Name  Patricia Preston

Age:   I feel old as dirt

Where are you from:

I live near the state line of Mississippi and Tennessee, an area made famous by the Walking Tall movies. Besides the battle of Shiloh, our other claim to fame was the Dixie Mafia. Things have changed since the sixties. Our landscape is beautiful here. We are in the foothills and each season is beautiful.

I have lived here all my life. My ancestors were Scot/Irish/English. Moved from South Carolina colony into Tennessee. I love history. I once worked as a librarian, which was my favourite job ever. Then I started working at a hospital, managed a medical clinic, so most of my time has been spent working in medicine. It’s interesting, and stuff happens no one would believe. LOL! I don’t have much spare time anymore. But when I do, I enjoy getting together with writing pals, movies, photography, and reading.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am currently working on the third book of a contemporary romance series for the Lyrical Shine imprint of Kensington Books. The first book, One Week in Your Arms, is releasing on Sept 13. The second book, Everything His Heart Desires, is coming out on Jan 10, 2017

 

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

The first thing I recall writing was a short story in the 6th grade. I think I was born a storyteller. I’ve been writing stories for as long as I can remember.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I had a high school teacher tell me I could be a writer. I wish I had listened to her, but I was too busy being a teenager and crushing over boys.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Reading other books and thinking I could do this. Little did I know it wasn’t that easy.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

People say I do. They are always making comments about my “voice.” I don’t really think about it, I just write.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I just try to find what I think sounds relative to the story and genre. When you write for a publisher, they have the last say on the title, not the author. So they may change your title.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I just write to entertain. I have had people comment to me about how they interpreted something in the book that never once occurred to me when I was writing it. LOL.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? 

Very little to none. My characters are much more interesting than anyone I know, and I’m not one of those people who want to write about their life. The reader would be asleep by page 2. But overall there’s truth in the books in how we make mistakes and come to terms and do the right thing. I don’t write dark stories. All my books and stories have happy endings.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? 

Robert Crais is one of my favorites because I love his characters, Elvis and Joe. Elvis is funny, and Joe is a badass.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My writing friends have been great.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I’m now writing full-time. I don’t really think too much about it being a career as much as who I am and how I spend my time.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Sure I would. I can edit forever. The newest book is with a publisher, and there’s no revising now. But that’s the great thing about Indie books, you can polish them up anytime.

 

 
Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The working title is Not Through Loving You and it feature pediatrician Aaron Kendall and songwriter Lia Montgomery, who are at odds over Lia’s sister’s unwanted newborn, whom Aaron is planning to adopt.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Just meeting the deadlines. Ugh.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not far. Books are set in Tennessee. Also, I want to go back to New Orleans.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I did some of my Indie books. Patty Wallace did the historical. The publishers had the other covers designed

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Being sure the story works and the characters are engaging.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Keep it simple. I over plot sometimes and then I have too much and have to cut.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead  

I don’t know. Someone pretty and funny for Marla. Like Charlize Theron.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Always finish your book and make writing a priority.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I hope you find my book entertaining and uplifting. Mostly that you have fun reading them and you want to read more.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Pirate Lafitte

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I recall loving “Ramona” by Helen Hunt Jackson back when I was like preteen I think.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Movies like LOTR.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Chris Hemsworth/Thor. Does he really look that good in person?

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Died Writing.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

What is a hobby?

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching? 

Walking Dead!!! Rick and Darryl rule! Supernatural. Gotta love Sam and Dean.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?  www.patricia-preston.com

Amazon Authors Page USA https://www.amazon.com/Patricia-Preston/e/B0060DJ5W0/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Patricia-Preston/e/B0060DJ5W0/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1472408137&sr=1-2-ent

One Week in Your Arms

 

My newest book, ONE WEEK IN YOUR ARMS, is mainstream contemporary romance filled with witty, charismatic characters. The fun, fast-paced plot features a secret baby, a billionaire baby daddy hero who needs a pretend girlfriend for a week, and a pretty doctor who is desperate to keep her child a secret. Unfortunately for the intrepid heroine, Marla, she needs money for her community clinic so she has no choice but to spend a week in paradise with the one man who can destroy her life. How can she say no? (Personally, I couldn’t say no. Could you?)

 

ONE WEEK IN YOUR ARMS is the first book in Love Heals All series where romance causes havoc, heartache, and humor for a cast of unsuspecting doctors until they realize love heals all.  Published under the Lyrical Shine imprint of Kensington Books, each book can be read as a stand-alone. They do feature the same location and continuing characters. The next book in the series is EVERYTHING HIS HEART DESIRES, coming in Jan 2017.

 

Excerpt from One Week in Your Arms

 

She picked up the letter opener. Her heart palpitated in sheer terror as she slid the opener under the flap of the envelope. With the envelope open, she peeped inside to see one folded sheet of stationery.

After six years, what could he possibly have to say?

She pictured him, standing beside a black truck in the drive of Royal Oaks, an old estate belonging to his grandmother. She recalled the date. June twenty-eighth. The day they had said goodbye had been a warm, blustery day in Tennessee. A summer storm was heading toward the rolling hills near Nashville.

The wind made a mess of Carson’s unruly dark hair. His dark blue eyes were hidden by a pair of mirrored lens aviators, and his alpha-male physique tested the seams of his polo shirt.

“If I’m ever back in town, I’ll look you up,” he promised as their casual affair came to an inevitable end. For three weeks, they had been together and finally, the time had come for them to go their separate ways. She hadn’t realized it would be so difficult.

“Sure.” She forced a smile of goodwill. After all, they weren’t parting in anger, or in love for that matter. And it was unlikely that she would ever see him again.

“I had a great time,” she confessed boldly. She’d loved every minute of their brief, steamy affair. Talk about a summer break to remember. She grinned.

He gave her cheek a stroke. “You’ll make a great doctor.”

“You think so?”

“Yeah.” He grinned. “You certainly know all there is to know about male anatomy.”

“Yours, at least.” She laughed. Then she hopped up on her toes and gave him a quick kiss. “Goodbye, Carson Blackwell.”

She stepped away from him. Now was the time to face what was ahead. A grueling three-year residency. There would be no more time for long summer nights, tangled sheets, and sighs against swollen lips. She walked toward her small, sturdy hatchback. Before she opened the driver’s door, she looked up and met his gaze.

“Goodbye,” he called.

At that moment, she’d had an odd sensation in her chest that her life was never going to be the same.

 

Buy Links:

Amazon   http://amzn.to/1SCo3li

Nook http://bit.ly/1VmaHru

Kobo   http://bit.ly/1Vma8Oe

iBooks http://apple.co/1W6y6l6

 

 

Author Bio

 

Patricia Preston writes witty mainstream romances where love matters most. You are her reader if you like funny, passionate, feel good reads. Must haves in her writing cave include sweet tea and music. Besides writing, she loves music, history, movies, and anything containing chocolate. Her dream-come-true would be a townhouse in the French Quarter so she could party twenty-four seven. She never misses Supernatural or the Walking Dead. Sam, Dean, and Darryl fangirl!! She is repped by the Seymour Agency and currently working on a contemporary romance series, Love Heals All, for Lyrical Shine imprint of Kensington Books.

 

Available titles include Amazon best sellers in comedy, “The Yard Sale” and “Laid to Rest,” as well as sexy historical romances: To Save a Lady and Almost an Outlaw. Coming in September is the first book in the Love Heals All series from Kensington Boos, One Week in Your Arms. Also available for pre-order is the second book in the series, Everything His Heart Desires.

 

Author Links:

Webpage

Amazon

BookBub

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

 

