Name Tina Piney

Age: 

I admit to nothing hahaha

Where are you from

I’m a Canadian, born and bred with English and Irish roots. I’m married with the most adorable twins you have ever seen!

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

This weekend I have sent two more submissions in. I was published in three different anthologies this summer and expect to be in five more by the end of the year.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t making up stories to entertain people though for a period of about twenty years I never wrote a complete one. As an adult, my short story writing began again at the tail end of 2014.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

This is kind of a strange answer because, as a child and teen I wrote poetry and was recognized a couple of times for it but I never referred to myself, really, as a writer until this year, 2016.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Near the end of 2014 there was an open call for a horror anthology. A friend and I (who used to write but wanted to get back into it) challenged each other to enter. My goal for 2015 was to see if I could get a short story published. I didn’t want to invest the money at this point to get an agent or pay to enter contests so I answered the open call. I was told the competition was stiff but “Chuckles” made the cut and I was over the moon!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No, although first person seems to work best for me. I become the character and am much more able to feel out who they are.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I think it may have been different for everyone so far. For “Chuckles” I named it after the main character. For others, as I am doing an outline, I hit upon a title that relates to it. For another I couldn’t decide between three titles so I took it to a writers group for a vote and for my most recent story I was having a laugh and trying to describe a strange situation and when I named the situation, I named the story.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

So far, no novel though I am fleshing out two different ideas currently. There is no unifying message throughout but I think a re-occurring theme is that I find dementia the scariest thing out there!

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I name most of the characters after people who are dear to me. The last one I completed had a main character named Jesse, in memory of my cousin who passed away a couple of weeks ago.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?

Clive Barker. I swear that I can walk inside the worlds he creates.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Clive will always be my favourite! Joe Hill, however has blown me away with his works so far. N0S 4A2 is one of my favourite books. Oh and let’s not forget the Lord of the Rings, the only book I have ever attempted to read in the shower.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My Friends, Particularly Tara W for her encouragement and editing and Dave G for his cheerleading and support.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Well, I would like to. I am new to the game. As I stated before, my goal for 2015 was to be published. My goal for this year was to be paid for some of my work and I am happy to report that I have been. And my goal for next year, 2017, is to see if I can make enough money to replace a part time job so wish me luck!

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I have been overjoyed by what’s happened with my stories so far. The couple of reviews on my latest anthology have both mentioned my story as a standout in a book of wonderful stories by talented people so, you know, woo hoo!

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My crazy active imagination!

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure, this is an excerpt from a story I just submitted for an upcoming anthology. I have yet to hear if it has been picked up by it’s only been a day. It is a horror story but I find this part pretty funny!

I must mention at this point that Annabelle, the fat lady, likes to work the blue moon into her act once a month. To say she is a fat lady is an understatement. The pride of the Blue Moon, she outweighs the biggest sideshow gal by 80 plus lbs. In our little family to be a standout among standouts is quite an accomplishment. Long story short, once per month, on the night of the full moon, she gets her favorite clown and sometime lover Chuckles to use his greasepaint to colour her enormous ass blue. For the folks who purchase the “full-moon special” it’s a real treat. After seeing her scarf down copious amounts of food, the crowd winds down ready to leave. She rises slowly from her perch and asks them if they saw the gorgeous full moon sitting so low the sky. She swore to the audience whist holding her right hand over her heart, she thought it could be a blue moon. The patrons think she is simply paying homage to the name of the venue. She then pivots as “The smallest man alive” Edward joins her on stage. She turns around, leans over and puts her weight on her stool while Edward reaches up to throw up her Mumu and expose her pantaloons. A drumroll starts and at its crescendo, Edward drops down her panties and the spotlight swings to reveal the full blue moon in Annabelle’s pants. By this time the crowd is roaring with laughter. Chuckles enters from the other side of the stage holding a torch. The crowd gets quiet in anticipation as Annabelle’s dimpled moon shines on. He lifts the flame to the heavens and asks if anyone has ever seen the blue angel. Nothing usually except a few titters from people that had previously witnessed the spectacle. Everybody’s eyes are cast upward as Chuckles holds the torch steady and a new drumroll begins. Simultaneously as the cymbals crash Chuckles swiftly lowers the torch even with Annabelle’s backside and with military precision Annabelle cracks off the loudest fart you have ever heard. It’s the kind of fart you would assume only someone of her girth could produce. The gas expelled hits the touch and suddenly Annabelle’s ass is a flame thrower.

It is truly something to behold and certainly worth the price of admission.

I go out of my way to see it every month, sneaking around the side of the stage just out of sight. The one time, a couple of years back, when Edward stood too close and had his eyebrows and mustache burned off I will always recount as one of the best moments of my life.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Editing. Lucky for me a friend helps me out.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not so far, no.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I am with three different publishers so it varies.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

There are times when I just can’t write and others when I find it hard to stop, it is such a fickle beast, this writing bug.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Ha-ha, that someone actually wanted to read my stories because I honestly wasn’t sure!

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

“The Keepers of the Knowledge” would be great for Angelina Jolie. She might not think the same though, nothing like reaching for the stars.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep trying and believe it can happen.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Write reviews!!!!

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished “The Fireman” by Joe Hill. Excellent book, even my mom liked it and she’s as picky as hell!

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No. I was reading before I entered Kindergarten and I read at least one book per week. It’s all a blur really.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

That depends on the day. I laugh more than I cry. My kids and pugs are hilarious.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Probably Clive Barker but then, what could I possibly say….

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Something funny. I’m so clumsy I expect death by a misadventure of some sort so probably just a description of it would suffice.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I like making things with my hands, exploring abandoned places and most of all spending time with my children.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

American Pickers and The Walking Dead

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite foods are thin crust cheesy pizza and coke slushies. I love blues colours and black. I like a lot of greys too. Music, depends on my mood. I love Eminem, AC/DC, Celtic music, just about everything but country. Nothing against it, just is not my thing.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Maybe sleep more or another creative outlet.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

You can find me at

https://www.facebook.com/authorTinaPiney/?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

Or

https://www.amazon.com/-/e/B016VTUA2G

 

