeans that ride low on her hips and a purple corset that accentuates her cleavage. I shift my stance, trying to adjust the sudden bulge in my jeans from seeing her.

And, then she opens her mouth and starts to sing. Everyone falls silent, mesmerized by her voice. Not only do I, obviously, have an obsession with her looks, I also have a major music crush on Lila Jones. She writes all of the songs for the band and has a voice that gives me goose bumps, and often times a raging hard on. Her entire band is talented, but Lila is who everyone is here to see.

Rumor has it that she’s been dating her drummer for a few years, and it irritates me to see him winking at all of the half naked groupies, practically climbing on stage. Okay, maybe my crush is getting a little out of hand if I’m getting upset at her actual boyfriend for playing his part and flirting with the fans.

I get lost in Lila’s voice, the pain in her words, the perfect melody flowing from her lips. She’s absolutely mesmerizing.

In too short a time the show is over.

“I want to thank you all for coming out tonight and supporting us,” Lila says sweetly “If you hadn’t the question of whether or not we actually played would’ve remained unanswered.”

Her lips tilt up on a small smirk as a smattering of laughter breaks out in those who actually got her joke. Then she takes a dramatic bow before disappearing backstage with the drummer’s arm draped over her shoulder.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

My main challenge is finding time to write.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I’ve never had the chance to travel. Hopefully in the future I’ll be able to travel to author signing events and things.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I’ve had different designers for each cover, as I’ve tried to find a style that I feel fits me best. Cover Luxe Design and Mae’s Wicked Grafix have each designed a cover and are both wonderful to work with.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The way my brain works is that I tend to get ideas for all these funny and sexy scenes right off the bat when I first start to get to know the characters, so I write those down as fast as my fingers can type. Then the hard part comes in for me to actually develop the plot around the exciting parts.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I’ve learned a ton about indie publishing, I had no idea how complex the whole thing was before I started.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

He’s not an actor, but in my head when I was writing the male lead for Worth the Wait I was picturing Brendon Urie (lead singer of the band Panic! At the Disco) so that’d be pretty cool.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t get caught up in trends, write what speaks to you. The world has enough copy-cat writers, be original.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

You guys make my life. Never in a million years would I have thought anyone could love my characters the way I do, and then some of these crazy ladies came along and loved them even harder!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Today I’m reading Comfort Food by Sierra Riley

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I know the first book I memorized at age 3 and scared the hell out of my parents when they thought I could actually read was Go Dog, Go!

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

What makes me laugh is pretty much anything inappropriate.

What makes me cry is youtube videos of dogs being adopted or seeing their owners for the first time in years. Happy tears, but yeah blubbering like a baby.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

There are a million authors I’d love to meet. Oh, and Brendon Urie 😉

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I don’t want a headstone. I want to be cremated and have my ashes mixed with soil to grow a tree!

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading, lol.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m a total TV junkie so get ready for a long, eclectic list: Doctor Who, Supernatural, Orange is the New Black, Stranger Things, The Office, Friends, Sherlock, Parks and Recreation, Degrassi, Dawson’s Creek, and Family Guy…to name a few

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: chocolate peanut butter pie, pumpkin bread, bacon

Colors: Pink and blue

Music: Panic! At the Disco, 3Oh!3, and John Mayer

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Aside from being a writer I work in veterinary medicine

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My website is http://kmneuhold.weebly.com/ and I have a blog on there that I update with bonus scenes and sneak peeks!

 

Book links:

Worth the Wait (Sexy Nerd Boys,1) by K.M.Neuhold

She’s got issues. He’s got rules for his one night stands.

Can they break through the b.s. and find love?

 

Only $0.99 or FREE WITH KINDLE UNLIMITED

Amazon US: http://goo.gl/llTtJ7

Amazon UK: https://goo.gl/QEoMwL

Naughty Angel (Sexy Nerd Boys, 2)

What does a tattooed bad boy do with a naïve virgin? Teach her everything he knows, of course.

 

Only $1,99

Buy links:

Amazon: http://goo.gl/C80Lwa

B&N: http://goo.gl/XqeNAu

Apple: http://goo.gl/LdkfUs

Kobo: http://goo.gl/RzNa2T

 

Impossible Girl (Sexy Nerd Boys, 2.5)

The only thing more difficult than catching her is keeping her.

 

Buy links:

Amazon US: http://bit.ly/1XwIkYW

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1SBl1sw

Apple store: http://apple.co/1SgX1Bh

Nook: http://bit.ly/1Q8skXk

Kobo: http://bit.ly/1XwIdN5

 

Hard to Resist (Sexy Nerd Boys, 3)

Releasing 10/17!

She’s the one girl I wasn’t supposed to want. But some things are just too Hard to Resist.

Buy links:

Amazon: https://goo.gl/CQxyh4

Apple: goo.gl/rTWXfQ

Barnes & Noble: goo.gl/71yPsy

Kobo: goo.gl/geXshV

 

