Name Charlaine Harris

Age 64

Where are you from

Tunica, Mississippi

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I am a graduate of Rhodes College in Memphis, TN. Rhodes has presented me with an honorary doctorate. I have been married for 38 years, and I have three adult children, two grandchildren, and one grand-stepson.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Sorry, my latest news is still under wraps.

 

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I always wrote, but making a living had to come first when I graduated from college. When I met and married Hal, he offered me the option of staying home and writing. It was a golden opportunity, and I made the most of it.

 

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I always considered myself a writer. It was my secret identity.

 

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had to prove I could do it.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Doesn’t everyone have her own writing style? I am not sure what this means.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Which title? The Sookie novels all had “Dead” in the title, which after a while became really tedious. Most of the other titles I came up with on my own, but occasionally my editor would suggest a better option.

 

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes. But if I have to explain it, I didn’t make it clear enough.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I try to anchor all my books, even the supernatural ones, in reality. Every writer is a real collector of dialog and personality, so I suppose many of my characters are composed of bits and pieces. Of course I use events in my own life to inform my books, some more than others.

 

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I can’t claim to have a mentor, but there are MANY books that have influenced me. Jane Eyre, Pride and Prejudice, The Fourth Wall, Interview with the Vampire, everything by Elizabeth Peters and Mary Stuart, and countless mystery writers from Mignon G. Eberhart to Robert Crais.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

That’s a big question, and I would probably answer it differently every day of the week. Hands down, the most exciting author I’ve read recently is Daniel O’Malley; The Rook and Stiletto are just fantastic. Anne Bishop has been writing for years, but I think her series about Meg Corbyn is a real triumph of the imagination.  My favorite authors include but are not limited to Diana Gabaldon, Robert Crais, Lee Child, Margaret Maron, Leigh Perry, Dana Cameron,  Mike Carey, Ben Aaronovitch . .

 

.
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

God

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. That’s what it is. It’s both an avocation and a career.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. It’s pretty destructive to look back with regrets. There’s not enough time to waste on futile emotions.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I love to read, have always loved it.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’m writing another Aurora Teagarden, which will follow this October’s All the Little Liars.  It’s fun to be back with Aurora again after so many years.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Everything about writing is challenging, and that never changes no matter how many books you write. This is not easy. I guess I always find the middle of the book the hardest.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Yes, I do. I think it’s important to attend a couple of conventions a year, if only to see your peers face to face and reconnect with readers. Also, my publisher sometimes sends me on tour. That’s exhausting, but also exciting. And my foreign publishers have brought me to Europe, Australia, and the UK for signings there.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Lisa Desimini has designed many of my covers, particularly the Sookie books. Sometimes it’s the art department of the publisher.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

There are hundreds of choices to be made every day when you’re writing a book. You simply have to be confident you are making the right choice, but that can be difficult.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I always learn something from every book. Experience is a great teacher.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Well, many of my books have made it to television, which is very lucky for me. I have good agents. I don’t try to cast the productions, even mentally, because either I pick a person who would never do television, or an actor who already has a good job, or someone the casting director would never choose. That’s kind of fantasy thinking.  You should always want the best actor, not the person that looks most like your mental image of the character.

 

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Get an agent. Be happy with your own company. Shut the door and do the work

 

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Enjoy! That’s all I want. I’m in the entertainment industry.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Right now I’m reading a book in the romance category, by Katie Ruggle, called Fan the Flames. I have really enjoyed this series of books, maybe because Ruggle writes the action part of the books just as well as the relationship part.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Gosh, no. So long ago.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I laugh easily. I don’t cry much. The last time a book made me cry, it was Charlie Huston’s A Dangerous Man. I cried in an airport. Embarrassing.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would love to see my mother again.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

That’s up to my heirs, I guess. “She tried hard,” is all I have.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading is my favorite. Jigsaw puzzles, crossword puzzles.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

“Justified” was great. I’m looking forward to the January debut of “Midnight Texas.” “The Americans.”  “The Walking Dead.” And “Project Runway”!

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I can’t imagine anyone else caring about that.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Librarian. At least I’d be around books all the time.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://charlaineharris.com/ is my website, I blog for the Femmes Fatales, and I check my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/CharlaineHarris/  and GoodReads every day for questions.

Amazon Authors page USA https://www.amazon.com/Charlaine-Harris/e/B000AQ04CS/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1#

UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Charlaine-Harris/e/B000AQ04CS/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1473417236&sr=1-2-ent

