Name: Kira A. Gold

Age: Old enough that the silver-haired men on the AARP advertisements are starting to look pretty foxy.

Where are you from?

I was born in Brooklyn and grew up there and in a tiny town in Vermont, but I’ve lived in Kentucky for nearly 30 years. I’m a costumer and have worked in theatre and film all around the Bluegrass area. My favourite thing to do (other than eating my husband’s cooking) is walk around Stockholm.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news:

 I published THE DIRTY SECRET this spring—an erotic sexy romance with Carina Press- https://www.amazon.com/The-Dirty-Secret-Kira-Gold-ebook/dp/B018QI6T70 (Two more in the series are in the works.)

From the Desk of Donna Edith…
My services are unconventional. My clients come to me with needs and I match them to other clients with needs of their own…
Promising young architect Killian Fitzroy: Driven, clever, eager to prove himself. Starved for sex, though he’s come to me for professional assistance, not personal. Needs: Someone unique, creative and fast. An artist with a feminine perspective to breathe life into a house he’s built.
Aspiring scenic designer Vessa Ratham: Sensuous, spontaneous, but secretive. Recently returned to Vermont armed with an art degree that qualifies her for little more than waiting tables. Needs: An opportunity to shine.
Yes, Killian and Vessa will satisfy each other nicely–in more ways than one.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

There was this fanfiction contest online…

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Probably when I signed my first book for someone who wasn’t related to me.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Utter self-indulgence. I like playing with words and writing sensual scenes.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’ve been told my descriptions are lush. My editor makes fun of my atrocious comma habits. I really enjoy dual PoV.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?
The creative team at Carina worked with me to come up with it.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Enjoy life. Enjoy love!

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

That depends on the book. Most settings are places I have visited.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

Tove Jansson’s Moomin books are so weird and magical, and like nothing else I read while growing up. Patricia McKillip’s Riddlemaster series is gorgeous. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings is amazing. I couldn’t get enough Sherlock Holmes. I read The Story of O when I was 18, and it blew my mind.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Some newer writers I’ve recently fallen in love with… Kit Rocha has created an incredibly sexy universe. Amanda Weaver’s historical romances have kickass heroines. N. K Jemison is just phenomenal. I’ll read anything Tiffany Reisz writes.
Old favorites… Joanne Harris, Alice Hoffman, John Burdett and Neil Gaiman are all masters at making magic real.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The library.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I’m starting to!

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nope. My agent and my editors were amazing.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My job at the theatre had become more administrative than creative. I was desperate for an artistic outlet, and the Twilight fandom was in full swing. The encouragement and support I got from everyone made it so fun and easy to experiment and learn.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s the (working) opening of the follow up to THE DIRTY SECRET:

***

At the end of the Green Line in the south of Stockholm, the Hagsätra metro station squatted under a bridge like a troll. The concrete echoed with the wail of an accordion played by a bearded man with an embroidered vest. Today, the melody was bright with the autumn sun and clever, like a folktale with a riddle.

Lyra dropped the change from her pocket into the cap at his feet—another traveler’s toll. He nodded a thanks and kept playing. She cinched her bag of books higher on her shoulder and headed around the corner to the grocery store, where window signs advertised sales on shampoo and frozen meatballs.

She walked down the aisles, hefting a basket. A man in the dairy section nodded at her with the brief acknowledgment of a neighbor living in the same apartment building. His glance lingered, but he didn’t say anything.

Lyra grabbed a carton of milk for herself and leverpastej for her roommate, resisting the urge to shudder. Three years in Sweden and she still couldn’t bring herself to eat the whipped liverwurst sold in a toothpaste tube.

She looked for inspiration in the produce aisle, something fresher than the frozen food that tasted like yesterday and the day before. Lyra touched an apricot, closing her eyes. The fuzzy weight of the fruit was oddly cool in her hand, like flesh gone cold. Lyra hadn’t been with a man since she’d left the USA, and the last encounter had only been memorable in its mutual disappointment.

She picked out a chicken, already dressed with herbs, ready to go in the oven, and a bag of snap peas. With three healthy things in her basket, she allowed herself to go down the candy aisle, where the chocolate bars beckoned like lovers with bedroom eyes. Lyra let herself be seduced by a caramel coconut and a semi-sweet with cherries.

***

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? It can be tough to carve out uninterrupted writing time.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I do! I make a point to visit the settings of my stories as much as possible. It’s so disappointing to buy a book because it’s written about a place you’ve been, and then feel disassociated from the story because the author gets the details wrong.

Fiona: Who designed the cover?

A designer with Carina Press did THE DIRTY SECRET, but I had some input on the style and branding. 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book? Deciding it was finished enough to let anyone read it.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned how to make maple fudge! This video shows the traditional method: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3vk0A0xpzo
I also learned the blonde vs. blonde rule: a woman is a blonde (n.), a man is a blond (n.), and both have blond (adj.) hair.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

 Nicholas Hault and Godfrey Gao are both tall and lanky and charismatic—they’d be great as Killian. Emily Browning and Zoë Kravitz are both gorgeous and artsy have a remote quality that I see in Vessa.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Let your first draft be messy—just finish it. Get the whole story down while it’s still lumpy creative goop, then go back and refine it.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you and enjoy!!

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just started The Hating Game by Sally Thorne. It’s so good.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Green Eggs and Ham.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I could look at captioned kitten photos all day. Monty Python and the Holy Grail will never not be funny: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8yjNbcKkNY
I bawl my head off when Boromir dies. Every time.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Can I just hang out backstage with Alabama 3 for a tour? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDUreoCP6IE

Fiona: What do you want written on your headstone and why

? oooh. Embalming really freaks me out. I’d rather be cremated and cast into the wind.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I love to make weird charm bracelets. I play a lot of Assassin’s Creed, collect antique marionettes and read, read, read.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Sherlock! Vikings is fun. I do like the Marvel movies. I’m really excited about the American Gods series. I just saw this French-Swedish movie called Sound of Noise that was absolutely marvelous—anarchist musicians and the tone-deaf detective chasing them.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors / Music

Hubs makes a jambalaya to die for, and I have an unhealthy love of chocolate covered licorice. Sweet potato anything!
Sky blue, moss green, copper, pale rose, ebony.
Lately I’ve been listening to Kaleo, First Aid Kit, Nina Simone, and always Jack White.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I wish I were better at knitting—though I do take perverse delight in knitting really ugly scarves and watching my friends try to hide their horror when I give them as gifts.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?
I blog a bit over here: www.kiraagold.com
And I’m on twitter: https://twitter.com/KiraAGold
Come say hi on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kiraagoldauthor/
And add me to your Goodreads! https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7219134.Kira_A_Gold

Amazon Authors page USA https://www.amazon.com/Kira-A.-Gold/e/B00F2QB23G/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1472995787&sr=1-2-ent

UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Kira-A.-Gold/e/B00F2QB23G/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1472995861&sr=1-2-ent

Kira: Thank you, Fiona. What fun questions! And a clever concept for a blog, too. I’ve really enjoyed discovering other writers and their responses. Thank you for adding me to your collection.

Kira A. Gold is a costume designer and textile artist living in Kentucky. A Shakespeare enthusiast and an ex-pat of cold places, she writes odd tales of Vermont, Sweden, backstage wings and other magical settings.
She enjoys bourbon, chocolate and sleep, in no particular order.

Her first full-length writing endeavor, the fanfic Tropic of Virgo, has had over 4 million hits online.
She then wrote ODIN’S MURDER with Angel Lawson, a New Adult paranormal twist on Norse mythology.
THE SCENT OF FLAMES is a Young Adult paranormal redux of Hamlet, set in Vermont.
The short story A MIDSUMMER FLIGHT’S DREAM was part of The Frequent Flyers collection featured in USAToday.com.
THE DIRTY SECRET, a sexy romance from Carina Press, contains bare walls, nude skin, and naked hearts—and an architect with a filthy mouth.

She is repped by Laura Zats of the Red Sofa Literary agency.

