Name:  Julian Coleman

Age: Indeterminate

Where are you from: Richmond, VA

Happily married to a military colonel. We live in an old home that I suspect is haunted. I share my husband with a snooty Dingo who could stand to lose a few pounds. I wear a huge gothic cross and I never take it off.  It’s for protection! 😀

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m currently working on the second book in the Prophet’s Mother trilogy. The book is written but I need to add the spit polished shine before handing off to my editor.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I had no choice. I had to get the nightmares out. When I go to sleep, I’m not sure what kind of night I’m going to have, but it doesn’t keep me up. I just hope for the best and take the plunge.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

At age nine or ten.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wrote several many manuscripts, all submitted and rejected, but the first book is, Cesar. It was rejected by publishing houses too, but I self-published on Amazon and Smashwords and it eventually won an award.  Inspiration? The main character was modeled after a former lover. I used to tell him that he drained the life right out of me. Believe me, the vampire/demon is much nicer.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I read Stephen King quite often. I would say that he taught me how to write. I’ve been compared to him.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Anne Rice – another writer that has influenced my style.  Her titles include the word, Chronicles. It sounds elegant.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The weak are not always powerless. In every evil situation the source of salvation is true love – sisterly, motherly, romantic – it does prevail.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The real Cesar was sensual, hypnotic, and addictive. It was amazing because I loved most the little things about him – like the way he spoke or his scent. He was so alluring that I had to capture his personality in print.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

My favorite all time reads are Salem’s Lot, by Stephen King and Interview with a Vampire, by Anne Rice. They each took Bram Stoker’s vampire story and twisted it into something remarkable.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have read the works of several writers. I particularly love the writers whose styles are different than my own. I’ve devoted a webpage to those folks.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Outside of family? Truthfully, when you say entity I hope you’re referring to a person? My publicist, Renee Shaw has been my chief cheerleader. I would’ve given up if I hadn’t found her. It was only a matter of time. My finances had started to dwindle and I was finding it difficult to self-publish – there are so many hooks and crooks and barriers to success.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Oh no, but that doesn’t mean I will stop writing. I have several stories floating in my brain and I have to let them out or they will drive me crazy.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Stolen Prophet? No. It’s a story about maternal love. She traded her power in for humanity and now she has to become inhuman again to save her son.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

The monsters in my nightmare demanded release! Seriously though, writing does relieve the pressure. If I don’t write the plots/dialog/love situations would haunt me relentlessly.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The working title is Malevolent Impulses, The Prophet’s Mother – Book 2. It is a continuation of the police investigation as they attempt to keep a rescue from being a body recovery. In the midst of searching for young Victor Adamson, they also have to deal with the occult happenings in the city as his mother pursues his kidnapper(s) in her own macabre way.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding the time has been the most challenging thing for me. Not only do I work full time, but I’m also a child advocate volunteer. I love my job and I enjoy standing up for abused and/or neglected children. I’ve been an advocate for them for almost 10 years.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Google says no and Google is right.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My current illustrator is Melinda Burt. She is also a writer and I need to add her to my Favorite Author’s webpage.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Deciding on a title and naming the characters. That part is tough.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes, that it’s easy to transfer my nightmares into print. The Shadow creature in Stolen Prophet was directly lifted from a nightmare. I remember waking (wasn’t sure if I had actually slept) and seeing that thing and feeling the hate roll off it like sweat. The feeling was worse than the seeing. I remember snuggling up to my husband and shivering from fear. All I could think of was demon. This is true – not a made up story.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

We can dream, can’t we? Never thought about it. No clue.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Only what Steve Harvey said, “Don’t stop chasing your dream.”

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. You are appreciated.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Sacrifice by Cindy Pon.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, I don’t. I love to read and started reading before I actually made friends.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Sweet family commercials. They tug at the heart strings.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

My grandmothers – one passed away before I was born and the other when I was a young adult. They were married to less than desirable men, but served as the backbone to their families. They were housewives and each had 10 children. They were patient and kind and loving.  I AM NOT THAT STRONG.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She tried to make the world a better place than she found it. Because it’s true.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I did some fencing, but I love the endorphin rush from distance running. My bones are old, but I hope to do a 13 miler in a couple of months and a full marathon in March.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love British mysteries, ID Discovery and haunted ghost stories (because apparently my life just isn’t scary enough?).

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Chocolate, Black, Various – from some classical (Mozart) to Rap (not the woman-hating/demeaning rap music).

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

My brain cannot comprehend that scenario. I can’t imagine who I would be now without a story floating around in my brain.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? www.juliancoleman.net

 

Amazon Authors Page https://www.amazon.com/Julian-M.-Coleman/e/B008Y2S6X4/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

