Name – Suzanne Robb

Age – Old enough to know better

Where are you from

I am from Ontario originally. But I have lived all over the place: Illinois, Minnesota, California, Arizona, and now Quebec.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just released a book. It is called Dead by Midnight and is my attempt at urban fantasy, humor, mystery, and a touch of the paranormal.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

When I was about 6 years old I would make little books for fun. They had pictures and puzzles I would make. As I got older I wrote short stories. It was not until I was about 28 that I started to actually write and several years until I felt good enough to submit anything.

As a kid I wrote to keep myself busy. I was an only child. When I got older it was due to a friend motivating me because they thought my stories and imagination were entertaining. Once I started I found it to be relaxing and have not stopped.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I am not sure when I first thought of myself as a writer. Most days I do not think that even now. It is weird to think about.

If I had to choose a time when I took my writing more serious it would be when my first novel was published. That was a really nice feeling.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Boredom as a kid. As an adult it was the result of watching two movies and dreaming about a combination of the two. The idea would not leave me alone so I talked to a friend about it and they told me to write it down. The rest as they say is history.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not that I know of. I do try to have snappy dialogue and mix genres but do not think that qualifies as a writing style.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Titles are tough for me. My first book was titled by a friend. The book I released recently had several titles before I went with Dead by Midnight. Even now I am not sure it is the right title, but after 4 years I gave up J


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I want to say no, but I think the reason I wrote it was to challenge certain myths and play with them in a fun way. So, I hope anyone who reads it takes that away as well and find themselves questioning things and thinking about what would happen if they changed or looked at something differently.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The only realistic part of the book might be a few lines of dialogue about college life. Other than that the whole thing is made up.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

The Faraway Tree, A Wrinkle in Time, The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe, A Dirty Job, The Eyre Affair, Wicked. There are so many and each year the list grows.

I am not sure they influenced my life so much as helped to grow my imagination. Which I am forever grateful for.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

New authors – Rob Reid, Claire North, Isaac Marion. Again, it is a list that grows all the time.

A favorite author? That is an impossible question. I have so many. But what catches me about all of them is they write stories that challenge me, that are funny, or that create a world so well I can see it when I close my eyes. Any write that can take me away with their words is going to be a favorite.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

When I dream about it, but in reality it is not likely. Maybe one day.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Maybe the title? And that is not a joke. I have been working on this book for 4 years. I was changing things all the time and at one point I decided to just accept it as done. Which of course led me to writing a sequel, but that’s a good thing.


Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Like I said, my current book challenges or re-imagines a common myth. My main character Zach, is attacked by a wolf on the full moon. He bites it back. On the next full moon Zach turns into a wolf and the wolf that bit him turns into a man.

The rest is a lot of goofiness, misunderstandings, a serial killer, and a nosy reporter who loves all things strange and unusual.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Outlines. I know a lot of people use them and I have tried. Problem is when I write the story and characters always take me way off what I had planned. Usually this is a good thing.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Gary McCluskey did the covers – he is an amazing artist.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

All of it at some point. The whole process is hard and no matter what phase I am in, I always think it is the hardest one until I hit the next.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That I adore writing urban fantasy humor stories.

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

If Z-Boat were made into a movie I have no idea – maybe Kate Beckinsdale?

If Dead by Midnight were made – Zac Effron? (I have not really thought about it)


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

The usual – thick skin, write, and remember to read and learn grammar.
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Leave reviews. They do make a difference.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Girl With all The Gifts.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The Faraway Tree?

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laugh – Well written humor like Christopher Moore, David Sedaris.

Cry – any sort of animal cruelty.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

She really liked LEGOs.

Because I do love them. They keep me sane.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I woodwork, dabble in photography, LEGO, and read – a lot.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Firefly, Farscape, The Final Girls, Serenity, Clue, Alien, BSG, The Sarah Connor Chronicles, Flash, Supergirl, Freaks of Nature, The Money Pit…and the list goes on.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Foods – Quesadillas, enchiladas, chocolate, BBQ, salsa, and hummus. (not in that order)

Music – Andrew Bird, Magnetic Fields, Frightened Rabbit, George Ezra and lots of scores – Dredd, Pacific Rim, The Mission.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A wood worker maybe? I like to come up with random furniture ideas.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

https://suzannerobb.com/

https://lucylanereporter.wordpress.com/

Amazon link –

https://www.amazon.com/Dead-Midnight-Suzanne-Robb-ebook/dp/B01M13ZFWP/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1475288986&sr=8-1

 

Amazon author page –

https://www.amazon.com/Suzanne-Robb/e/B004YF9W0Q/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_4?qid=1475289406&sr=8-4

 

