Name Robert James Bridge

Age78

Where are you from Southend-on-sea,Essex Uk. Joined Army at Sixteen and spent five years as an army bandsman playing cornet. Worked for local bank for many years before retiring. I have Two sons (married) and One Daughter (Married) plus eleven grandchildren.I spend most of my spare time writing these days.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have six books on Amazonkindlekdp select and am in the process of rewriting a novel I penned some years ago entitled S.W.A.L .K Sealed With A Loving Kiss.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I have always enjoyed English and with a vivid imagination this came to the fore when I retired some years ago.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My love of writing and the hopes one day for recognition in such a competitive world.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to write my stories in a scrap book ie the characters and the story as it expands in my mind, then put it on my computer before checking it for mistakes.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I would say titles in my case ?.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I think the message is enjoy and not be critical of someone who has spent many hours perfecting a story.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No Not really save for Kinmel Revisited Historical Fiction which was given to me by a dear departed relative who I promised one day to write the story of an era many have forgotten?.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

A Great many books possibly too many to mention since I write Crime ,Historical Fiction and now Irish Romance (I Hope).

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

.Dan Brown comes to mind as well as many others, but Although I do read I am more of a writer Than a reader?.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

None so far since I am an introvert so it is hard for me to advertise my writing. Support would of course be more than welcome to any struggling Author.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes a career young writers should engage with and never give up. Rejection is a big part of writing and you must be able to take rejection and try again and again  just like I have done most of my writing career.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No not really I feel after all the hard work it is acceptable in my mind but of course many others will not feel this?.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Yes at school many years ago as I sat in class wandering into another world,a world I got told off about many times,but a world of imagination!.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Yes of Course, My book is of Irish Romantic Fiction set in a time of the troubles in Ireland. The story is of a young lady from a strict Irish backgound who falls in love with a army officer who is married. Margot finds she is pregnant and alone as her lover gets killed in an explosion and the only person she can talk to is Mary her boss at the hat shop she works in. At a later date she meets and marries another soldier but during her hard time she is confronted by a drunken step father.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I have to go back to my story any times to get rid of mistakes and this of course takes time.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No not really since they have hardly ever been seen by the public, which is of course a shame? but as a introvert I find it hard to explain my writing.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The two historical fiction covers I paid for at the cover collection online and the crime stories were designed by myself with help from a designer.

 

 


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I think time was hard since as the saying goes life goes on,but also the hardest part is of course rejection and going back to rewrite each and every word to clear any mistakes.

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned a lot in that nobody gets publication unless you have something special, but if you enjoy what you do then who cares?.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

At my age no but I do know many I would cast if it ever happened?.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yes, If you love hat you do never ever give up,its your story and your writing and something special that many folks would love to do,so please keep at it even if you get rejected.?.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Just many thanks for reading of a struggling author like yourself maybe,and who knows maybe one day it will be your turn for fame?.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now? 

Dan Browns Inferno.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Gosh I think it was Pinocchio

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I like to laugh when I see how the world is changing, and cry at the sadness that is told almost each and every day. For cancer victims children as well as grown ups. And hope one day for a cure.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Yes J.K.Rowling to see how she made it in this ruthless book world?.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

He tried so many times and never gave up regardless. Take his advice and keep writing!.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Well writing is my main hobby these days but I do enjoy my football.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Mostly crime ,game shows, Documentaries, True stories and history.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

favorite food fish and chips. Color Blue and music of any description.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have loved to continue with my music since I did play cornet in an army band for five years and went to the school of music during that time.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I would of course love a blog or website but at 78 I find it hard to get started so need some help with this. Writing comes to me but the technology today is kind of hard for me, so if you know anyone who can help me with this I would be eternally grateful?.

 

Amazon Page https://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=dp_byline_sr_ebooks_1?ie=UTF8&text=Robert+James+Bridge&search-alias=digital-text&field-author=Robert+James+Bridge&sort=relevancerank

