Name Maya Tyler

Age 36

Where are you from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

I’m married (just celebrated 13 years) with 2 little boys and a 9 pound Shih Tzu. My family is my life. I’m fortunate enough to have found my soul mate and best friend in high school… and he was smart enough to ask me to marry him 7 years later. Our sons are 6 and almost 8. We have a lot of fun as a family, watching superhero movies and playing with Lego. I studied business in university, but writing is my true passion.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just signed a book contract with Tirgearr Publishing so keep on the lookout for a new release from me sometime in early 2017.

As for other news… I’m hosting two exciting series this summer – July was about writing inspiration and featured 6 guests – August was all about the characters and features 3 guests. For all the latest, you can always check out my website… http://www.mayatylerauthor.com/events-and-announcements.html


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I always found it easier to express myself on paper. I started writing short stories and poetry when I was a child. It was like therapy for me.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I finally considered myself a writer when I published my first book. Then it was real. More than just a fun hobby.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Well… I wrote my first “book” when I was 12 and I was inspired by the movie (and book) The Princess Bride. I never actually finished my book, a sequel to The Princess Bride, but I recently found my story, handwritten in a coiled notebook, and it brought back fond memories.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t think so… but I like to think my writing style is unique.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My debut paranormal romance novella is called Dream Hunter. I choose the name to describe the hero of my story who communicates to the heroine through dreams.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Follow your dreams. I believe dreams prepare you for real life scenarios you may encounter… so pay attention.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The story may be paranormal, but I based some of the content on my own experiences. Cynthia’s resolve to land the promotion at work and her tenacity to solve the mystery were both inspired by my own struggles at work. At the time, I was working toward a promotion for my dream job, but there were obstacles in my way.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have always been an avid reader. Even as a child I read everything I could get my hands on. It’s hard to say which books in particular influenced my life the most, but it’s fair to say reading so many amazing books compelled me to write one of my own.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Picking a favorite author is like asking me to pick a favorite food. When my kids ask me what my favorite food is… I tell them “buffet” because I have so many favorites! Likewise, I have a long list of favorite authors… let me see if I can narrow it down by genre…

Paranormal – Karen Marie Moning – I love her Highlander and Fever series – her work draws you in and comes alive in your mind

Historical romance – Sally Mackenzie – I love her Naked Nobility series – she is a creator of captivating and entertaining characters

Suspense romance – Tara Taylor Quinn – Her work is edgy and her style is distinctive


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My writing group. I “met” this group of vivacious women, who happen to be fabulous writers, back in 2010 online. Since then they have been a constant source of support for me… and hopefully I reciprocate as well.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

No, but it is my passion and I see it as a therapeutic hobby.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. When I write a book, it emerges as I first imagine it and, other than editing, my original ideas stay intact.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My interest in writing comes from my love of reading.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I am currently writing a prequel to Dream Hunter. It’s a stand-alone story about the guardian angels from my novella. It’s paranormal with a little less romance than usual, but you can count on my signature traits – an unexpected plotline and a happily ever after.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding enough time to write… And editing… oh the challenges of editing!


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Thanks to the digital world we live in, everything can be done online from signing the initial contract to book promotion.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Lori Lasswell designed the cover of Dream Hunter.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Being able to finish the story. There are so many books I’ve started writing and never finished.

Writing sex scenes within my comfort zone.

Finding the right publisher. As an unknown author, it took time to submit my book to prospective publishers.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Patience! In all seriousness, I learned that I put a lot of myself and my personal experiences into my writing.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

Hmmm… If Dream Hunter was made into a film… Cynthia Courtland would be played by Danica McKellar. With her long brown hair and natural poise, I think she would be the ideal choice. Gabe/Officer Hunter would be played by a beard-less Shia LaBeouf. I think he would have the ability to capture the essence of the character and be able to portray both roles.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep on writing. Practice really does make perfect. J


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for reading Dream Hunter! Publishing my book truly was a dream come true for me. Also, stay tuned for my next release…

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

An anthology called Darlings of Paranormal Romance.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Ever? I was probably 4 so I have no idea. I do know I had a ton of favorite books when I was a kid. My mom read them to me so much I memorized them.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I definitely cry more than I laugh… Books, movies… sad… happy… doesn’t matter. Sometimes even movie previews make me cry.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Princess Diana. Her life seemed to be a fairy tale… marry a prince, become a princess… But her reality was vastly different… Despite the challenges she faced, she became a great humanitarian. Her tragic death had an impact on the entire world.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

“Awesome mom. Amazing wife. True friend. Dreamer.”

I believe a life worthwhile is a life where you live by example, treat people like you want to be treated and do your best to make the world a better place. Live every day to the fullest, as if it might be your last.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Reading, exercising, watching TV and movies, going to rock concerts and live musical theatre, playing with my kids.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I like to binge watch TV shows, currently watching Friday Night Lights on Netflix. I enjoy everything from paranormal (True Blood) to fantasy (Game of Thrones) to comedy (Big Bang Theory). Movies I enjoy? Nothing scary, but everything from romantic comedy to action. And Disney movies. I love Disney movies!

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Favorite food – buffet – I’m a serious foodie

Favorite colors – blue and purple

Favorite music – alternative and rock

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

When I was little (around 9 years old) I dreamed of becoming an actress, a journalist or a lawyer. I even had my lawyer plan all mapped out and the only reason I didn’t pursue law was because my boyfriend (now husband) was going to a university without a law program. I chose to go to the same school so I picked another major.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I have a blog called Maya’s Musings http://mayatylerauthor.blogspot.ca/ where I ramble on about writing and other writing related topics, host guests for interviews, cover reveals, and book promo, and think up awesome ideas for collaboration.

My website is http://www.mayatylerauthor.com/ and includes information on me, my books, and everything in between. It also links to my blog.

I’m also on Facebook and Twitter and email mayatylerauthor@gmail.com so feel free to get in touch!

Thank you so much for having me here today!

