Name Eliza March

Age 70

Where are you from (born in Manhattan, lived in Westhampton Beach; Greenville, SC; Munich and Frankfurt, Germany; Minot, ND; Laon and Dreux, France; New Mexico; Florida.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’ve been married for almost 50 years to the same man, we have five children, all grown, three grandchildren, and several grand animals. I have a background in promotion, journalism, library science, and English.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m getting ready to retire. My husband and I are looking to downsize from a very large house to an RV. We’re not too sure how that’s going work. But we plan on traveling for a while, and I plan on writing while we’re doing it.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I only began seriously writing about 10 years ago. Like everything else I do, I put a lot of research into it. Of course the been writing for most of my life, even in my career. But I hadn’t been writing fiction, and that became my new goal.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Well I guess I’ve always considered myself a writer, but I didn’t think of myself as an author until I got that first contract nine years ago.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first idea was inspired by a picture I saw. My mother had recently died and it reminded me that she was a Gemini, and then I went from there to thinking Geminis are twins, and the whole concept of twin-souls touched me. So without knowing what I was doing. I kind of outlined that book. But because it had been inspired by my mother, I was truly afraid to write it. So I decided to practice with another idea. I sat down and wrote my idea of a scene, and then went to dinner with my husband and two sons and read it aloud over meatloaf at the restaurant. They were very encouraging with their blank stares and their mouths opened. I have a tendency to use a lot of adjectives and adverbs and description that don’t sit well with men. My youngest son just looked at me and said, “Wow, sounds good; but its way over the top.” I think that’s the most he’s ever said to me in his life. From there, I learned how to cut back on my descriptives. I took classes and learned how to write.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I think I may have a specific writing style. I’ve been working at that a little more over the last few years. If there’s anything I could say that is my style, it would probably be the rhythm of my writing. I work very hard at making the beat, the measure, the speed, similar to music, to poetry. That being said, there’s also a little smart ass thrown in.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The titles of all my books are ideas running through my head at all times. Making a decision on what title to use and exactly the wording doesn’t really happen until I’ve decided that this book is actually going to get written. I love titles that are take-offs of common things. One of my most popular books started out as the Lion, the Leopard and the Wolf. I really think my great sales for that book were because of the title. Due to a change in rights, the new title is the Leopard, the Lion and the Wolf, but it hasn’t changed its popularity at all.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

No. If some English teacher were to try to sit down and analyze what the author meant in any of my books, it would be pure speculation because I had no intention of sending a message at the time. I do believe my experience with people has been a benefit to me in characterization. And those characters act out within the scenes as I believe characters of their types would.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

As I’ve said in my bio, I grew up in a military family. We traveled around the United States and lived in Europe several times. Locations play a big part in the stories I write, but none of the characters are characters I’ve ever known; they’re composites, as are the stories, which are mostly from my imagination or from things I wonder about. Many of my stories are paranormal…and I have yet to meet a vampire or werewolf. (Darn!)

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Summer reading always consisted of Nancy Drew mysteries. As I got older, I read Leon Uris’s Exodus, and other books by him and authors of the times.  I read El Cid on the beach in Barcelona when I was 15, and Ann Frank was a favorite of mine on a trip to the Netherlands. And of course, many of the classics. So I believe, that beginning established a pattern in my life. When I was in college, I worked part-time in the library. My job was finding the missing books. It was a tedious job, but the thing I liked most about it was having access to every part of the library, and the mystery. I was like a detective tracking down the books, gathering clues, and putting it all together until I found them. I even had access to the archives in the basement–a fascinating place.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

JK Rowling. I attribute her opening up my adult imagination enough that I actually began writing fiction. Although I’ve read it over the years, I never considered writing it. Harry Potter is my hero. I know it’s hard to believe from an author who writes erotic romance, but it’s true.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Karen Roma. We met early on in my career when I was at a convention, and she bought one of my books. I think it may have been my first book. My dear Australian friend has continued to support me, become my street team leader, and at times, my critique partner. I couldn’t ask for a more supportive fan.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes I do. I write every day or edit every day. I promote. I study. I analyze. As this strange world of publishing keeps changing, I keep adjusting.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Sure. I think that’s always the case. I try not to think about it too much, or I’d never be able to go on to the next.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I think I started writing poetry before I started writing stories. And before I seriously started writing fiction, I took a creative writing course at a local college, and the first assignment was poetry–reading it and writing it. It totally freaked me out…the idea of having to write a poem, and using a specific style. But the lessons were completely beneficial.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’m writing a book called Dire Wolf for Decadent Publishing, their Hot Moon Rising series, inspired by Desiree Holt. My story is about Lucas McDougal, a dire wolf from the Isle of Ayre in Scotland. Hunky Highland hero. His younger sister, Grace has been attending art school in Sarasota, Florida, but goes missing, and as the pack enforcer, he is assigned by his father to track her down. Once he arrives in Sarasota, he’s met by Laurel Finnegan, a representative from the local Moonlight pack. She and several other members of the defenders agency have volunteered to help him find Grace. Lucas is amazed to discover himself unusually drawn to Laurel and she to him. So while they fight their attraction, they’re also fighting off jealousy when the full moon approaches, and sexual interest within the pack rises. Tracking Grace’s abduction to another pack, Laurel and Lucas uncover a plan to take over all the local wolf packs and bring them under one leadership. Moonlight’s goals are good, Starwood’s aren’t. There’s lots of sex and bad guys, and action. And because it’s a romance I guarantee a happily ever after.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Writing short is a challenge. Many of my books are novella., I find the novels much easier to write. Given the time,  a hundred thousand words is easier to write and cut back than condensing a story into its most crucial and interesting plot and using just the right words. I have to take a story down to its least common denominator in order to write a novella. It’s hard. If there are a lot of characters–everybody has a story.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I travel about once a year. Next year I do plan on traveling more, and as I said, I’m thinking about selling the house buying an RV and hitting the road. When I do, I’m going a start visiting everybody I know, and every little bookstore between here and there, where ever that might be.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

When my books were published with publishing houses, and when they are published by publishing houses, they have artists who take my suggestions. My independently published books–I’ve done the artwork on most of them myself. My son is an electronic graphic artist professionally and critiques me over my shoulder. I have a long way to go.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part of writing every book I write is the middle. I usually know where it starts and I always know where it ends. It’s tying that front to the back that becomes the challenge, because maintaining pace and keeping the interest of the reader is important as I am throwing conflicts at my hero and heroine while trying to keep them from achieving their goals.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learn something from writing every book I write. I love doing the research. And I love studying my craft.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

I have a few heroes that Jason Mamoa could portray just fine.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

I have a lot of advice for writers. I’m full of opinions on the industry since I’ve spent the last 10 years also editing for a publishing house. So yes. Visit my blog, visit my website, I usually have something on writing weekly.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes. Please sign up for my newsletter. Please friend me on Facebook and talk to me. I enjoy people who want to talk to me about my books. This is what I do by myself and to have somebody else enjoy it with me is a pleasure. So if you enjoy my writing come and talk to me about it. I’d love that.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Not Quite Perfect by Catherine Bybee. We go back to the beginning of her career and my career. I don’t usually enter her contests, I buy her books…but I accidentally won this ARC while commenting on her page, and without realizing it put my name into the drawing. So I’m thrilled, one that I won anything, and two to get a crack at this before anybody else does.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The Pokey Puppy.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My oldest son is a total comedian. I’m not a big crier, but I’ve done my share.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

My late Irish, great grandmother on my maternal grandmother’s side. I am an avid genealogist so there are  many questions I have for her.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Matter can neither be created nor destroyed. I am in the wind.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Genealogy.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

All sci fy and Madame Secretary.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Pizza/Purple/Celtic

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I did it.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? http://elizamarch.com

 

Eliza March, Author

 

 Buy at MY KOBO PAGE

 Visit MY iBOOK PAGE

 Stop by MY NOOK PAGE

 Link to MY SMASHWORDS PAGE

 Follow me on My PAGE at Amazon

 Website Eliza March writes…

Interesting Information

 

1 – What inspires you to write? Waking up in the morning with an idea. Where the characters move the story forward or solve the mystery or just a problem we’ve been dealing with. Sometimes it all comes together and other times the awakening is slow and tedious. What actually inspires me is getting to know the characters and helping them evolve.

2 – What is important in your work: characterization or plot? Dialogue or Narrative? Balance in all things. Nothing survives without a good balance of each. Does plot drive character or does character drive plot? I put my characters into my plot and sometimes  they change it. As I get to know them more, I realize I didn’t know them well enough to plan out their reactions when I began…so they showed me who they really were once confronted with the conflict.

Dialogue, good dialogue moves the story forward and determines the story’s pace, but you can’t have a bunch of talking heads spewing great dialogue in a vacuum. Where are they? Why are they there? What are they doing? Are we able to read their actions or facial expressions because words are only part of dialogue. Yes…balance is the answer. Getting it is the challenge.

3 – It’s no secret you began writing later in life. What inspired you? Reading. Time. Ideas. I was winding down a lifetime career and developing a book a day habit. Harlequin kept sending me those book club reads and they weren’t enough. I had a used book store around the corner from my house and a library on the way to work. I had my middle age depression under control. Then I began thinking of stories that should be written. (They may have been for all I know.) and I examined the romance template. I recognized the pattern from book to book and figured I could write. I’m still laughing. Maybe some authors can just sit down and write, but I discovered writing well means honing your craft and until I learned what was wrong I couldn’t make it right. Nine years later, I can say I’ve learned about the industry from the inside out. I’ve edited for all these years and still need an editor for my own work…not for the periods and commas…for the balance.

4 – One thing readers would find unique or interesting about you: There’s nothing I’m not interested in. My past is full and rich and blessed. I’ve been married forever, have several grandchildren, and my children live in enough states I have a places to visit coast to coast. After spending my whole young life moving (military family) I decided to find a place and never move again. Now I want to hit the road in an RV. Never say never!

5 – What are you working on now? My works in progress:

I’m playing hooky from writing Dire Moon for the Hot Moon Rising series by Decadent Publishing. I have an upcoming deadline, so that will take priority over a few of my other works. My IATO series is calling to me. There’s a big hot man who’s been without a conclusion too long, but he’ll have to wait until I put out the first in my Gemini Prophesy series. The Power of the Light is the book that started everything for me as a writer. The concept came to me like a vision, but I knew I wasn’t capable of doing it justice. Years later, one large NY publisher was interested, but due to unforeseen circumstances, the deal fell through. The book is almost ready, but I’m not sure I’m ready to send it out into the world yet. There are three more Gemini Prophesy books in the fantasy series outlined and unwritten. There’s more, but that’s what you should see from me in the coming year.

 

CONTACT LINKS

 

Twitter ID> https://twitter.com/elizamarch

Personal Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/elizamarchwrites

Author Facebook Page> https://www.facebook.com/authorelizamarch

Blog link> http://blogspot.com/elizamarch

Website link> http://www.elizamarch.com

 

Goodreads author page>

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2945689.Eliza_March 

 

Yahoo group or link to join personal newsletter>

https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/ElizaMarchFans/info

and elizamarchfans-subscribe@yahoogroups.com

Author Bio 9/07/16

 

About the Eliza March

 AWARD-WINNING AND BEST-SELLING AUTHOR, Eliza March lives in Florida with her husband. She enjoys traveling with a good book, writing, and genealogy. Exotic locales still influence many of her stories, but romance is the fuel for her soul.

 

A NOTE FROM ELIZA… Different schools, different languages, different cultures. I grew up in a military family, lived in far-away places, and spent way too many hours visiting castles, believing that when I grew up, chandeliered ceilings, sconce lit halls, and mirrored ballrooms would be just downstairs from my master suite in the turreted tower with the prince of my dreams.

Fortunately, the experiences became fodder for my imagination and material for my books’ descriptive locales, and I found my forever prince.

Now that I’m settled with children, grandchildren, family and friends—those roots I longed for all my life are deeply planted in Florida sand. Although there was a time I resented moving, the gypsy in my blood keeps me traveling now. The places I lived in my past greatly influence the stories I tell, and the stories I tell make me long to visit the imaginary places I create.

I either write or edit every day with the assistance of my cat and the support of my husband—both are invaluable to my writing in their own way.

“Romance: food for the soul, sanity for the mind, libation and escape for the captive heart.” ~~~Eliza March

 

