Name: Kristina M. Sanchez

Age: 34

Where are you from: Orange County, California

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I’m a Sociology major currently working for the county of Orange in benefits eligibility. I’m very close to my immediate family—my mother, brother, and sweet sister-in-law. Currently, I am only the mother of two cats. A fluffy old man named Mutt and a skittish, insaniac named Sirus Blackcat (she is a black cat). However, I’m currently working on starting a family.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have a new book coming out in October. Should be October 13. Spaces Between Notes


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I guess I’ve always made up stories. I used to dream up primitive Bugs Bunny fanfiction in my head to entertain myself because I was an insomniac even when I was tiny. But I began putting words to paper in elementary school. I loved writing assignments.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Probably when I was sixteen and started writing X-Files and Star Wars fanfic.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I’d written a bunch of stories using other people’s characters. I thought it was high time to try some of my own.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Third person


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Of my latest? Spaces Between Notes is pulled from one of my favorite songs by Ani Di Franco, Asking Too Much


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There are different ways to communicate, but communication is important regardless.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I would hope all the events are realistic. Besides the fact I’ve known a lot of people, men in particular, who are so allergic to feelings that it gets in the way of things they can accomplish and relationships they can have, none of the specific events happened to me or anyone I know.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Books in general have influenced me. I can’t really pinpoint a specific one. Books are a great way to get new ideas about the world, new perspectives. If a book can teach you anything, it’s that there’s always a story behind what people do. So something that looks inexplicable—how could they get themselves in this situation—makes perfect sense when you know the story behind it.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

New authors I’ve found recently are Kate Sherwood and Roan Parrish. Kate’s work can be very sweet and funny, but they have enough drama and angst to fulfil my need for a deeper story. Roan gives amazing angst, and I can’t wait to see what they’ll do.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My friends. I have a group of dedicated friends who read and critique everything I write. Everything. And that’s a lot of reading. These are a group of people who I can trust to tell me when something is off, and who understand my writing style well enough that they know what I’m trying to accomplish.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I really wish it could be. There isn’t much I wouldn’t give to be able to support myself by writing. But I can’t stop writing at this point, so I suppose it is a career, if not a lucrative one.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Only the process. I fell out of love with this book fairly early on, so it wasn’t any fun to write.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’ve always liked making up stories.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

A bit from Spaces Between Notes:

His rage had subsided, and Niko was beginning to realize how much trouble he was in. He let himself fall back on his elbows, tired and resigned to his fate. Destruction of property was at least a lighter sentence than murder, so there was that.

“Uh, hello? Excuse me?” The woman took a step away from her doorway. “Who did this? Did you do this?”

He wanted to ask her if she was stupid. There wasn’t anyone else around. Then again, he was just sitting there, staring at her. He supposed he could’ve played it off as though he’d chased the unknown offender away and gotten knocked down in the process.

It didn’t matter anyway. It wasn’t as though he could tell her anything.

“What the heck is wrong with you? Are you hurt?” She had her arms wrapped around herself, and she seemed reluctant to leave the doorway. Of course she was. It was the middle of the night, her windows were broken, and he was a strange idiot staring at her. She craned her neck so she could look him over, and her eyes widened. “Your hands are a mess. Are you hurt? I can call 911. I should call 911.”

Niko raised an eyebrow. Hadn’t she said she called the police when she came outside? A sane person would have called 911 after the second window shattered at the very latest. Then again, he wasn’t a good representative for all things sanity at the moment.

The woman was just figuring out he was, in fact, the one who had assailed her house when a car drove up. “Niko. Dammit, Niko.”

Jamie had found him.

Niko pushed himself to his feet, ignoring both his friend and the now understandably belligerent woman. He got in the passenger seat and closed his eyes to wait for jail or sleep, whichever came first.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

For some reason, I really hate describing people.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet. Hopefully soon!


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My friend Mina. She’s amazing.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

When I know key points but I have to patiently fill in the path to get there. I want to jump straight to good stuff!


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

You have to be in love with your story to write. Otherwise, it’s just a terrible job, and what’s the point of that?

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

Jensen Ackles. He’s a little old, but he’s who I pictured.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write every day. Anything. Even a little. Even ten words. Ten words today is more than you had yesterday.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. Really. There are days when you’re the only thing that gives me purpose.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I’m loving it.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Can’t say that I do.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Everything makes me laugh. I enjoy wittiness as opposed to dumb humor, but a lot of times all it takes to make me laugh is a look or the way something’s worded.

Cry? Practically nothing. I’m a robot. You have to really get me to care before you can make me cry.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Misha Collins. I just feel a kind of kinship with him. He came from a poor background, and speaks openly about issues he’s faced such as self-harm. Yet he is one of the kindest souls I’ve ever heard of. For me to know where he came from, to understand what his childhood must have looked like, and to see what he’s accomplished is nothing short of inspiring.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She had no regrets. Because I don’t believe in regret. Even your mistakes make you better as long as you’re learning.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Consuming fiction—books, movies, television. I love fictional worlds. I’m a huge nerd, and I find such happiness in stories.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Supernatural is my current obsession. I’ve also been big into the Marvel world lately, with an emphasis on the relationship between Captain America and the Winter Soldier.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food – shrimp, pho, anything thai

Color – Purple. I love purples and blues.

Music – Ahhhh I like lyrics. If you can grab me with good lyrics, it doesn’t matter the genre.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’ve finally found fulfillment in social work. I’m actively working on becoming a social worker, and I find that idea very rewarding.

But I also would have made a damn good lawyer.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

https://kristinamsanchez.com/

 Amazon Authors Page https://www.amazon.com/Kristina-M.-Sanchez/e/B00DYW5VWI/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1473626568&sr=8-1

https://kristinamsanchez.com/books/

