Name Rick Pipito

 

Age

A few weeks shy of 38 years young

 

Where are you from

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I graduated from Temple University in Communications.  My wife is in the public eye, so I get to taste her amazing food firsthand, and I’m the father of two amazingly fun and smart kids.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just released my 9th novel “Devoured Universe.”

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing since I was 15 years old.  It started with music, but when band schedules became too difficult to juggle, I redirected my writing towards stories.  I’ve just always felt the need to vent that way, and it became something that I knew I enjoyed as a creative outlet.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When my first novel came out in 2010, I knew it wasn’t the last.  Many more ideas were brewing within.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I sort of did it as a joke.  I’d always been near people who would tell what they would do if there were a zombie outbreak.  After hearing all of the answers I thought about how many different takes there were on undead lore, and figured I’d write a book that included them all, but made sense as to how different versions exist.  It stopped being a “joke” halfway through when I realized I could do so much more with writing than just “zombies.”

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I have been compared to a few authors, but don’t particularly stay with one style or genre.  It depends on the scenario I’m writing, as to how it is delivered.  I’m always trying new things, but keep with a very descriptive visual.  I like the readers to be able to “see” it in their mind as if they were watching a tv show or movie.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The titles of the novels in my main series all have a food theme that relates to the subject. IE (SOULS 4 SUPPER was ghosts, DEVIL’S DESSERT was demons, BONES AT BREAKFAST was werewolves.)  Since my wife had her foodie adventures going on, and they worked hand in hand with fuel for my writing, it was my way to pay tribute in a way, and have a catchy series of titles.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Each novel has its own message in a way.  DEVOURED UNIVERSE is about coping with what is coming in the future.  We can’t face the future unless we understand the present, but to understand the present we must know the truth about the past.  It’s very relatable in today’s society.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I try to keep my novels grounded in a way that feels real.  The characters are extremely relatable, and often are based on personalities that I’ve come across or know.  Some of the main characters act the way I would in certain situations, and are a combination of my experiences.

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Early Stephen King got me going.  I know that’s cliché, but it’s true.  Then when I grew into adulthood I found that the Area 51 series by Bob Mayer was what made me love reading and writing.  I don’t really have a single mentor, but my mother was/is a writer and well versed in reading, so if I had to chose it would be her as my main person to make proud.  If she says it’s garbage, it probably is.  If she says it’s great, then I believe her.  Both of these have been the case, and I make sure to correct anything based on her honesty and also want for a good book.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

As a writer I don’t have much down time to read.  I do catch audiobooks more often than actual text, but I do what I can to keep up with my favorites.  Those would be the aforementioned Bob Mayer, as well as Dan Brown.  Their stories just continue to captivate me and as a fan I’m happy to read them, but they also have a way of making the reader think after they are done reading.  Each time I’m left eager for the next release.

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I have a few close friends and fans who have been amazing support.  Social Media is an interesting thing.  It can be a great way to spread the word and see who helps you do that.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely.  There are many levels to writing, so it doesn’t necessarily have to be just in books.  I occupy myself with my own writing, editing other works, researching, and organizing scripts for various projects.  It’s definitely not an easy job and occupies a lot of time, but I love every second of it.  There’s never a day off, but when you love it the way I do, you don’t really need a vacation from it because vacation becomes a part of it.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I’ve been very happy with all of my works.  If there was one thing I’d change it would be in my first novel FLESH AND LEFTOVERS.  It was the only one that I didn’t have an editor for initially, and though I had proofreaders, there are a couple grammatical mistakes that have made me cringe.  One day I’ll rerelease it and correct those things.

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I read comic books and watched movies a lot as a boy.  From as early as I can remember I just loved stories and how emotionally attached you can become to them.  Back then I didn’t know I’d be a writer, but I was constantly coming up with plotlines when I’d play with my brother and friends.  I guess it started there.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 

The opening paragraph from DEVOURED UNIVERSE: “Have you ever wondered about the meaning of life?  I have.  In fact, most people have.  Why are we here?  What secrets lie out there in the stars?  To comprehend that which the future holds we must understand the present. Understanding the present in its entirety means that we must know the past.  The past is something cohesive, yet in separate terms.  Nothing that we have learned so far is what it seems.  Everything in our history books and classes is only a partial truth.  People teach what they will because they try to push an agenda, whether it be political or for religious purposes.  Beliefs interfere with facts no matter which side of the argument you stand on.  So what does it all mean?  In other words, we cannot face the future head on without understanding the past.  For some people this means they live day to day only appreciating what they have, but not seeing the full picture.  They live only in the present.”

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Time management.  I do well with it, but I’ve quite literally 3 books going in my head at a time.  While I’m writing one, I’m brainstorming the next, and conceptualizing the one after that.

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

So far I haven’t travelled far in terms of needing to go somewhere.  I’ve used places I’ve been as settings and points of interest.  I do like to research at museums and historical sites, and there are a list of places I will end up traveling to for future works.

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My brother does all of the covers.  We ping ideas off each other and try to keep a common theme if it’s a trilogy.  He’s an amazing artist.

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Each novel is different.  For DEVOURED UNIVERSE it was the unknown factor.  I went full on Science Fiction, so while everything was based in the facts, I had to use imagination and theory to really get into the core of the novel.  I didn’t want it to be so sci-fi that its unrelatable, but also wanted to push the boundaries.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I changed up my marketing strategy a bit.  I’ve been in the top 25 and top 100 lists of authors before, but I haven’t had the presales that this one garnered before release.  It’s sometimes hard to keep up with marketing trends, but is important to stay on top of them.

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Ooh, that’s a tough one.  I could see Bradley Cooper as Gordon Lightcap, Dwayne The Rock Johnson as Darius Moon, and Camilla Belle as Moira Donatelli.

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Listen to your critics.  As much as you may hate any negative feedback you should take some of it into your thought process.  Just because something pleases you doesn’t mean it will please the masses.  Get other opinions before trying to publish your works, and make sure those opinions aren’t just family members.  Get outsiders involved.

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? 

Thank you and make sure to post a review up on Amazon or Lulu; if you haven’t already.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

“Alex Cross, Run” by James Patterson

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

It was “The Eyes of the Hammer” by Stephen King

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My kids.  They are the two funniest and happiest kids I know, and because I’m a parent that loves them more than anything, it is emotional when they are hurt or struggle with something.

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’d love to meet Sammy Hagar.  I think he’d be a blast to hang out with, chat, play music, drink, and cook with.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

This may sound crazy, but I’d love to have some sort of slot built into my grave, so that aspiring writers could drop ideas into.  On my headstone I’d have “Continuing to write from beyond.”  or something like that.  I think it would be a bit inspirational to some, and allow me to continue beyond my years.

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I’m a musician and singer.  I play saxophone, guitar, harmonica, and piano; and have been writing/playing music since the 3rd grade.  I also enjoy a good video game now and again, as well as food and drink tastings.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m a sucker for Comic book related TV and films, but love action, suspense and comedy for the most part.  Mysteries at the Museum with Don Wildman is one of my go to things to watch when I’m looking to be inspired.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music 

Anything cooked by Roberta of Homemade Delish.  Okay, so she’s my wife, but she never ceases to amaze me with food.  Color would be green.  And I listen to music depending on my mood.  Aerosmith, Van Halen, Dean Martin, BB King, LMFAO, and anything new or old.

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Music.  I had a chance a while back at being signed with a major record label.  Before it was about to happen the band ended up parting ways, and the chance never happened.  I could have pursued it, but finding like minded people is hard in the music world.  I still enjoy singing and rocking the stage now and again, but I do often think “What if.”  Needless to say I’m happy with what I do, and have no regrets.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My site is www.scryptcomics.com and I also have a YouTube channel (Rick Pipito), where I post trailers for my novels and have my web series “Think, Sip, Write.”

 

Twitter and Instagram @RickPipito

Facebook www.facebook.com/rickpipitobooks

Books in print: http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/rickpipito

Books in digital: https://www.amazon.com/Rick-Pipito/e/B007WRP9IW/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1473167444&sr=8-1

